We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of being a true LUXURY PROPERTY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, Portland

Save Saved
You added The Nines, Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Nines, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
three way tn
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Short of being a true LUXURY PROPERTY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

OK, so a willing staff if somewhat uneducated.
Stayed in a room with access to the Executive Club Lounge.
If you drink, it's a dream come true with complimentary decent quality wines and local brews.
Even the sodas are upscale.
Breakfast (continental) and evening fare varies..............NOW HERE'S THE ISSUE.
This morning the club featured Nova Lox and bagels, a product worth more by the pound than the remaining buffet items combined..............almost - the dish is composed of bagels (check - great supply), lox (check), cream cheese (check),capers (check), tomatoes (oops) and purple onions (oops). When I asked for the latter I got the "deer in headlights" look - ok, so i'm looking for "let me check, call the kitchen" ......some sense of professionalism.
What I got was the dreaded "well that's all they gave me SHOULDER SHRUG...........seriously?????????????at a luxury hotel???????????
I can forgive those who never had this delicious dish, but the attitude??
Rooms ok, some rooms no bathtub - BEWARE.
NOTE: 15TH FLOOR has very nice scenic outdoors patio

Room Tip: Streets can be noisy - higher is better.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't promote it. nothing obvious in room to point out practices
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team. I assure you that the service you received is not our standard at the Nines. Please know that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments for immediate improvement. We hope to welcome you again in the future for the opportunity to redeem your current expectation.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    804
    351
    126
    41
    30
See reviews for
173
500
85
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I will start with my usual design hotel disclaimer: " When a hotel calls it's self a luxury design property I feel completely within bounds to judge it as such" With that said, let me present THE NINES Portland. The staff are excellent for the most part though some of the valet and bell staff, especially one or two of the head Valet staff have attitude issues. It takes 15 mins to get your car, some times longer, and this is unacceptable. For this kind of wait, in such a small city, the valet should almost be free, or the hotel needs to hirer more staff, (NOT) as there never seemed to be a lack of front door employees idling around. On at least 3 occasions (in 24 hours) I counted 7 employees doing nothing and my car still took 15 mins. Im not sure how that is possible. If it's a relay issue, get better cell phones... this is meant to be a luxury property, not a Hyatt. The public rooms are just so-so with one or two good moments and several bad. The decor is an odd mix of transitional (think pottery barn boring) and mid-century (excellent but senseless here) coupled with post-modern art (junk, mannequins painted plum and teal ). Whoever designed the place seems to have been quite sophomoric in their design education because it reminds one of a student project, where-in you mix disparate pieces to make a ramshackle collective. I have seen this work (though rarely) but in this case it just conflicts. The space itself is nice, although the architecture of the interior court yard is rather bland 1950's traditional (not modern) of a preexisting building the hotel was built around. You enter sensing it should be amazing, but looking up and around at it you're underwhelmed. The rooms are done up in passé bordello chic, already soo dated, in fact so much so they were dated two years before the hotel was completed, common for any overly trendy aesthetic, but especially sad in this case. Finished in tiffany blue, white pearlescent leather, and crushed velvet, they remind one of nightmare version Ava Gabor's apt in Green Acres. In fact I expected her to call any min and demand her stuff back, and upon receiving it slap the sender in the face for making such a mess of it. I understand that this look happened, I also understand it was over at least 3 years ago and nearly as soon as it started. All in all the design experience was rather tragic, and I really wanted it to be amazing. Ive stayed at The Westin and it was far more sincere, and while its a typical Westin with a bit of a Pacific Northwest edge, at least it doesn't claim to be anything that its not.. They are both Starwood properties, and you wont wait 15 mins or more for your car there.

Room Tip: Chose the Westin instead, a better value and a far more authentic Star Wood property if you can beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to reach out to me directly as I am at your service.

Sincerely,

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Pros: (1) great location within easy walking distance to offices in downtown Portland as well as restaurants and the riverfront park, (2) new stylish rooms with excellent in-room dining (among the best I've had in my 20 years of business travel in high-end hotels), (3) fantastic dining facilities (roof top restaurant is very hip and trendy if that is your scene while the atrium facility is excellent and more casual), (4) a big gym with plenty of equipment (not a small room that is an after thought).

Watch out for: (1) hotel layout is large so some rooms may be far from the elevator, and (2) my room was a bit tight with windows that were not ideally placed. But other than that, it was among the better business/boutique hotels that I've stayed at (60 hotel nights/year).

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5-star review! We appreciate our frequent business travelers and we are pleased to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Portland again soon for another fantastic experience!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, centrally located to every place you want downtown. I wanted a fun, nice hotel to stay at with my daughter for a few days in May. Since my daughter is in her 20's she wanted something "younger and hip" while I was looking for quiet and refined. Well, this hotel is it! The rooftop lounge was busy and fun, for her. The rooms were nicely appointed and club floor lounge was perfect for me in the early mornings when she slept in. I was very impressed with the restaurant knowledge of the people working in the club lounge. I had reservations made for us at all the newest, fun, innovative restaurants in town. The restaurant downstair was good. Great menu with lots of special dishes. Service was prompt and polite. The hotel manager was accommodating, friendly and considerate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to be our guest. I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope that another mother-daughter trip will bring you back to us in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite place to stay in Portland. The hotel features very quiet and comfortable rooms and a location that is close to some great destinations in Portland. It is also near the Tri Met, so getting around via light rail is easy too.

The Urban Farmer restaurant located at the check-in level had a great selection of local fare and beers. The rooftop lounge (Departure) is comfortable, modern, and has a great view of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased we were able to provide an exceptional experience in all of the outlets that our property has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you want great food, great drinks, and a great view for the rooftop bar, The Nines downtown Portland is your place to stay. Located in the middle of downtown, The Nines is a hip place to stay with nice rooms, good service, and great bars, restaurant, and views of the city. A do not miss if you want to add a little swagger to your Portland experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. Rooms not facing the street are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent recycling and low water usage programs in place
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your compliments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. The location was prime for downtown venues. It was especially convenient to take the train from the airport directly to the hotel! The restaurants in the hotel were nice, and the bar was good, too. Make sure you check out the downtown farmers market if you stay over on a Saturday - one of the best markets I have ever been to!!! Kudos to The Nines and their professional staff in making out trip outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of your stay including the farmers’ market just steps outside of our front door! What a wonderful way to experience Portland! We look forward to welcoming you in the future for another outstanding experience!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nines, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, Portland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.