We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Style AND Function” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, Portland

Save Saved
You added The Nines, Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nines, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 133 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Style AND Function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Pros: (1) great location within easy walking distance to offices in downtown Portland as well as restaurants and the riverfront park, (2) new stylish rooms with excellent in-room dining (among the best I've had in my 20 years of business travel in high-end hotels), (3) fantastic dining facilities (roof top restaurant is very hip and trendy if that is your scene while the atrium facility is excellent and more casual), (4) a big gym with plenty of equipment (not a small room that is an after thought).

Watch out for: (1) hotel layout is large so some rooms may be far from the elevator, and (2) my room was a bit tight with windows that were not ideally placed. But other than that, it was among the better business/boutique hotels that I've stayed at (60 hotel nights/year).

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5-star review! We appreciate our frequent business travelers and we are pleased to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Portland again soon for another fantastic experience!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    823
    363
    133
    42
    32
See reviews for
180
516
86
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, centrally located to every place you want downtown. I wanted a fun, nice hotel to stay at with my daughter for a few days in May. Since my daughter is in her 20's she wanted something "younger and hip" while I was looking for quiet and refined. Well, this hotel is it! The rooftop lounge was busy and fun, for her. The rooms were nicely appointed and club floor lounge was perfect for me in the early mornings when she slept in. I was very impressed with the restaurant knowledge of the people working in the club lounge. I had reservations made for us at all the newest, fun, innovative restaurants in town. The restaurant downstair was good. Great menu with lots of special dishes. Service was prompt and polite. The hotel manager was accommodating, friendly and considerate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to be our guest. I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope that another mother-daughter trip will bring you back to us in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite place to stay in Portland. The hotel features very quiet and comfortable rooms and a location that is close to some great destinations in Portland. It is also near the Tri Met, so getting around via light rail is easy too.

The Urban Farmer restaurant located at the check-in level had a great selection of local fare and beers. The rooftop lounge (Departure) is comfortable, modern, and has a great view of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased we were able to provide an exceptional experience in all of the outlets that our property has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you want great food, great drinks, and a great view for the rooftop bar, The Nines downtown Portland is your place to stay. Located in the middle of downtown, The Nines is a hip place to stay with nice rooms, good service, and great bars, restaurant, and views of the city. A do not miss if you want to add a little swagger to your Portland experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. Rooms not facing the street are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent recycling and low water usage programs in place
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your compliments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. The location was prime for downtown venues. It was especially convenient to take the train from the airport directly to the hotel! The restaurants in the hotel were nice, and the bar was good, too. Make sure you check out the downtown farmers market if you stay over on a Saturday - one of the best markets I have ever been to!!! Kudos to The Nines and their professional staff in making out trip outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of your stay including the farmers’ market just steps outside of our front door! What a wonderful way to experience Portland! We look forward to welcoming you in the future for another outstanding experience!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I used SPG points; so I can't comment to price but the service was outstanding and the location was excellent.

We received a $50 meal comp because of a minor delay in our room being ready. The desk staff was nice and welcoming to my 4 year old son. The Departures Restaurant on the top floor was outstanding.

You are in the heart of Portland and at most a 1 mile walk to all noteworthy attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide this great feedback! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team and property. I apologize for the delay in the room being ready; however, I am pleased to hear the team was able to redeem the situation and make you feel welcome. We hope for the opportunity to see you again in the future!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good, attentive, staff at the front desk. Rooms are average size, with fun decorations.

I had a good breakfast at the Urban Farmer restaurant, and I'm told dinner is also excellent.

Location is great, in downtown PDX. We did a nice evening walk around downtown, to the river. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area.

Parking is difficult unless you do valet parking, but that's fairly expensive (>30USD).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to be our guest during your visit to Portland. I hope you will return to visit us again soon for another indigenous experience.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nines, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, Portland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Nines, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.