We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nines is a Ten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, Portland

Save Saved
You added The Nines, Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Nines, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Nines is a Ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Nines is a Ten

It is better than expected.
Spg recognition: excellent, automatic upgrade to a suite.
Room: superb
Location: great
Club: elegant, great deserts
Staff: impressive service.
So far I am impressed

Room Tip: Chic Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Please return to us soon! We look forward to it!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    804
    350
    126
    41
    30
See reviews for
173
500
85
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here with the hubby for our anniversary.
Super comfy bed, with chic décor and huge bathroom. The main lobby is fab for photo shoots!

Must check out the restaurants in the hotel:
Urban farmer - in the lobby: fantastic Bloody Mary's
Departure - rooftop: spendy but fantastic truffle fried rice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Nines. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your anniversary and our team provided you with an exceptional service throughout. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not sure what the fuss is about with the Nines. Perhaps it was the high expectations I had from reading other reviews here or from the accolades the hotel received as best luxury hotel in Portland but I was not impressed. My husband and I took the first flight out of JFK to PDX and woke up at 4am to land at around 11am. We thought they would be able to accommodate us by checking us in early so we could rest and shower (we're both Platinum members) but no such luck. They held our luggage and told us they would call as soon as the room was ready. No call because they wrote the incorrect number down.

Once we got to our room, it was on the opposite side of the elevator. No big deal but just inconvenient when you just want to drop things off in your room or go up to the lounge for a soda. Our room was an interior room, which meant it faced the restaurant/bar area and did not afford a lot of privacy. The windows were good at muffling the noises but the music in the atrium was playing well into 11pm (we're still on east coast time so that's 2am) and kept my husband up.

It's not necessary to have a car in Portland but we rented one to go up to Columbia River Gorge and opted to not pay the $35/night parking charge. Instead, we parked at the nearby public garage (SMART garages are dispersed throughout downtown) for about $24 from Friday evening to Sunday morning.

To end on a positive note, the rooms were beautiful and Michael at the front desk did try to make things right for us. The location cannot be beat and the lounge served some pretty tasty breakfast items!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. As a valued SPG Platinum member, we truly appreciate your loyalty in the brand and your feedback. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate for an early arrival; however, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and that Michael was able to make up for the inconveniences . We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Nines is in the center of downtown Portland on the top floors of a renovated department store. It is well maintained, the staff were friendly and professional, and the design--featuring sleek , well endowed manniquins in the lobby area, postmodern paintings, colorful carpets and beautifully designed hallways--is very attractive. The rooms are large by Portland standards, and some have excellent views. Our double-double was close to twice the size of rooms we have stayed in at other downtown Portland hotels, and was very well appointed. It was very quiet during the night, save the stray car horn or siren. The two negatives for us were the inability to open a window, and lack of a coffee maker. Fortunately, the ventilation is well designed, so we were able to avoid the stuffy feeling that we usually must deal with in other closed-up hotels. Onsite parking is also expensive--better to park in a nearby lot, or drive a hybrid, since hybrid cars get a 50% discount on valet parking. The hotel is serious about being "green."

The Nines lives up to its billing as a luxury hotel. It has two excellent restaurants and makes a great option for a weekend in Portland...or any other day of the week.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms with an atrium view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They appear to be quite commited to "green" practices, but they aren't obtrusive. We were somewhat surprised to find bottled water in the room...though ultimately we were grateful to have it.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear we were able to provide you with an exceptional experience. We will be happy to add the request of a coffee maker to your guest profile for all future reservations and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I really love Portland. I love its kooky characters and its hippy vibes. The Nines, however, is a nice departure from that. From the moment we checked in, the bellmen and the doormen were extremely knowledgeable about the city. They were also very honest, which I appreciate (it takes 15-20 minutes to get the car because they have to park it down the street so call ahead!) The hotel itself is beautiful, modern, and clean with just the right amount of decor. The food in the restaurant was absolutely amazing. The crispy breakfast potato is something I have dreams about. I also appreciate that you get what you pay for. The superior room, although stunning, is what you pay for. It is smaller and faces the inside of the hotel. If you want to face the city, then pay for it! The only small hiccup in the stay is that I didn't get service on my last night. I called housekeeping and scheduled service, and they arrived at my door a little early. I said I needed about 10 more minutes (this was about 8pm) and the turndown agent said "well you have the 'yes please' on your door," as if my "Can I have 10 more minutes please" was not good enough for her. For some reason, and I don't know why, her rudeness bothered me for the rest of the night but I think it was because I was frustrated with getting no service until 8:30pm. Truly, she was the only negative aspect of the trip and I would recommend it to anyone. It is the only hotel I will stay in in Portland.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air, you must book a deluxe or higher. Superior rooms face the inside of the hotel...
See more room tips
Green Features: Be very specific about the linens you want washed. They keep the used towels and linens in your room unless otherwise specified.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the service you were provided. My apologies for the untimeliness you encountered with housekeeping. Please know that we will learn from this opportunity and our associates will be coached appropriately. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again if your travel plans allow.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Rarely do I read a review prior to staying in a property. I value the opinions of my fellow travelers but I want to develop my own opinions as I travel. That said, our recent stay at The Nines was about a 4 1/2! To begin, the most knowledgeable members of the staff are the Bellmen who meet you in the street level lobby. Most of them have been at the hotel since opening day and they are well acquainted with the property and the area. Upon arrival in the eighth floor lobby there were two guests chatting with the staff who were obviously already checked in. After a leisurely stand of about 10 minutes the young lady behind the counter walked around and asked if I had been helped! I had only been standing there, bags in tow looking at her for 10 minutes. Being a Starwood property, there was no separate line or area for Starwood Gold check in and with only two clerks at the desk, neither was in any rush to pay attention to guests checking in. In making my reservation with Starwood, I had requested a one bedroom suite on the Club Level and "assumed" my confirmation from Starwood was indeed as I had requested. Without questioning any part of my reservation she prepared room keys and advised me of my floor assignment. When asked to confirm the room was indeed on the Club Level she clearly told me that I hadn't requested the Club Floor. After some discussion she called her Manager over who very curtly stated I was incorrect; my reservation was not for the Club Floor. He actually took my phone from me and "inspected" my email confirmation reciting every line and notation aloud to attempt to prove his point. After more discussion and his informing me that the Club Floor is a "pay to participate" floor he rendered me the privilege of Club Floor access, even though I didn't have it coming this one time as an accommodation! That was only after I told him I would simply downgrade my reservation to their cheapest rack rate room, which is incidentally $250++. Off to the room we go to await the Bellman and our bags who was timely, efficient and a very nice person who went over and above to make sure we were set up with ice and water and his name if we needed anything else. As an aside, if anyone at the desk had been wearing a name tag I would call them out in this review but possibly those name tags are still on order!
The room was elegant. Large and well appointed and quite comfortable until around 10;30 when we decided to settle in for the evening. Apparently, there is a "club/restaurant" on the floor above and until at least 3 in the morning it sounded like an army moving furniture overhead. The floors are, of course concrete, and the sound was unreal. At no time did anyone at the front desk make any reference to the possibility of this sort of disturbance...and this is a Starwood Luxury Collection property. After a restless evening we enjoyed a beautiful brunch at the Urban Farmer on the Lobby Level. I will also post a review for the restaurant. All said, Starwood should be ashamed of their front desk staff at this property.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 14th floor unless you have earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for providing this candid feedback. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel that you did not have a more pleasant experience. The service in which you received is not our standard at the Nines. Please contact me at your convenience as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked a "superior" room for the Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived we were given a room that was overlooking the atrium. The room was dark, and felt like an upscale closet with the view of their restaurant!
There was no indication on the website we booked or on the Nines website that the "superior" room could/would have a interior view.
This was our first visit to Portland and we thought that booking a room for almost $200/night would guarantee a room with a view of the city... not so fast...no upgrades were available to us as the hotel was fully booked.
The hotel's manager declined to comment on the lack of the"superior" room description!
I asked to be reimbursed with Starwood points, but he refused to do anything for me.
Very disappointing stay! Lots of fancy pillows do not make a five star hotel the Nines wants to be!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that has a window to the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. I regret to hear that your most recent experience was anything but exceptional. Due to the historic design of the building our guestrooms have a variety of views. We are happy to assist you in reserving the accommodation most appropriate for you to ensure a truly customized experience. Feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nines, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Spa Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, Portland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.