We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland to your Saves list
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Portland Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Though the rooms can be expensive, deals can be found. I love this hotel. The service has always been excellent, though the front desk staff are inconsistent at best. The rooms are gorgeous and the restaurant on the 8th floor (lobby floor) is excellent. After a long flight it is the perfect place to go for a drink and snack. Bar staff is particularly friendly. Do your best to get on the club floor as the breakfast and happy hour are well worth it.

Room Tip: Get on the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your positive feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and are pleased to hear that our team provided you with an exceptional experience. We will share your comments with those team members in the Urban Farmer Restaurant as well as the Club Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you for many years to come.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    417
    152
    50
    34
See reviews for
221
595
94
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very cute and chic hotel with allot of white and turquoise. I have been lucky to stay in the corner suites that are very generous and comfy! Staff is very accommodating and friendly! I guess the NBA players like this hotel too, last time a team playing the Blazers were there and all so nice!! So tall!!! Carter approves of this hotel and I thinke he is becoming well versed! I think he still loves the suites at the Vintage best, he loves the huge jetted tubs!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the service you were provided. I hope you will choose to return to us in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel due to its location downtown. It was absolutely beautiful and the staff was more than accommodating. Service was a little slow at the restaurants on site but the food was amazing. The outdoor patio at one restaurant offered beautiful views of downtown and a fantastic happy hour selection. The specialty drinks and appetizers were yummy. The valets were superbly kind and helpful in giving directions. The key card access to utilize the elevator was comforting in regards to safety. The robes and slippers were a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! Our team will be thrilled to learn that their hospitality exceeded your expectations! We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on a future stay.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I found this boutique Starwood hotel to be full of the right amenities. It sports a fabulous location that is an oasis of peace and tranquility in the heart of a bustling downtown district. You can walk or take public transportation to a multitude of destinations from this Pioneer Square hub. The outdoor bar on the top level is hip and happening. As to the room, I found it to be compact, but elegant and well planned. Personally, I loved the taupe decor with a bit of turquoise thrown in for pop. My only complaint would be that the bathroom lighting was a bit low for putting on make-up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We consider our hotel a true urban retreat and we appreciate your comments on the serenity and peacefulness you enjoyed as our guest. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When we stayed here it was Christmas eve and our room looked out over Pioneer Square and its massive Christmas tree. We were very excited about the location of this downtown hotel and our nice view. Our first surprise was learning that we had to go up the elevator several floors to reach the front desk. I was very impressed by the general layout and decor of the hotel from that point on. There was plenty of artwork decorating the halls and it was evident that the hotel has gone out of its way to provide that unique boutique feel they were attempting. I would describe our room as borderline gaudy in decor but everything from the bed to the shower were extremely comfortable and enjoyable to use. This was an uneventful and relaxing night's stay and we would strongly consider staying here again should the opportunity present itself. One thing I would note though is that the room we had was quite small on space so don't expect a sprawling suite if staying here but they use the space in a way that works well.

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms here that face inward into a courtyard/restaurant. If you want a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us over Christmas. As we do have a variety of room types we are happy to assist you in reserving the accommodation most appropriate for you to ensure a truly customized luxury experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nothing to differentiate this hotel from any other one being offered by big chains (this is just a starwood/westin/sheraton masquerading as boutique.) It's really just another big impersonal, non-descript hotel. The service was indifferent and the focus on being sustainable felt more like green-washed money saving that was more about savingthe bottom/profit line. I really didn't like anything about this hotel. From the pre-visit emails where they encourage you to forgo maid service to the long line at check out when I left: There was nothing unique or differentiating about the experience. Location is decent (you can get to the hotle using the tram from pdx really easily which is nice but ultimately the locaton is surrounded by all the mall stuff that makes portland like any other city so what's the point of that...the hotel sits atop a macy's for crying out loud!) and the rooms were very westin-ish. I paid a conference rate that was close to $200 when said and don. For that amount of money the value was non-existent. Also, the windows don't open and air quality/cooling in the room was a problem. Something was coming up through the sink or shower drain that made the room smell like a sewer...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience. We invite all of our guests to participate in the Nines sustainable ethos and are happy to accommodate those who prefer not to. Please let me know if you are interested in discussing your comments further.

Sincerely,

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In a city where their slogan is "Keep Portland Weird", the Nines is a bastion of sanity. In a motif not unlike the Soho Grand in NY, they do a great job of making a modern metropolitan feeling hotel in a decidedly left coast city. In general the staff are great. The one exception is the in the Nines club, which is supposed to be the place where service is really experienced "to the nines". Not even close. The valet and bell men were much more pleasant. One of the women in the club was borderline rude and each of them were very lacking in their concierge skills. The front door guy gave us much better ideas and directions than any of them. I would also add that the club itself is just mediocre. The best part is their teas. Great selection of really nice tea. But, for the money I wouldn't recommend the upgrade. Not worth it.

One last tip - If you have the ability to upgrade try to request upgrading to the Nines Suite or the Meier Franke suite. These are both two of the most amazing suites I have seen in any hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Atrium view rooms on the weekend unless you are night owl or noise just doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations in the Club Lounge and will share your experience with the involved departments for immediate improvement. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.