We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in Portland.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, Portland

Save Saved
You added The Nines, Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Nines, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel in Portland.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nines recently, and had mixed reviews about the property. While the rooms were very nice and comfortable, the bathrooms were dark and not consistent with the decor of the rooms(outdated tub and strange layout).

But the staff were very nice and friendly, and their food was outstanding: Departures restaurant and Urban Farmer. Both were excellent in both food quality and service.

The Club level was satisfactory: Staff not over-friendly. And why wouldn't you serve Oregon Pinot Noir??

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased your enjoyed your stay overall and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I have passed your comments along to my team and I hope that we can welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future! Feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss anything further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    795
    344
    125
    41
    30
See reviews for
166
497
84
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just stayed there for a business meeting. The service was great, and the food at both the meeting events and the restaurant were quite good. The location is wonderful, with access to all of downtown. The rooftop bar is a do not miss - particularly on a night with no rain. The views are spectacular and the atmosphere is fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors that look into the atrium can be noisy with the restaurant/bar below. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

4 of us stayed for a girls weekend in February. Room with 2 queen beds. The room was a great size. Short hall to walk in, which included the bar area and the bathroom is off of. 2 Sattee couches, desk, chairs and tables allowed the 4 of us to spread out.
The room was very clean and not worn at all. We had asked the housekeeper on the floor for more wine glasses and she had them to us in a flash.
With 3 bars and outside terraces, we could "bar hop" in our own hotel and catch late night happy hour. Food is great but pricey. Had dinner and breakfast at Urban Farmer. Breakfast needs a little help as far as timing and value. Most breakfast items are ala carte and if you order a side, incredible small, especially the hashbrowns.
I would recommend this hotel for a great night downtown in an upscale setting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great downtown location near Pioneer Square in a repurposed department store building. Clean and somewhat sparse decor. Very attentive and helpful staff. Did a great job handling our large family gathering. Everything you could expect at a Portland venue-- and even more.

Room Tip: Rooms w/ 2-Qs are much larger than the Ks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stay with my husband for one night in our way to Seattle, the room was pretty but small if you compare with other hotel rooms for the same price, the hotel is in a good location, however the room was not very clean we were disappointed that the chairs & the lights were very dirty with a lot of dust, also we order room service & the food was terrible, very greasy and they forget to bring the bottle of wine we order, our experience with the food was so bad that next day we decided to have breakfast in another place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit. I apologize that your experience was negatively impacted by housekeeping issues and in-room dining. I have followed up with our Director of Housekeeping and our food and beverage team to ensure that this type of experience is not repeated. I hope that we are able to welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We chose to stay at the Nines for my hubby's bday weekend in Portland and overall were glad that we did.

Pros:

Location: Right off the Max and next to all the major shopping areas. Walking distance to Pearl District, Powell's bookstore, etc.

Hip atmosphere, the 8th floor lobby area has a ton of sitting space and is great just to lounge around. The library room with the pool table was not crowded and we loved the ambiance.

Rooftop Deck: Depature Bar on top of the hotel was a perfect way to end the night with a great view of downtown Portland

Tiffany blue decor and damask patterns throughout the hotel-modern vintage vibe fully executed

Comfy bed and good water pressure

Utilizes Starwood Cash & Points

Everyone stays here-our SA from Tiffany's said that this is Portland's best hotel for the moment. We saw the entire MLS team from Montreal here on a Saturday night!

Cons:
Rooms are on the small size; the king sized bed is about the only thing that really fit in the room

No bathtubs or robes in the room

Velvet couches are in need of replacement-the first room we went to had a stained couch so we asked to be moved but the second room wasn't much better; they should definitely replace it with a fabric that hides stains better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I truly appreciate this wonderful feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall along with the amenities we have to offer! There should have been a robe in your guest room and we do have some accommodations available with bathtubs; I have followed up with my team so that we may improve upon these issues for our future guests. We are also in the process of replacing the fabric on all of our settees. I am at your service if you would like to discuss anything further and we hope to welcome you back to the Nines soon.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed at The Nines a few times now, and have no intention of returning. There are two great things about this hotel: location is wonderful (my main reason to stay) and the Urban Farmer restaurant. Urban Farmer has fantastic food, just great. Unfortunately, like the rest of the hotel, service can be spotty at best. On my most recent stay here, my room was just not clean. I found a pill on the carpet - a pill!!! There were scary stains on the couch, and our toilet didn't work properly. For dinner, we ordered room service, and while the food was great, our server seemed to want an additional tip - on top of the 20% and service charge they already tack on. At breakfast, my coffee was cold. Good thing the fabulous french toast made up for it. And this has now happened to me on both stays: the top floor is a nightclub/bar that gets really crowded, making a ton of noise and leaving it nearly impossible to get an elevator. On top of that, in the morning the elevator smelled heavily of body odor and booze - kind of like a dirty frat house. For the 'luxury' hotel this is supposed to be, it's really disappointing that I have had dirty rooms both times, problems with staff, and am inconvenienced by drunk partiers in the evening. I will have to find a new downtown Portland hotel for nights away.

Room Tip: NEVER get a room on the top floor - you will hear banging and stomping from the bar upstairs all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and I apologize that you have not had more pleasant experiences during your time with us. I am pleased that you enjoy our location and Urban Farmer! I have passed your comments along to our team in hopes that we can improve upon the issues mentioned for our future guests. With two of the most popular restaurants in the city, we do have a very vibrant energy, especially on weekends. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future to exceed your current expectations. I am at your service if you would like to discuss anything further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nines, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Spa Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, Portland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Nines, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.