We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, very impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland to your Saves list
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Once again, very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our second time staying at the Nines, in Portland. We have stayed both times on the club level, which is well worth the extra cost. The service, the food, the drinks and the atmosphere in the club lounge are unparalleled. It offers guests an alternative place to relax and enjoy their time away. We especially enjoyed the small bites and cocktails prior to heading out for our dinner reservation.

Our room, this time, felt slightly upgraded from our last room (which was also beautiful). We had reserved a king bed, city view room and we were given a very large room on the quieter side of the hotel, which had some nice expansive views facing toward the river and the bridges. The room featured much more floor space, dark hardwood floors, a larger closet, and bigger bathroom. Needless to say, we were thrilled with this room. It was quiet, dark at night and had a very comfortable bed. We slept great, which isn't always a given on the first night in a hotel.

All of the service, from the front desk staff (Stevie, at check-in) to the concierge, attendants in the lounge, valet and the baggage handlers, where incredibly friendly and efficient. We never waited long for anything and everyone was glad to help.

As we left, the valet said "please come back and stay with us again!", and I quickly replied, "we most definitely will!". And, we will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at the Nines! I am at your service if I can be of any future assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    389
    139
    46
    32
See reviews for
197
549
90
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom suite and were a bit dissappointed. We paid $489. nightly plus taxes for which we expected top notch lodging

The Good:

Room sizes.
The views.
Helpful service.


The not so good:

The bathroom layout,lighting, tub and over tub shower very poor.
Not as clean as expected. Trays and left over food left in hallways for two days.
We had club access. Food was marginal in the club.
Paid $10.00 for four hours of music on our TV.

To be considered a four star plus hotel, we believe it is the little things. There were too many of the little things missing in addition to my comments above.

Gordon G.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I appreciate your comments and I apologize that you did not have a more pleasant experience. I have followed up with my team in regard to the issues you described and we will use this as an opportunity to improve for our future guests. I hope we are able to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We fell in love with the historic building, the artistic decor, the restaurant and the knowledgeable staff. The attention to every detail made our experience at the Nines unique and memorable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My Wife and I live in Ashland, a 4 hour road trip to Portland is a great weekend getaway. We have stayed at several downtown hotels, and will certainly be returning to the Nines. We really enjoyed the nines weekend experience.

We used the valet for our car, and then proceeded to check in on the 8th floor, we were greeted and then checked in quickly. The attention to detail is excellent, the front desk person walked around the counter to hand us our keys and greeted us again and said welcome to the nines.

We had a corner room on the 9th floor that was very spacious and very clean. Bed was great, and the bathroom was huge. We had fresh cut flowers in our room as well.

Pros:

Location Location Location
Good Value
Excellant Restaurant & Bar (Check out the bloody mary bar on the weekends)
Great Staff and Concierge
No house keeping carts

Cons:

Nothing except for us non city people, parking is really expensive!

Enjoy a weekend at the Nines, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After a long haul flight a smiling face and efficient staff were on stand by. The room was perfect, large and beautifully decorated. The interior ice blue colours were very relaxing. The house keeping kept it this way all week. Thank you.

You can pay extra for an up-grade to the 12th floor. This allows for breakfast and cocktails through out the day, enjoyed in cosy surroundings - similar to a private club. One day we accidentally found ourselves on the 12th floor. When we said we had not paid for this, the lovely Laurie invited us in and treated us to cocktails and breakfast making our trip to the 12th floor most enjoyable. It was a real treat for us. I explained it was my husband's Birthday the following day, both Laurie and Patrick at reception sent chocolates on a white plate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a card. The attention to detail made us feel very special. The gym was fantastic, with white towels, water, fresh fruit and newspaper. The gym is a must if you are eating out in Portland, Oregon for 8 days.

We had dinner and breakfast only once in the hotel and the attention to detail was fantastic. The portions were very large and nothing was a problem. The location is superb right next door to Macy's. The Tri Met (street car, bus, light rail) $26 for 5 days , great value and takes you to the four corners of Portland, even to and from the airport. We loved it and most of all loved the people, very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Luxury never felt so comfortable. The Nines 5 Star hotel in the center of shopping district in downtown Portland, Oregon is a pleasurable experience from the friendly valet to the courteous check-out. Special attention is abound from familiar faces of visits from years past, including Judy from the Club Lounge, Mark in Valet and a new face but another outstanding employee is Lea at the front desk. This is our third annual visit to the Nines and we have already booked for next year. Aside from the outstanding hotel customer service the two restaurants at the Nines are polar opposites in ambience and dining yet equally as interesting and enjoyable. In the summer months, if you're lucky enough to get a seat (and sunshine), the rooftop deck is a unique, one of a kind experience in the center of Portland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

For a luxury hotel a few things were missing/weird: not tub; no magnifying mirror in the bathroom--pretty standard these days; no dresser, which means you can't unpack your bag and put clothes away; no top sheet on the bed. I arrived late at night after a long flight and thought the sheet was not turned down but turns out they don't use top sheets for "green" reasons. Personally, I like a sheet between me and a hotel blanket. You can request a top sheet and they'll put one on for you. The clock in my room was 2 hours fast and couldn't be reset manually, disconcerting when you're traveling across time zones, and it took them a day to send an engineer to replace it. They had a big welcome tray of various dried fruits set out in my room when I arrived, which was a nice gesture but a weird thing to eat late at night and an even weirder thing to leave sitting out all night since there was no way to wrap it up or store it. I requested a cab for a specific time in the morning but no cab was there at the specified time even though they said they called one. I waited another 10 minutes for one to show up. It just strikes me that they didn't think through some practical matters here, which when you're road weary can make a big difference. On the bright side, breakfast at the restaurant was very good and the staff are all nice and trying to be helpful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your valuable feedback. Some of our Deluxe accommodations have bathtubs and we are typically able to provide this feature when requested. We have a magnifying mirror in each room along with dresser drawers in each night stands and closet for your convenience. As part of our green ethos our duvets are washed after each check-out, but we do have top sheets available upon request. I apologize that your clock was not correct and I have asked that our Engineering team follow up to ensure this does not occur for our future guests. I hope that we can welcome you back and exceed your current expectations. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss anything further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.