We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fabulous staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, Portland

Save Saved
You added The Nines, Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Nines, Portland
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most fabulous staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is great but the staff is beyond belief! Special thanks to Steve. He made my day with a kind note and piece of chocolate cake! Great location. Excellent breakfast. All the staff were beyond helpful in every aspect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    795
    345
    125
    41
    30
See reviews for
167
497
84
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to this hotel to explore the city of Portland and visit some friends who live locally. We had a great time. The hotel is located close to almost everything downtown. We walked to stores, restaurants and coffee. We booked a room on the executive level with a city view - the executive lounge was always well stocked and very comfortable - the city view was limited but better than an interior courtyard view. The interior courtyard seems to get noisy at night and might bother guests on lower levels. The service at the hotel was great, the valet quick, front desk friendly and cleaning staff were attentive to all of the details.

Room Tip: For a quieter room choose a higher floor and an exterior view. I highly suggest the executive level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The bathroom was nice. What do they call that white tile stuff? Marble. Yeah. Marble. Nice marble and nice wood. Good shower. Soap/lotion/conditioner/etc comes in these little paper pouches. They're ok, I guess. I liked having the option to forego room cleaning service all three days in exchange for SPG points.

Unfortunately, the room was quite small. That's what you get when you get a low rate. The real bummer was that my room faced the courtyard. No natural sunlight. But hey, it's Portland. No natural sunlight in November, right?

The staff was incredibly kind.

Oh, and the location in central Portland is great. Lots of good restaurants nearby. I'd stay again, but I'll ask for a better room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When I can get a room here, I take it. I have stayed at the Westin, Aloft, Sheraton PDX, and a few of the small boutique hotels. This one is the best, it is actually one of my favorite hotels in the Continental US.
Why? The service is great. I had a problem once (yes, with the thin walls) and it was resolved beyond expectations. I love the club level lounge, John is fantastic. He is there before I need a refill, and has great stories, and really loves his home city.
The beds are great, the marble bathrooms are aesthetically pleasing, the "bee kind" ammenities smell so good, the gym is better than most. The gym has free weights, medicine balls, bosus, tons of treadmills (never had to wait), and lots of space to lift, stretch, lunge, etc.
The restaurant upstairs, Departure, is funky asian fusion, and if you eat at the bar everyone is hilarious and fun. They take the edge off of business travel.
Urban Farmer is fantastic, but it eats my entire expense account. You get what you pay for.
Coffee is available and complimentary in the lobby (I got there at 630am, not sure when they put it out).
I have had rooms that might need some re-touching, but it's easy to overlook when everyone is so nice and the bartenders practice the art of a "full pour". You can walk to Nordstrom Rack (almost everyone in the lounge had a bag from there). Next door to Macys, a half block to Nordstrom.
My final thought: Doormen are the face of the hotel. They are your first interaction with the property. This hotel has some of the best (my next favorite doormen are at the W city center Chicago). These guys are on their game. It does take 15 min to get your car in the morning, but they tell you that when you get there. Parking is $30, but if you aren't expensing it, there are quite a few lots a block away and you can save a few $$$.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

great beds and workout room. Walls can be a bit thin but you get over it. VALET is a fortune but all other hotels are too. Location is right on Pioneer Sq so close to a lot of things. Hear the food is good but did not try. Pro basketball team was staying there too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, easy access to shopping, eating, etc. The rooms are very nice but the furniture is in need of a facelift. Anything upholstered in the rooms is really looking shabby. Overall, though, the room was ok.

IMPORTANT: If you've gotta have that coffee fix within a minute or two of your feet hitting the floor, this is NOT the hotel for you. There is no coffee maker in the room and the hotel coffee is so weak it's just not worth it. There are 2 Starbucks if you head right or left out the hotel entrance, though, and that's where my husband headed every morning.

Room Tip: I learned that some rooms have only the walk-in shower so if you love a good soak, ask for a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, Portland, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and I appreciate your comments. We are in the process of re-upholstering each settee and we do have coffee makers available upon request. I apologize that this was not communicated to your during you time with us. I will be happy to assist with any future stays, please feel free to contact me directly.

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Nines. Not only was it lively and fun, but it was very reasonably-priced and well-located for exploring Portland. The room had fun,quirky decor with touches of turquoise and a nice bathroom. We really liked the Bee Kind bath products that are all natural (I will have to find them online!). Most of all, we slept really well as the bed was supremely comfortable with beautiful bed linens, a comfortable mattress and great pillows. The Nines also has a lively lobby and bar and our friends ended up hanging out for a long time, chatting. The staff at the front desk were particularly nice and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nines, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, Portland 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Nines, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nines, Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.