We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
Save
You added Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn to your Saves list
1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Portland B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed one night at this great B & B wish it had been longer. Our hosts were wonderful and extremely organized. They had maps for just about everywhere you wanted to go. The room was great with a lovely bathroom. Nice to have body wash shampoo etc readily available. The kitchen was open with hot and cold beverages available 24/7 and even a fridge for your leftovers. Fruit and snacks were always available. Dusty prepared a wonderful breakfast with special attention to my and my friends dietary needs.Great place and I hope to stay again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
140
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent one night in Portland here and fell in love! What a great B&B! Everything was perfect! Tea was available any time as well as cookies for a relaxing treat in the garden.they took care of my dietary restrictions without fail! Pleasant stay and cannot wait to plan another trip to Portland!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and i recently stayed here from May 14 - 23. We stayed in the Escapade and the Starina Rooms. We were in two different rooms because when making the reservation for so many nights, it was recommended that we stay in those rooms instead of a much smller room that was available for the entire time. While both were extremely comfortable, we preferred the Escapade. The breakfasts were so yummy and the easy availability of snacks was quite nice, although harmful to diets! Having Steve,one of the owners, to join us for breakfast each morning was delightful. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Having light housekeeping was just fine and being able to opt out of breakfast (and the nominal cost) when schedules conficted was also nice. Being able to leave our luggage at the B&B on our last day until our flight was very helpful. I absolutely loved the neighborhood. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Sleep Quality was given 4 instead of 5 stars because the second bed was a double instead of a king a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Lion and the Rose B & B appears to be a labor of love. The decor is firmly Victorian, but not so fussy that one crashes into furniture on the way to breakfast, which is, by the way, very good. There is lots of information about house, which was built by a prosperous brewer, and maps and guidebooks for Portland freely available. One of the owners eats breakfast with the guests, which is a nice touch.

Parking is on the street, which could be a challenge, but we always found a space within one block. We stayed in the Rose Room, on the first floor, which had the advantage of not requiring stairs. However, one must climb a few steps to get to the front door and it wasn't clear whether a ramp was available to the great wraparound porch. There is nicely maintained rose garden, very appropriate to Portland, the Rose City.

This B&B has several ways to reduce costs. one option is to skip breakfast, which I don't recommend -- it's quite good. The other is to opt for "lite housekeeping"' which basically means that your bed is not made. I can live with that, since they check the TP and replace towels.

A in all, a nice intro to a very cool city.

Room Tip: if you need a first floor room, ask for the Rose Room. it also has a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent two nights in the Rose Room on the main floor, which had two appealing features over some of the other rooms. One is the bathtub, which is something I enjoy for a relaxing soak at the end of a busy day. The other is the quiet nights in this room. Our friends staying upstairs in a lovely bright front corner room complained of the noise during the very early hours of the morning.
The dining room was beautifully set for breakfast. We thought the breakfasts were fair value, but would have preferred larger servings rather than having the leftovers passed from a plate placed at one end of the table.
The home is in a lovely neighborhood and very close to shopping and restaurants and public transit. Very convenient location. Steve and Dusty provide maps and an excellent video tour.

Room Tip: The Rose room is quieter than some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA.
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

our room was front and center on the second floor. It was very noisy, as you are right close to the street with Broadway one block away. Garbage trucks started at 4 a.m. And many sirens and people leaving from the bars at 2 a.m. The rooms are lovely, but lighted from the outside lights on the house until 11 P.M., which makes your room like Christmas tree. The bed was very high and you needed steps to get into it. Not recommended for children or elderly folks. It was quite comfortable.
the bathrooms are all in what used to be closets, so very, very small. No place to really put much of anything. However, it is a quaint Victorian home built in 1905. it is on the historic list and the surrounding historic homes in the neighborhood are fun to view. Parking is on the street. restaurants, bars and Lloyds Center is close by.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the house because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a wonderful B and B from beginning to end. First, reserving online is easy. Rooms are true to description. I stayed in the Rose Room on the first floor which provides easy access to the kitchen, parlour and front door. Don't worry, it's quiet, too.

The innkeeper, Dusty and Steve run a great, honest business. You are greeted when you arrive (make sure you confirm your arrival time), and Dusty explained the house rules (common sense), explained the house history, answered any Portland questions and showed us the room and the rest of the house.

In terms of price, you have a good deal here. You can make your stay cheaper by requesting no breakfast or less housekeeping, but don't worry--you still get your towels refreshed, garbage emptied and sheets changed if you stay several days. I attended a conference that week, and the cost of this B and B was much more reasonable than conference hotels. The breakfasts are delicious and they are very accomodating to your dietary needs and schedule. For example, on two days, I had to leave early, the woman innkeeper Dusty (there are two people named Dusty) got yogurt and cereal ready for me and also prepared to-go bags of protein bars and muffins on the day I left at 6:30 for the airport. This is a nice touch. If you ask, they will try their best to accomodate you with no judgement or questions. Dusty's brother was also very helpful on my last day to make sure I got some coffee to go before I left--I think he even got up earlier to make sure coffee was ready by 6:00. That is great service!

The B and B is about a 7 minute walk to Lloyd Center Light Rail stop and the mall. From the Lloyd Center stop to the convention center, it's another five minutes (all color rail lines go that direction). So my daily commute to the convention center was about 15 minutes total. Can't beat that.

The Lion and Rose is located in the Irvington neighborhood. This is in the NE quadrant, east of the downtown by a 15 minute rail ride. The neighborhood has restaurants and shops in walking distance. I liked Milo's (innkeepers' recommendation) which is literally around the corner. I also also enjoyd Saint Simon coffee Broadway and a fun, albeit a bit hipster, lounge called Swift which has a nice happy hour (beer and $5 mason jar drinks) from 5-8 pm. The food at Swift is cheap and very good: rice and bean bowls, slider, Spinach Salad and side orders of veggies, fondue fries and other interesting fare not normally seen at a bar. Also, they have fresh flowers (I noticed almost everywhere in Portland displays fresh flowers). East on Broadway you can also walk to an independent book store and great shoe store which has the largest selection of Dansko shoes I have every seen. This is a nice neighborhood which is a nice change from the downtown area.

All in all, I had a wonderful stay at the Lion and the Rose. Dusty and Steve and the many family members they have working at the inn are attentive, welcoming, helpful and at the same time protective of your privacy. Don't hesitate to stay in this very Portland-esque B and B. I would love to come back again!

Room Tip: Rose Room is great for easy access to kitchen and parlour for cookies and jelly beans!! It is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn

Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.