We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Park and Fly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Portland Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Best for Park and Fly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Can't beat the package. Great room, the usual amenities, close to the airport, reliable shuttle for even a very early departure, friendly staff -- what else would you want the night before leaving on a trip?
We had a room on the second floor that overlooked a lake. Good wireless to do the last minute online stuff...then hit the sack and pick from various pillows....quiet, restful night.
The Clarion had the best price. We enjoyed our stay here and will repeat the next time we have occasion to bunk near PDX.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    152
    37
    22
    12
See reviews for
104
173
47
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while flying in and out of Portland on 4.23 and 4.25.09. I was able to use choice hotel reward nights for our stay, so I'm not sure what the going rate was. We had a great stay both nights. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and accomodating; the front desk staff noted when we needed to get an early morning shuttle to the airport, and gave us a reminder phone call that morning. Great attention to detail. Breakfast was very good and the rooms were quite large. I generally stay within the Choice Hotel group for business, and this was by far one of the nicest hotels in that group I have stayed in. I will definitely stay at this location again when flying in and out of Portland!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I've stayed at thousands of hotels across the country and this is by far the best Choice brand hotel I've been in. In fact, it beats all of them at PDX. Clean rooms, awesome bed, good view and excellent location at under $100. What a bargain! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

After reading the rave reviews, we booked one night for a stopover in Portland on our way home from Mexico. I am having a hard time believing it was the same hotel. Immediately when we arrived in the room, I noticed an unpleasant odor, which reminded me of strong BO. The room felt stuffy. Tried to turn on air conditioning, but it didn't work. I turned on the fan, and it had a loud rattling noise so I turned it off. The covering of the air conditioning/heating unit was broken. Normally, I would have asked to change rooms, but it was nearly midnight and we had carried our daughter asleep from the plane thru the airport & on the shuttle to the hotel. I could clearly hear the footsteps of the person in the room above us, so knew each time they got up to go to the bathroom. The breakfast was nice, and the room otherwise seemed clean but the odor was off-putting.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

I haven't stayed at a Clarion in a long time and wasn't expecting much more than Best Western quality. But it was quite a surprise. The staff was nice. The room was tastefully and uniquely decorated. The bathroom could use a little updating, but wasn't bad. BUT, the BEDS were AMAZING! It's that memory foam stuff. Very nice. And two different types of pillows, which is nice for those of us who don't like feather pillows. The pool was pretty standard. But very warm which was nice. The breakfast was a little crazy. Lots of people in a small space and not the best food. But it was free!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Stayed here after reading trip advisor reviews. We paid $78 for a family of 4 and got the perfect hotel for us! We have a 6 & 5 year old and were looking for something fairly close to Portland (Omsi & the zoo) and wanted an indoor swimming pool, free parking, and a free breakfast. We were about 15 minutes from Clackamas Town Center which has Macaroni Grill, Red Robin, Spaghetti Factory, Chili's, and more, plus the best mall! Shopped here all day, then drove to the hotel. We ordered dinner from Round Table pizza which is right down the street from the hotel - excellent - and then swam in the warm pool with the kids and enjoyed the hot tub. The temperpedic beds were the most comfortable beds we had ever slept in, the service was great, the hotel is clean and quiet, the pool was warm and clean, there was live music and appetizers in the lobby on Tues night, free continental breakfast with waffles, sausages, biscuits & gravy, good coffee, and more. As you can tell, we were very pleased and will be going back here in the future! We were also only about 15 minutes from OMSI which is a lot of fun on a rainy Portland day. Also, there are many fast-food restaraunts nearby the hotel and a drive-through Starbucks. Hubby really enjoyed going to the Danner Factory right around the corner which has some amazing deals on the best boots. So, all in all we had a great trip and a great stay at the Clarion!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
831 reviews 831 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
2,196 helpful votes 2,196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

I could repeat everything the previous two posters stated since it's all true! Good sized room, outstanding full buffet breakfast, pleasant efficient staff, very clean . . . in short a great value.

One nice thing we enjoyed is that the rooms overlook a small lake, so it has a "country" feel even though it's within a few miles of a major international airport.

We used their park-n-fly option instead of parking at the airport. For our eight days away, it worked out to exactly the same price as the long-term airport parking plus the regular room rate. The shuttle driver was very friendly and efficient, and in fact when my husband discovered he had left something in our vehicle, she immediately drove him back to the hotel, then returned him to the airport.

We will not only stay here again if flying out of PDX, but will probably use this as our base hotel when we need to be in Portland for business reasons. (Sorry Oxford Suites!)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Portland
#36 Business Hotel in Portland
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.