We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Portland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 133 hotels in Portland
Ronan, Montana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great room and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really thought the room decor was modern and had great, urban feel. Stainless steel and cherry. (my sink had a crack, too, maybe the same room as whynot) You can tell the housekeeping staff spends a lot of effort in preparing the rooms. Towels are neatly sculpted and the linens are quality. Great sleep, even if it was only 4 hours. lol. The room's window was guarded by tree crowns, so it felt private. The breakfast room was all a buzz with folks excited for the day. Hot breakfast with lots of protein and options. The staff was attentive and friendly. I would recommend the hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Craig W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at the Clarion. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep the hotel looking wonderful. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    132
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
86
160
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love the Clarion hotel. It was just not available for me this trip in July. The staff is always helpful, the hotel is always clean and the breakfast is wonderful. The only thing it is missing is a restaurant. I have stayed there twice and know friends that stay there every time they go to Portland.

Room Tip: Love the rooms facing the little lake/water behind it. There is a beautiful view out the window at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
debakagrace,

Thank you for your repeat business. I agree a restaurant would be very handy to have. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Was looking for a reasonably proced airport hotel with breakfast in this area and am glad I settled for this based on reviews. It is great value for money and quite spacious, I did not understand why I once spent lots to stay at Sheraton yet this one is similar. Also serves free breakfast. You could hear aiplan noises if you kept your window open , otherwise it was minimal. I will make this my airport hotel as I frequent the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Wema34,
I couldn't agree with you more! Why spend twice as much to stay at the Sheraton? Thank you for breaking away from the over priced hotels here at the airport. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the Clarion under a Park & Fly deal. We have stayed here several times over a number of years. Early on, this was a very up to date hotel in excellent condition. It is showing its age now, however, as our room was a bit tired. Our sink had a crack, the bottom of the bathroom door was showing a lot of wear, and the room was not as nice as we remembered it.

The bed was comfortable and the room was quite, despite being very close to PDX. There is a Shari's 24-hour restaurant across the street.

The hotel is close to PDX and offers excellent shuttle service. The shuttle can be scheduled and starts at 4:00am. When arriving at the airport, the shuttle will come for pickup rather than waiting for a predetermined schedule.

Speaking of the shuttle, we came in to PDX on our return trip late in the evening (around 10:00pm). Our shuttle driver ("Jay" I believe) was probably the most informative and helpful shuttle driver we have ever experienced in of our travels. He offered excellent advice and information which was appreciated by all. He clearly cares about his job and wishes to provide exceptional customer service.

The park and fly option was a good value and our experience overall was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
WhyNot_1_2_Go,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate hearing from everyone. I will pass along your comments to "J" as well.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Clarion while visiting the Columbia River Gorge area. The hotel was clean and our room very comfortable. Everything was as expected according to reviews we had read. I would recommend this hotel when staying in Portland. On a side note, don't pay extra for a lake view room. Luckily we got a great deal on Expedia. The "lake" looked to be nothing more than a large retention pond.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
3hapitravelers,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Almost every room in the property faces Mays Lake, which is part of the Columbia Slough, located on the north side of the hotel. We would hope you come and stay with us on your next trip to Portland.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sorry there folks at the Clarion, didnt get this out asap.
But, I have to let anyone know, if they are going to Portland, there should be
no choice except the Clarion.
I cant say enough about the entire experience. The breakfasts were totally
perfect. The room was clean, beds compfy, and the staff, from the front desk,
to the van drivers, and the cleaning and serving staff are A-1 in my book
Linda Lewis
6-4-13 6-11-13
NO ONE WAS EVER GROUCHY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Linda10234,
Thank you so much Linda. We do our best with every guest we encounter. I thank you for the lovely praise. Please come visit us again!

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Close to airport. Staff was helpful and friendly! Room with lake view was nice. Gym is nice and clean. We will stay there again, on our next trip. The staff suggested the test rose garden and the falls area. We were not disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Terry T,
We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Portland, and your stay with us. The Rose Gardens and falls are wonderful sightseeing locations in the area. Thank you for staying with us.

Don GIbson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Portland
#36 Family Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.