We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes it pays to check out a different place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Portland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Stayton OR
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sometimes it pays to check out a different place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had been staying at a competitor when flying from PDX but when I noticed that the Clarion had king beds and a hot breakfast for less money I decided to give them a try. I was not disappointed. The property is very nice and well cared for. The room we had was a king suite with a lot of space an a very good mattress. When we arrived. they told us that the hot breakfast began at 7 AM on weekends but they would have other things out so we thought we were out of luck since our flight left at 8:20. To our surprise, when were went down for breakfast at 5:45, they had hot cakes, sausage, biscuits an gravy, scrambled eggs along with other breakfast fare. On our return, our flight got in around midnight. When I called the hotel, they said that their shuttle had stopped running for the day but that they would get another hotel to pick us up. In about 10 minutes, there was a shuttle there to get us. The only drawback that I can see is that the parking lot is not fenced but our car was not bothered and the area seems safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
CoonHollow,

A review like this just makes our day! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. we look forward to having you stay with us the next time you fly from PDX.

Thank you,

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    136
    32
    18
    11
See reviews for
87
160
44
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Clarion at Portland Airport is a really nice, fairly inexpensive place to stay. We were there over night due to an early morning Dr.s appt, and have stayed there many other times as well. The staff was very professional, courtious and efficient. The rooms are always clean and the bed was so comfy that we got a great nights sleep and didn't want to get up. Super pillows, which always make it or break it for me. Breakfast buffet is so-so, but it's pretty average to all the chain hotels, it gets you going, at least. It's location is also very good, near the airport and IKEA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
MandBOregon,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experience here at the Clarion. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you,

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel. We saw a 1.5" big roach in our bathroom. My husband just finished taking shower at that time. When he came out of the shower, he surprisingly saw a big roach right next to the mirror. We tried to take a picture but we were able to take a picture of the roach's legs only. We also tried to kill it but it got away. After that, we packed up and went down to the reception. It was 12am. We were both really tired. The staff gave us a new room right away at different floor.
After we went in the new room, the television didn't work for some reason. We didn't bother to ask them to fix it at 12:30am. We told them about it the next day. They gave us a bottle of free water. We didn't try any of their breakfast because we were not sure how clean their food was. The reason I gave them 2 stars was because they have good service. Overall, this place is closed to the airport and has good service but if you care about the cleanliness of where you sleep and eat. I definitely would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Mangonz,

I want to apologize for the experience you had here a the Clarion. I will be addressing this issue immediately. We work hard at delivering excellent service and a clean, comfortable room for every guest.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed back in March of this year..... My mom visiting from Hawai'i had to bring into Portland and I've stayed at this property many of times but never wrote on TA.... Just wanted to say this hotel is WONDERFUL..... My mom and Niece LOVED it and I stay here all the time when coming from Seattle and I recommend this hotel to all my friends.... You folks keep up the awesome work..... Much Alohas

Room Tip: take the hotel shuttle to airport and get the rail into portland it's the best way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bruce B

Thank you for the great review and for allowing us to take care of you when you are away from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently. I can honestly say, it was one of the best places we stayed in the US. The facilities were fantastic, free laundry facilities, windows that actually open, fridge, microwave etc. and a great price ! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the shuttle to and from the airport was included in the price and was extremely comfortable and ran frequently. Very comfortable beds. I would stay there again and have recommended it to friends. My only problem was the unusual breakfast, but then again, I am Australian, not American and not used to the processed foods. This was easily overcome, by having yoghurt etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Carolyn C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and everyone. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you join us again on your next visit here to Portland.

Thank you,

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had stayed here once before. It is an older hotel but they have tried to update it. Our room was okay. It was clean. The breakfast was fair. The staff was very nice. It wasn't as nice as the first time we stayed. We had a late arrival from airport so location was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
OKJANE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions and experiences. We appreciate all comments and perspectives. Hopefully your next visit will be a better experience.

Thank you,

Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We travel from the East Coast to Oregon and the only nonstop flight lands in the evening Pacific time. So, instead of renting our car and driving off, we take it easy at the Clarion overnight and pick the car up the next morning or drive the car there in the evening and leave early in the morning. The hotel has all of the amenities you would expect. It is clean, and the staff are very eager to help. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The personal heating/cooling system and the lights are easily controlled. There is the ubiquitous coffee maker and a small refrigerator. Ice and snacks are available. The breakfast is varied, hot or cold, and tasty. The hotel van picks you up from and delivers you to the airport. The staff have been generous enough to drive us to pick up the rental car. All this for $89! And more...There is a gym, a lounge, and a swimming pool. So, if you miss your flight or it's cancelled, you can still enjoy a fun-filled day. Restaurants are within walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a small body of water and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Saussy,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to deliver a quality product and excellent service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next trip!

Thank you,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Drive, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
#43 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.