We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Save Saved
You added Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 132 hotels in Portland
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were delighted with the excellent service. It didn't feel like a chain. The desk staff was always friendly and informative. All their suggestions were accurate and useful - from getting around without a car to choosing excellent restaurants. We arrived on a Tuesday and were amazed at the wonderful "customer appreciation" treat - great food with beer and wine. Breakfasts were also impressive with all the essentials and several unexpected extras. Our room was large with king bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Laundry facilities were also available. Finally, we had a free shuttle to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    94
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
89
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Silvercloud had large clean rooms, but I would have expected more for $189 night. Yes this did include a simple breakfast, but by and large this is a motor hotel. Oh and there was that issue of the lumpy bed...

Maybe I need to compare this to other hotels in the area, but I've stayed in nicer hotels in Seattle, New York and Washington for less money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet expectations.
In the last year we have added scrambled eggs and sausage to our Deluxe Continental Breakfast.
I was a little surprised to hear about the bed, as all of the mattresses are new in the last couple of years and are on a quarterly rotation program.
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our beautifully appointed, quiet room, in the tony Northwest neighborhood of Portland. Parking at their site is free to guests, and you can walk to great restaurants on 21st and 23rd Streets. Staff were friendly and helpful. Full breakfast was hot and tasty. Tuesday evening "Manager's Reception" was a pleasant surprise, and proved to be a very nice dinner. The room featured a double sink outside the bathroom, real glass cups and ceramic mugs, and a local paper outside our door in the morning. Would stay here again, and would seek out their other locations as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this property, the first half was with lots of family visiting Portland for a wedding. Mgt put us together on the 4th floor, which was very convenient, and our merry-making didn't bother other guests. We had a spacious double room with a wheelchair accessible bathroom. I don't need a roll-in shower but that is available as well. There were two sinks just inside the room door. We were able to open our window, which we did all week as the weather was gorgeous! Having the fresh air instead of the air conditioner was wonderful.
When we first arrived, was put off by the 'industrial' nature of the immediate neighborhood - there was even a smell of burnt rubber in the air. However, many good restaurants, cafes, and boutique stores were very close by and easily reached on foot/wheelchair. The bus stop for Rtes 15 and 77 is just outside the hotel entrance and provided easy access to downtown. We also were able to get to the streetcar easily, which is a little further.
The only reason I'm not rating this property with 5 stars is the poor coffee (No excuses as there is a premium roaster just down the street, and Portland IS a coffee town!), and the fan in the bathroom was obnoxiously loud with no option to turn it off without losing the light source. I would DEFINITELY return to the Portland Silver Cloud Inn.

Room Tip: very good for wheelchair users
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is located in a nice quiet neighborhood. Friendly staff helped us with transportation options. It's close to a park with great running, hiking and mountain biking trails. Good breakfast and nice clean rooms. Rooms also nice size.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POTOMAC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The hotel was pretty good-- room was big and clean, breakfast pretty good for a hotel breakfast -- yogurt, cereal, hot food, fruit, good coffee. The only drawnack was that it is not cemtrally located. It's a 10 or 15 minute walk to the streetcar, which we used a lot to get to attractions. There are a couple of good coffee places and a couple of restaurants within a few blocks, but the more interesting ones are a bit of a walk. We never felt that the area was unsafe, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Notable positives - comfortable room, friendly and engaged front desk staff, excellent breakfast (included), parking (included), great shower head pressure, usable refrigerator in room, great restaurants within walking distance with interesting local flavor along the way.

Notable negatives - no in room safe, not enough pillows, only one sink (in bathroom proper), limited number of electrical plugs, limited TV channel selection.

Would definitely stay here again and will investigate other Silver Cloud Inns in the Northwest.

Room Tip: At first we were concerned having a street facing room. We were on the 4th floor and the trees were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is completely upgraded from the carpet up! Brand New furnishings, lamps, microwaves and refridgerators in every room, and now 42 inch Plasma TVs in every room! Hotel is 100% non smoking and walking distance to over 50 restaurants in Nob Hill/Trendy NW 23rd Avenue. An Excellent value and still free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.