We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ariving into Portland and being directed by the sat nav to the industrial sector was a bit of a shock. Arriving at the hotel which sits opposite what looks looks like a cement works did nothing to alleviate our worries.
On arrival the staff were more than helpful and quickly directed us to the local eateries and bars of which there are many. Park up,unpack and head for 23rd Street. The run up to Burnside is full of independent coffee shops, bars, restaurants and shops that cater for every taste. For an edgier scene 21st street is the place to head.
The hotel itself is OK. Not as polished as its sister hotel in Seattle but well worth a vist. We always judge a place by the 'would we go back' test and we would certainly go back to this one. Portland downtown wasn't that impressive but 23rd street could keep us busy for days and the Solver Cloud is arrest base for it

Room Tip: We sleeps opposite the works and got no noise issues so any would be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    117
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
116
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Silver Cloud is a very nice hotel for the money. What I liked most about the hotel was the surrounding neighborhood. There are a number of great little restaurants just down the street and in the local area just behind the hotel. The breakfast available at the Silver Cloud is on par with most other decent hotels. The service at the front desk is very cordial and efficient, and the available guest parking is slightly better than what other hotels have to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is very near the Forest Park trails that I wanted to run. And I was not disappointed. If you are interested in trail running in beautiful lush forests, then you can easily walk or drive to the trailheads from this hotel. Even though it did rain a lot, the trails are amongst large trees that will act as "natural" umbrellas.

The hotels offers free laundry service, the staff are very friendly and the wifi is reliable. My only concern was that the hotel did not have a restaurant or offer room service (they do offer a nice free breakfast though). It turns out I need not have worried. The hotel is a few steps away from a grocery store that offered a variety if homemade meals and it was near many cafes and small restaurants.

This hotel had everything I wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love this little hotel when in Portland on business, good price, clean rooms and friendly helpful staff.
Free laundry, near some great little restaurants.
Better to select a room on the back of the property for privacy.

Room Tip: Select room on back of hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only needed a room for 1 night during Memorial Day weekend and most places were full, and Silver Cloud Inn was one of the less expensive choices. The room was clean, large and comfortable but dont expect any fancy decor. The breakfast was substantial. However, I would say that they could do with a bit lower price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit confused while looking for a place to during our 3-day Portland stay. We ended up here largely due to the combination of reviews and price. The hotel is in a nice, quiet, walkable neighborhood and as others have said, access to public transit is pretty convenient. It also has parking which was great as we had a car for a portion of our stay. The walls weren't as thick as I would have liked them, but the other guests weren't a rowdy crowd, so noise wasn't an issue at night. Our room did not overlook the street, which could have contributed to the low noise level. We enjoyed waffles at breakfast and found the food selection to be adequate for our needs. There is also a co-op grocery down the street, so we were able to pick up fruit and snacks for our stay and our road trip. We also utilitzed the free laundry (detergent available at front desk for $1/load).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay. The room was clean and beautiful without any smoke smells. The staff were especially helpful in giving options for restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was very good and substantial. I recommend this hotel as a good choice for a short stay in Portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.