We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here from the 29th Nov to the 3rd Dec 2012 and i was impressed from the very start. First, i missed my connecting flight into Portland from San Francisco. When i called to inform them i would not be able to check in, they deducted that night from the bill.
The hotel itself is very clean & tidy & the staff there are very friendly & helpful. I booked a king size room which i was very pleased with and was very comfortable.
The location is great as its very close to downtown and to lots of great restaurants that are nearby.
I would definately recommend this hotel & would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: South side rooms are away from main road and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is what great customer service is...after staying at many hotels, this one turned out to be a gem.
Spacious, extremely CLEAN room with nice touches such as the Aveda products, thick towels that don't smell like most hotel linens
Great front desk very helpful and efficient
Good location

Couldn't ask for more at the price point

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdxatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has all the must haves and alot of the nice to haves for a business traveler. My favorite part was the shampoo. I know that sounds strange, but I travel alot, and to have such high end amenities (it was Aveda peppermint shampoo) is a real surprise. The hotel was small, clean, comfortable, and in a nice, funky location. The service was excellent, and the price was good. Included breakfast was good, too. I recommend this for business travelers who are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakiwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed staying three nights here recently. The room was comfortable, clean and convenient to great restaurants and shopping. Having the great breakfast makes your day start so much easier too. We did lots of walking, site seeing and eating! It is so easy to find from the freeway and we won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is right off of the freeway and in a wonderful neighborhood of beautiful homes, little shops, and a variety of great restaurants. It is perfect for people who like to walk. The room was spacious and clean, there is free covered parking, and public transportation is close by. Our only complaint was the very heavy walkers in the room above us who kept us awake the first night. We had gone to bed around 9:30 and the people above us walked around noisily until about 11:30. We had asked for a top floor room and ended up on the third floor instead of the fourth floor. Everything else about the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: If you don't want to take a chance on noisy neighbors above you, ask for the top floor. Based o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haledon, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Negatives: We got woken up at 4:30am to the extremely loud sound outside our window of garbage trucks emptying the dumpsters. I fell back to sleep, only to be woken back up at 5:00 to the sound of someone dragging trash cans all over the place for 10 minutes. At 5:30, a new sound started up, which sounded like a helicopter, again, right outside the window. I went over and looked out the window and didn't see anything. As I leaned into the window, I realized that the noise was actually being produced from the window itself, as it was violently shaking/vibrating. I have no idea what would have caused this vibrating window situation, but it was weird and noisy. I am writing this review based on my first 24 hr experience of my 9 day hotel stay here, so maybe this was just a one time occurrence or something. I will update if it happens EVERY MORNING. Another factor influencing a bad nights sleep here are these HARD mattresses! I read that they are new, which is fantastic, but they are really hard and cause body pains. The sinks/counter top and mirrors are all outside of the actual bathroom (shower and toilet). Besides it being strange, it is not very practical. There are no surfaces near the shower to put a towel or clothes to change into on. I ended up moving the desk chair in there so I had a surface to place things on. The last negative thing is the occasional chemical smell in the air outside the hotel. I know that the hotel can't do anything about it, but its really strong and makes you feel like your getting cancer when you walk through the parking garage. I thought Portland was supposed to be all eco-friendly...

Positives: The linens and towels are pretty nice and smell very clean and fresh. The room is clean, has a great tv, larger than normal mini fridge, microwave and coffee/tea machine. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is one of the best complimentary breakfasts I've had in a long time. We got it yesterday around 6am, so it was fully stocked and hot at the time. They have tea/coffee/hot chocolate/juice/real eggs/sausage/waffles/bagels/danishes/apples/oranges/bananas/cereal/yogurt. I'm kind of a picky food snob and I found it to be pretty great. Its also nice how they leave the tea, coffee and fruit out all day so you can grab a snack if you want. This hotel is in an pretty good location. There is an expensive co-op/organic grocery store right around the corner, as well as a bunch of restaurants and cafes everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was sorry to see that you had challenges with the room on the first night after a long trip. After speaking with you at the hotel it sounded like the rest of your stay was great and the hotel was fine.
I'm not sure why the neighbors' garbage company starts so early as ours doesn't pick up until 9 or later in the morning. I did find out that the Breakfast Hostess was doing some early laundry and that would account for the vibration. I do apologize for the noise and we have put a stop to that.
Thank you for your time and details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here while visiting from abroad. Best rates on Priceline. Spacious clean room in a lovely location in NW Portland. The staff is friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. Nice breakfast. Comfortable bed. Fine bathroom. Free Internet and free parking. The computer for printing in the lobby is useful. Aveda toiletries. Microwave and fridge. Consistantly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,887 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing