We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland to your Saves list
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We got there early from Seattle fast with easy access just off the freeways. The front desk was friendly, efficient, and informative. The room was large, super clean, and amenities delivered as promised. We were on the "quiet" backside but the windows are well insulated so noise is not not a problem street side.
Morning papers are delivered to your room and a full breakfast buffet is served at 6am downstairs. We did not do this, but they have a "happy hour" cocktail hour with hors oeuvres. Yes, and the free parking and decent Wi-Fi is a big plus.
Many of the people having breakfast were obviously on business and they know and appreciate value.Try this place, it can't be beat.
Oh yes, and there's a great French Bakery around the corner for espresso and excellent food choices.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    109
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
99
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great experience at this hotel. Great value given the location, room and included wifi, parking and breakfast. The room was clean, comfortable, a good size and had a microwave and fridge. Location was great on the edge of Nob Hill and at the end of the 23rd Ave strip. Staff was friendly and efficienct. Will definitely stay again when we return to Portland. It's not a high end hotel, and doesn't try to be, We are simply tired of all the up-charges at other hotels - we saw one hotel downtown charging $35/night for parking - insane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was at a very good location- walking distance from restaurants, boutique shops, downtown, etc. The service was great too. The breakfast had waffle makers, which was fun to use! The parking was free!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in this Silver Cloud in mid-August and were extremely pleased in every respect. The hotel is located in an older neighborhood that has lots of charm and seemed very safe. Our room was perfect for our needs and very clean. The breakfast room is small and, because the hotel seemed to be so popular, was quite crowded. But the food was good. We also happened to be there on a Tuesday night and really enjoyed their free "happy hour" before we walked to dinner. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Portland.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is definitely not a feast for the senses. The location borders the lovely alphabet district on one side. But be aware that it also borders an industrial area, where something is always burning that smells toxic, like rubber or an electrical fire. The view out of most rooms is of parking lots or industrial buildings. There is pretty substantial traffic noise from the street. The rooms felt dark and depressing.

Be sure to park on the upper deck, otherwise you will have great difficulty parking next to the fat concrete poles that encroach into every space.

This will not affect you, but there was construction going on in our hallway the entire time we were there, adding an extra huge annoyance to our stay.

Breakfast is typical chain restaurant waffles, bagels and powdered eggs. We started skipping it after our second day.

The big pros were the price, the proximity to shops and restaurants and the decent service. But the big cons outweighed all that for us. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlManager, Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
It is a fact that we are on the edge of the Industrial area. We are also on the edge of residential and commercial areas which give a nice dynamic. There is a steel manufacturer and a coffee roaster in the area, that account for those smells at times.
We did have some leaks in a pipe in the hallway that had to be fixed right away. Unfortunately, it was during our busiest time of the year.
I'm sorry you were not pleased with our breakfast as we have added sausage and scrambled eggs, which are from a liguid egg product.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Silver Cloud is located in north west Portland. Very clean, nice crisp linens, thick towels, very quiet and a newspaper at your door every morning. The free breakfast in the morning is one of the better free breakfasts that we have had while traveling. The staff at the front desk are friendly and ansered all my questions concerning the area and what bus to take to get to our destinations. You can board a Tri-Met bus right outside the hotel. Everyone we talked to in Portland were extremely friendly. Public transportation excellent. Enjoyed our 2 day stay. This has been our third visit to Portland and I'm sure we plan more and will be staying at the Silver Cloud.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Barb makes this hotel a must stay in Portland. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud, and the wine and cheese social is a lovely touch. The Parking lot has an upper and lower level and the neighborhood has great shops without being in the busy heart of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 N.W. Vaughn St., Portland, OR 97210
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Business Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is completely upgraded from the carpet up! Brand New furnishings, lamps, microwaves and refridgerators in every room, and now 42 inch Plasma TVs in every room! Hotel is 100% non smoking and walking distance to over 50 restaurants in Nob Hill/Trendy NW 23rd Avenue. An Excellent value and still free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.