We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Kennedy School

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McMenamins Kennedy School
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 132 hotels in Portland
Fairbanks, AK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place at a great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Kennedy School is a very unique experience. The rooms are spacious and clean and quiet. The beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and down to earth.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    104
    22
    16
    7
See reviews for
51
141
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Kennedy School is probably the most unusual accomodations found in Portland. It's located somewhat off the beaten path but it's worth the effort. As you probably know by now-the hotel is located in the former remants of an old schoolhouse. Everything has been preserved from the old cloakrooms found in each room to the chalkboards on the walls and the furnishings.

Most everything can be found here-a movie theater with nightly free screenings, a heated soaking pool, a brewpub, a pretty decent restaurant. Be sure to check the schedule for upcoming bands who stop at the Kennedy School for performances.

The place has a really cool artsy vibe to it-if you're travvelling alone you'll find it a comforting and homey place. You might even meet some cool folks. As a couple this would be a perfect weekend getaway since most everything you need can be found here.

Great place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

What a fantastic experience! We only wish we'd stayed longer than one night. We stayed downtown for 3 nights and on our last day we drove to Mount Hood and then came back into Portland and stayed at the Kennedy School. After a long day of driving we checked in, jumped in the soaking pool (think of it as a 30-person hot tub in a private courtyard), grabbed a quick dinner and a few beers, and saw a movie. Even if you don't stay here, it's worth an evening just to check out the place. The classrooms have been converted into the guest rooms; the cafeteria, auditorium, gymnasium into the restaurants, movie theatre, conference rooms; the offices and utility rooms into reception areas and tiny bars - some only big enough for 5 people!

The room was a great size, with high ceilings, and very clean. Not at all luxurious, but that's clearly not what they're going for. Definitely in the "affordable, fun and laid-back" category.

The only downside is that it's a 15 minute drive from downtown, and definitely in a suburban neighborhood. Since we had a car we didn't take public transport, but I believe there are regular buses.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We arrived late and "the room" was not ready! They gave us another room! The heat was so hight that we have to open a window... then the street noice came upon us!
Next, the magnetic card did not function properly.... several times.
We noticed that this was a Restaurant; Movie Theater; Bar; Meeting Place; etc;.. everything BUT an Hotel!
Second day: again, 2:30pm: we have to wait (in fact, I'm waiting writing this review) for somebody to do the room.
This is an experience: to lodge in an old School! But it's so bad the service that I regret to be here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This was an unexpected hidden gem in Portland. Very cool concept--elementary school closed down, then revamped into a hotel. I think there are 35 rooms, so if you want to book do so as early as you can. Couple of really good restaurants on the property. Also had a movie theater where you could order beer/wine at the concession stand along with pizza/dogs. Showed 2-3 month old movies, but good entertainment & atmosphere, oh did I mention the seats where couches? Had 1 small incident with our room, flushed the toilet & it massively overflowed pouring water on the floor. But the service & response to clean it up was great & they comped our room for the mess. You'll need to drive to downtown, but this area is quiet & nice. Definitely would do this again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Went to a wedding at this place and stayed here. When we arrived it was waaay too hot in our room and within minutes the front desk had cooled the room off for us. Great hotel staff. The "bathing pool" was like a giant hottub. So relaxing bubbly and fun for all ages. The wedding banquet room and courtyard were beautiful (with the exception that you could hear the spa a little before the ceremony.) We liked it so much we stayed an extra day. The zoo and other portland attractions were a short drive away and there was a movie theater in the actual hotel with comfortable sofas and food/beer brought right to you. EAT THE BBQ Chicken pizza.... still drooling. And even if you dont like beer TRY IT! Copper moon and the terminator were both delicous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I stayed here with my mom and we both absolutely loved everything about the Kennedy School. Location was nice - took walks around the beautiful neighborhood. Rooms were big, clean, and had our own bathroom all for very cheap room rate. Down the hall were delicious restaurants and bars. Also down the hall was a movie theatre with plush couches and tables set up where we had hot pizza and beer/wine delivered to our table during the movie. The movie admission was also free since we were guests at the hotel. An amazing band played in the auditorium that night - also free since we were guests. I met neighborhood locals at the bars and at the concert here and everyone was incredibly friendly. All in all I can't recommend this place enough...it's one of my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Address: 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#29 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Spa Hotel in Portland
#44 Business Hotel in Portland
#45 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3*
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Kennedy School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McMenamins Kennedy School to your Saves list