We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun at school!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Kennedy School

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McMenamins Kennedy School
Save
You added McMenamins Kennedy School to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much fun at school!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always stay here when in Portland altho there are more Mcmennamin's hotels in this city to try. They are super fun places to stay. The art work is fabulous...very art deco. Pretty much a staple at a Mcemennamins. The soaking pool is just that.....a larger than average hot tub to soak in. The rooms are in old classrooms, with chalk boards. We have always staying in the girl's ballroom. Very large and great if you are travelling with kids. St. Patrick's Day festivities are a blast and very busy due to the influx of neighbours from the surrounding residential area. My fave is to grab a drink and meal then go flop in a big comfy couch in the auditorium and watch a movie. Beer, pizza and a good movie in comfort.....so great! The public transport is easy to use to get into the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the school. There is no fitness center and the pool is a soaker, not a swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    151
    31
    18
    10
See reviews for
79
187
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here back In December after a recommendation from a friend who lives nearby. Its not centrally located, but via buses etc you can get into town in 15-20 mins. The suburban feel is nice, and you walk to the Alberta arts district pretty easily. Plenty to see and do right on your doorstep!

The building itself is a school conversion. It maintains the look and feel of just how it was when it was full of kids. I think its a triumph. Too often old buildings are displaced with new, more profitable interpretations but this stays true to its routes while also providing guests with novel angle on a place to stay. I understand there's a modern annexe now, but it wasn't open when i was there. I also think it means that the local community don't feel too detached from it. As such, those living nearby are allowed to use the soaking pool and of course all the other fantastic facilities such as the various restaurants, bars and cinema (which i enjoyed twice FOC)

My room was an old grocery shop. Big windows, warm, large space, weird chalk boards everywhere. No tv, which was good and bad in both ways.

I think the hotel represents a great attempt to be a bit more than a place for transient people. It always seemed full even when the rooms perhaps weren't. They've worked hard to create a destination, and that will have consequences to guests and locals alike, but for me it works really well and i'd love to see something like it in the UK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We used to love the Kennedy School. Old and quirky, classroom chalkboards and wonky spaces, it was an interesting and playful place to be.

They've since added a new wing which is, well, NEW. It sounds and smells new. It is a highly manufacttured effort at charm. Some new rooms are TINY. Not a chalkboard to be found.

With the added rooms has come crowding. It's gone from feeling like a happy find to just another business herding people through. You don't really get to enjoy the old building with the cost of your stay, just go stand in another line.

That said, the staff is top notch. They seem well versed in dealing with the disappointment of long-time. customers. Sadly, they just can't make the place what it used to be.

For a comfy bed and a parking space, there are plenty of other options.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've stayed at many McMenamin's properties over the years, solo, coupled, and with kids.
Everything was up to expectations except the pool situation. We had chosen Kennedy School specifically to take advantage of the soaking pool. This is nothing like the Edgefield pool.
Hotel guests only from 8-10 in the morning? Really? The rest of the time it was overpacked with people. It's a great premise to give back to the neighborhood (neighbors can use the pool free by showing id)
Exploring the grounds, the movie theater, restaurant, bars are typical McMenamins....fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at McMenamins during a workshop and was terribly disappointed. The rooms do not have televisions and have odd artwork and light fixtures. The halls are dimly lit with upside lighting that is creepy and casts foreboding shadows. Maybe the decorators thought it would be clever or even eclectic, but unless you have a head full of dreadlocks or drive a Volkswagon van from the 60's it is neither. I thought the food was edible until the last evening when I ordered a pastrami sanwich on a pretzel roll with fries and I developed food poisoning. Great way to end my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I love that this "hotel" is an old elementary school. It's fun walking around the building and visiting the bars and restaurant in it, and they've done a great job making it look nice. Our room was neat--an old classroom with high ceilings and walls covered in chalkboard. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean, and the soaking pool outside was pretty and relaxing. I feel like the price was a little steep--guess you pay extra for the novelty factor.

My main issue with our stay here was the noise level. Perhaps it's the big, echo-y hallways and rooms, but we could hear practically everything in the hall outside our room and in our neighbors room. Our next-door neighbors appeared to be a group of boys who were part of a wedding party that rented out part of the hotel, and they were up until about 4am, which meant that we, too, were up until about 4am, listening to them be drunk, rowdy, and throw up. Not cute. We notified the hotel staff who said they would ask the neighbors to quiet down, but we didn't notice a difference.

So, yeah, novel place to stay, and perhaps some of the rooms are in quieter locations than ours was, but I definitely wished I'd gotten a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We hosted our company winter party in the Gymnasium and I was really pleased. The catering staff were easy to work with and accomodated some unusual requests on our part. Our lead server made sure to connect with me often during our event and addressed all of my needs from heating and lighting to pre-purchased gift cards. My husband and I stayed the night along with my boss and her spouse. The rooms were comfortable, though they didn't provide robes for the soaking pool as they do at their other properties and the building is noisy at night, even in the new wing.

Room Tip: The Ramona room was really cute and a fun reminder of the books I read as a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Jupiter Hotel
#57 of 133 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#21 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Address: 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#34 Family Hotel in Portland
#43 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Kennedy School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.