We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Orange County, CA
1 review
“Definitely stay here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Extremely clean, courteous and friendly staff, recently renovated, Aveda bath products, excellent dining, in-room goodies and small bar available for a fee, flat screen tv, and Hollywood Art Deco theme throughout the hotel. My teenaged daughter loved it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    289
    50
    29
    16
See reviews for
115
640
91
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stay at Hotel deLuxe when visiting family in Portland. We like the super-friendly staff, the cleanliness, the location (within walking distance of downtown, Powell's, the Pearl District). The bar has a dark and cozy atmosphere and the overall ambiance is just elegant enough without being stuffy. We prefer the King rooms which are a tiny bit larger than the Queen rooms which we find a bit too small. There is self-parking in a garage just next door -- cheaper than the valet sdervice and almost just as easy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrady
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

This hotel has completely blown my husband and I away. We came to Portland for our two year anniversary and stayed at the Hotel deLuxe after reading all of the reviews. We could have not made a better choice!

Not only was the hotel a short walk from all attractions and downtown, but it was an even shorter walk to the free public transportation that would take you anywhere you needed to go.

Not to mention that hotel staff that has been nothing but accommodating, friendly, and constantly willing to help. All one must do is press the "Make it So" button on the telephone (the button my husband abused to the fullest) and they are willing to help with recommending food in close proximity to the hotel, replacing your pillow with a firmer, softer, longer, etc. pillow, room service, directions, etc. They found out toward the end of our trip that it was our anniversary and the lady at the front desk (Alexis) insisted that we leave the room for 20 minutes so they could spread rose petals on our bed and provide us with chocolates. It was little touches like this that made our trip to Portland so incredibly unforgettable. By far the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Not only that, but the hotel's theme of old movies was so charming! Each floor had a different director as a theme and the entire hotel was littered with pictures from old movies. Each room also has a picture in it from its floor's theme. As we entered our room for the first time, there was lovely music coming from the radio that sounded like it was straight out of a movie from the 50s.

The room we stayed in was a pretty small version of their rooms. Our room was barely big enough for our bed, a desk, and a dresser. It was small, but good enough for us. But the bed! Oh, the bed! You just sunk into the mattress and could easily curl up under the incredible down comforter. The bed was a pleasure to come back to after a hard, long day of roaming the streets in Portland. It was just as good as being in my own bed.

The only down-side I would comment on is that because the hotel is so old (opened in 1912, I think), the walls are pretty thin. We did hear a few neighbors slamming doors. But, it did not take away from our experience in any way. Just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

In mid-April 2009 we enjoyed a three-night special (one-night free) at Hotel deLuxe and found every aspect of our experience to be quite satisfying. This was our first trip to Portland and we were looking for relaxing accommodations after a 10 day photo tour road trip beginning in Yosemite and coming up the California and Oregon coast. From the moment we were greeted by very nice doormen and reception staff until we departed using our final car valet service, we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. We live in Virginia and are widely traveled in the U.S. and abroad. There are many fine hotels around the world with accommodations and staff featuring all the bell-and-whistles, but Hotel deLuxe Portland comes across with the right stuff: good location in downtown Portland; quality, responsive service; immaculate, comfortable rooms; and staff manning the doors and front desk and housekeeping who care about their guests and their concerns. They convey interest in our travel objectives and issues and relate to us as people, not simply as transient customers. The style and sensitivities of the people who operate Hotel deLuxe at every level seem to represent a microcosm of the welcoming spirit of Portland. A solid and comfortable established hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and I loved Hotel deLuxe. The rooms were immaculate, the service was excellent and the ambience was lovely and unique.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I have both traveled a lot for business and leisure. We both really liked this hotel. From the moment our car door was opened, to the moment it was closed, the service was outstandingly warm, helpful, and friendly - not fake, not pretentious - the real deal! Not normally into kitschy themed hotels, I wasn't expecting to really get in to the Hollywood spin on the place, but as soon as we walked up the stairs into the lobby I felt like I had been transported to another world - and it felt good.

I asked for a view when I booked the room - and we got it. Thank you! We had a 6th floor room overlooking downtown. Perfect!! The bed was comfy, the room and particularly bathroom, were clean, no complaints there. I never get why people complain about room size - it was smaller, yes, but really what do you need? We had a king and the room felt just fine. European sized is fine by us.

As a business traveler I would have found the business center useful as well as the free wireless (that is so key to a good stay anymore). Coffee machine in the room when you don't feel like searching out caffeine. Ironing board, blow dryer, nice Aveda supplies, table and chair for working.

We liked the location - walking distance on a sunny weekend to both the Pearl District and Nob Hill. We miss living in a walkable city - so that was great. If I was a solo female traveler or it had been raining, the location may not have seemed so great, but it is right on the rail line, you can rent a car and valet it, or you can cab it.

Our only complaint - the first night we heard a lot of water noise. The bathroom walls seemed thin. Even though our heads were next to a cleaning closet, it seemed like someone's bathroom was right there - we heard baths being run, people doing things people do in bathrooms, etc. That is the only thing we had to complain about and in an old building I am not sure what one would do about it. The second night we didn't hear any water noises - so were please with that.

One of the main reasons we chose this place is because of the reviews, needing some peaceful r&r, and not wanting to hear too-cool-for-school folks partying all night. We were very pleased with our stay and would stay again if we find ourselves in lovely Portland.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Service was wonderful and the room was spotless but the queen room was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in. We were just there for one night so it wasn't a huge deal but for more than one night you might want to spring for a larger room if you're sharing with a friend or partner. Loved the robes, the Aveda bath products, the iPod clock radio, and the pillow menu. It's also a great location - a little out of the downtown core so it seems quieter but it's close to transit and walking distance to the Pearl. Wireless not free - it's definitely time to change that policy!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.