We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, the best service ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overall, the best service ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have been traveling for over 45 years for business and pleasure and the service staff at the Hotel DeLuxe was way above almost any of my experiences. Everyone occasionally finds an exceptional experience with one or two staff people but this last stay was pure pleasure. Every single staff person was on top of their game. I can not wait to return.

Room Tip: You do want to ask for a mini-suite. The two rooms are a comfortable upgrade worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
I'm always so thrilled to know when we truly impress discerning travelers such as yourself; we strive every single to day to give every one of our guests a posh experience, and that first and foremost begins with the staff. I will make sure to pass your kind words onto them and we will see you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    267
    48
    28
    15
See reviews for
100
607
86
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This place was lovely. Staff was great. Driftwood Lounge is super cool, a must visit! On Sundays, they make special drinks from their herb garden. We dropped in for late night happy hour after arriving; the food was incredible! It's only 2 blocks from the light rail and a very easy walk to the Pearl District, river front, etc. It took us about 45 minutes from the airport. We had a small corner room but it was still super cute. We were even right by the elevator but barely heard it. The staff was gracious and helpful. All around great experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself while staying at Hotel deLuxe. One of the great pleasures of arriving later in the evening is finding yourself in the middle of our daily late night happy hour in the Driftwood Room. And it's not just Sunday but everyday that we serve up fantastic seasonal cocktails featuring herbs from our garden and honey from our rooftop bee apiary! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very friendly staff, best location, superb food, and super clean and comfy bed. Have stayed here for many time and each 20nights at least.

Walking distance to everywhere, rose garden, Japanese garden, pioneer square, and shopping area. The river park is gorgeous with superb view, especially during cherry blossom.

Still in love with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Wow, what kind words! It is a real pleasure to know that we have been able to make you feel comfortable for such extended stays. Thank you for making us your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved this hotel, its location, its decor, its excellent breakfast and dinner, and its neat little bar. The staff were gracious, very helpful in giving advice and directions. It is within easy walking distance to Pioneer Square and even easier access to public transportation (including a free bus to the lovely Japanese Gardens). Convenient parking (although at $30 a day it should be.) Definitely where we will stay when we come back to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Charm isn't easy to come by these days, so I'm happy we could deliver during your trip! Thank you for joining us both in Gracie's and in the Driftwood Room, we love for our guests to experience the very different but classic vibes that either establishment delivers. And I'm so happy you took advantage of the Washington Park shuttle that picks up a few blocks from us! The International Test Rose Gardens, Japanese Gardens, Oregon Zoo, and a myriad of other attractions are right in our backyard and the shuttle certainly makes getting there that much easier. We will see you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Hotel deLuxe took very good care of us during our stay in Portland. The staff was courteous, the rooms were excellent, and the breakfasts were both tasty and reasonably priced by hotel standards. Finally the location was perfect for our needs, close to downtown and Portland's marvelous public transportation system. When we get back to Portland, we know where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I love that we were able to help you feel taken care of during your trip to the City of Roses. It sounds like you got to know Trimet, Porltand's fantastic transit system, which is such a great way to see the city. I'm glad that Portland impressed you enough to inspire a return, and doubly glad you will be staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were scheduled to spend four nights at the deLuxe, but my husband had a bicycling accident and surgery in Hood River the day before our scheduled arrival. His cycling friends checked him into the hotel and left. The staff gave him a heating pad, made sure he had food and was comfortable before I arrived the next day. We wearied of room service but my husband couldn't walk; finally I thought to ask for a wheelchair so we could at least get out of the room. The hotel was more than happy to oblige. Long story short, the staff really took good care of us.
The deLuxe is a very nice hotel: quiet rooms (we were on the back side), very good housekeeping, nice furnishings. Gracie's restaurant has a good selection of wines, small plates, salads, larger entrees and desserts (we were lucky to get in-season marionberry pie). We didn't try the bar (which also serves food); the lounge was a nice place to hang out, even in a wheelchair. Thank you to everyone at Hotel deLuxe for being so good to us! We will be back, on our feet, for a real visit soon.

Room Tip: We had an accessible room on the 5th floor with two queen beds. It was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I'm so sorry that your trip was marred by such an unfortunate accident, but certainly glad to know that we were able to help you and your husband feel cared for as he recovered. We try to keep wheelchairs and crutches handy for exactly these kinds of unexpected occurrences! I certainly understand it can get a little tiresome to dine in your room day after day, so it's excellent that you took advantage of our restaurant; I hope the old word ambiance and fresh cuisine of Gracie's was relaxing enough to help your husband recuperate that much faster. We will see you again soon, and next time we'll make sure to have all sorts of suggestions for you to explore Portland on foot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. This is an old building that has been totally renovated with an interesting Hollywood theme. My room was small, but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Cool restaurant and bar in the hotel with some great drink specials. The staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walk to downtown. Only downside is that it's a bit noisy. Being that it's an older building, you'll here water running and toilets flushing. The light rail runs adjacent to the hotel and you can hear the grinding up until midnight. If you're noise sensitive, this isn't your place. If the noise issue doesn't bother you, then it's a great choice.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask to be kept away from the street adjacent to the light rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I thank you for taking into consideration the age of our building when assessing the noise level. While some of our rooms are located off of the light rail track, we are happy to assist in finding other options for guests who are sensitive to the sound. I'm quite happy to know that you found your room comfortable during your three day stay, and certainly pleased you found yourself in the position to have a few drinks and snacks in the Driftwood Room. Our twice-a-day happy hour is here to stay, but we will be sure to have all new libations for you to enjoy when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.