We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of chain hotels for business events? Try going deLuxe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Save Saved
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 132 hotels in Portland
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tired of chain hotels for business events? Try going deLuxe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our business meeting brought discerning folks from around the country. And everyone had nothing but great things to say about this "Classic Hollywood" themed hotel. Our meeting room/Screening Room was sound proof, classy and well attended by the servers. Lindsay took excellent care of us setting up dinners and unique Portlandia events.
Gracie's, the restaurant, was outstanding for the food and value. They also catered the room service meals and when I got my bill, I thought they made a mistake...the lowest room service cost I ever experienced for a dinner...and it was delicious.
The room was Hollywood-esque with the best air conditioning system I experience in Portland...a good thing since the temps hit the 90's.
Thick sheets on the bed, a unique robe, and a tasteful bathroom.
My business clients raved about their stay not to mention the Driftwood Bar that looked like it fell out of an episode of Mad Men. Who knew there were so many bitters? Make sure you try the barrel tastings for the Whiskeys and Manhattans.

Room Tip: Every room was unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    247
    47
    28
    14
See reviews for
94
562
82
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Another great night's stay at Hotel Deluxe. As others have said, the friendliness and courtesy begin when the parking attendants open you car door for you. Reception desk staff are great, too. We like the king feature rooms. We find that the bigger room is worth the extra price. No matter what room you stay in, you will love the comfortable beds! One of our favorite things about the De Luxe is its location. You are just far enough away from the hubbub of downtown to dull most of the noise, but if you want to go to Nordstrom, Pioneer Square, or the theater, it's an easy walk. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious. And it's such a lovely room! Portland has so many wonderful restaurants to choose from for dinner though that we just have breakfast at the hotel. We love this hotel and will, of course stay again on our next visit to Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the moment you walk into the Hotel deLuxe you are transported to the timeless elegance of an old Grand Hotel. The tasteful decor, beautifully appointed rooms, incredible attention to detail, fantastic staff and gorgeous photos from the history of cinema are truly divine. The hotel is easy walking distance from great shopping, restaurants and the TriMet, which is easy to use. We loved our stay in Portland - (Japanese Garden is a must!) and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel had a lot of charm, but much like an eccentric old relative, we had to tiptoe around in our room to avoid bumping into it.

Pros: Walking into the lobby, past smiling doormen, you would be forgiven for thinking you'd been teleported into a glamorous black and white past. Reception staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

Cons: The room we stayed in, at well over $150 a night, was decently appointed, but we felt like we were in New York City, it was so tiny. Too much furniture stuffed in too small a space. We didn't feel claustrophobic, but we were glad that we were just sleeping there. If we had had to spend much time in the room, I doubt we would have been happy campers.

Wifi is not included, generally. We got a special deal that included it. This is the 21st century. Unless you have a restrictive contract with a vendor, which I don't believe is the case here, suck it up and give people free wifi. It's damn near a human right now.

Hotel Deluxe is a very nice little hotel and I certainly can't say that it is not a good place to stay, but if we returned to Portland, we would probably look for another option before rebooking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We took two premier rooms at the Hotel Deluxe for two nights in July while visiting Portland and doing a day trip to Mount St Helens (a volcano well worth a visit). I chose the hotel because I was travelling with one of my nephews who is a film buff and I thought he'd appreciate the movie theming - which he did.

The hotel is well located for walking around Portland. You can get to the famous Rose Garden in a few minutes as well as downtown. There are lots of eating places, shops and bars in the not too distant vicinity.

Our rooms were spacious, but my brother and his partner, who took a regular double, said his room was rather small. The bathrooms are small and rather basic. The fabric of the hotel is a bit dated - no double glazing, so the bedroom windows are lined with chicken wire for safety - but this was made up for by the movie stills and other cinematic accoutrements that pepper the building and that give it unique character. I believe there is even a cinema on the top floor.

The restaurant served good food at dinner time and has a number of tables with padded curved banquettes in keeping with the movie theatre theme. Breakfast was fine as well. I didn't use the bar, but it looked atmospheric.

Desk staff, who doubled up as concierges, were friendly and helpful. Valet parking was available and well serviced.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great staff, clean hotel and restaurant, nice rooms. Convenient location, easy to get to/from airport, or mostly anywhere else on TriMet. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, stores, and the waterfront. Portland is beautiful, and I certainly felt safe walking all around the area alone. Easy to get a cab with a call to the front desk otherwise. Overall, superb value for our stay.

Room Tip: I'd try for an exterior room. Our view was of windows to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is deluxe in every respect: the staff, the rooms, the decor throughout the entire establishment (lobby, restaurants, rooms, hallways). The decor was tasteful, engaging, and artistically presented, a beautiful museum of old Hollywood. Our dinner at Gracie's restaurant in the hotel was outstanding: ambiance, food quality with the use of local fresh ingredients and attractive presentation. For our 2nd night we wanted to try something different, and the desk clerk recommended an excellent Italian bistro right around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask! The staff is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.