We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go for the Bathroom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Save Saved
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 132 hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't go for the Bathroom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel overall. Very clean, had everything one expects in a great hotel except for the bathroom size. I could not stand in front of the sink to dry my hair and not get my arms caught in the shower curtain! Commode so jammed between wall and bathtub that a large person would have trouble using it. Hotel room itself was also small but not as cramped. However, staff can make a big difference when staying for the first time in a new city and Hotel DeLuxe had a wonderful reception desk staff that helped with directions and ideas, found restaurants with available tables on a busy weekend, and remembered who we were (guess I am not used to boutique hotels!) Ditto the car valets. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was less even but overall good. Equally far from both Pearl, Downtown and "artistic" districts but only a 10-15 minute walk to all and VERY close to Portland's light rail system. We stayed at the Marriot Riverside the first night (get a river view) and would consider staying there again before the Hotel DeLuxe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It is good to know you were pleased with so many aspects of your stay. Being a historic property, we do have a variety of different sizes of rooms. We hope you will choose to return and will make certain you are 100% satisfied. I am confident we can find a room that meets you needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    251
    47
    28
    15
See reviews for
96
573
84
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a fun, unique hotel that creates a fun golden age of Hollywood atmosphere but the trade off is tiny rooms (not all but most), just adequate A/C (we had to bring our own fan to supplement and the minimum temp was only 67 that you could set), and some noise (talking) from adjacent rooms. Really wanted to give the hotel 3 stars but it gets point for creating an entertaining milieu. Also was disappointed that coffee in the lobby was not available until 8 AM. There is coffee in the room but you have to use those creamers and it's never as good. 8 AM is too late to begin coffee service. The dining room and lobby are very nice but our room was called "A Deluxe King" and it was smaller than any hotel room I've been in short of New York City of Tokyo. The bathroom was extremely small to the point where using the toilet was a bit of a challenge. If you can secure a larger room this hotel is probably a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's larger than the standard, particularly as far as the bathroom goes. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am glad to hear you found us entertaining, fun and unique! We do have a variety of different room types and with so many options, we are confident we can find a room that you would enjoy when you next visit. We will address your other concerns. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermal, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel deLuxe for a romantic weekend. We purchased one of their weekend packages. Really excited by the images on their web site. The lobby and bar was fun and dynamic. The amenities were ok. Our room was disappointing because it was microscopic and the food was awful. Never been in a hotel room that small. The brunch veggie hash, $12 + tip, that was an oily and bland mess. The breakfast special was not much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Please accept my sincere apology for your experience not leaving you 100% satisfied. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the bar and lobby. I have made note of your other comments and will share them with staff so that we may use them for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had an incredible experience staying at Hotel deluxe for 5 nights. The staff was wonderful - polite, helpful and quick to respond to anything we asked. The room was delightful - well decorated, with all of the modern amenities yet with all of the character of a vintage hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. Close to the MAX light rail (connecting downtown Portland to the airport, east and west counties), and within walking distance to the wonderful attractions of the city of Portland. We highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on future trips to Portland.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views of Portland and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share you experience at Hotel deLuxe. We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your experience. We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests so they leave 100% satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying for three nights at this great hotel. Immediately upon walking in, you view the "moving screen" with scenes from the great movies of the past. The location is superb. Can walk to all districts within 10 - 15 minutes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was fabulous. We had a corner room on the 4th floor. Upon entering we were stunned by the wrap around windows, warm yellow and green color scheme. The bed was large and very comfy and the pillow selection was great. The bathroom was kind of small and there wasn't a lot of space for toiletries. The bar, while trying to be a walk back in time to the era of the 50's night club, was a bit too dark for our taste. However, the bartender was great, offering many suggestions for places to eat. All in all, we would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on one of the upper floors. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at Hotel deLuxe and enjoyed our centralized location. We are also glad to hear you were pleased with our service. Your positive feedback is most valuable to us. Brunch in Gracie’s is very popular local experience, and I hope you take the chance to try it next time you are here as it has more natural light from the windows than Driftwood with the same level of great service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This short trip to Portland, OR was a "get-away-from-the-ordinary" birthday celebration. We live in Vancouver, WA, just north of the Columbia, but as anyone who is familiar with Portland knows, it is anything but ordinary and a whole planet away from Vancouver. This hotel was the perfect respite for us. Loved the decor and the palm trees near the front entrance. The staff was very pleasant, professional and accommodating. Be prepared to pay extra for most everything "extra"; but I asked for a complimentary room upgrade and complimentary wireless in room and was given both. We had a lovely room on the 7th floor with a nice view to the east and north; the windows open, (just a bit) that was nice; king bed, very comfortable; roomy bathroom with tub and tiled floor. Wished some of the space from the bath could have been in the bedroom since it was very tight between the bed and dresser. But we got along fine, just 2 of us, and had everything we needed. As others have commented, the towels are amazing! The softest most luxurious towels I've ever had in a hotel.
Parking is extra, like most downtown hotels in Portland, but absolutely worth it. It was directly across the street, covered, gated and attended so we felt our car was safe. We self-parked, but valet is just $4 more. On checkout at noon, we were allowed to leave our car in the garage until 5 pm. That was great since we planned to walk downtown that day. We enjoyed the short walk to downtown from the hotel. The Hotel deLuxe, is an historic, iconic, very "Portland" hotel and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. It sounds as if we accomplished this for your celebratory weekend. I am so glad that you enjoyed the property as well as the towels! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel deLuxe in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

this place, was not to bad, very pretty to look at. My only issue is the room was really really tiny, and so was the bed. Im a big guy, but my wife is tiny, and we had a rough night sharing the small bed. Also the iron would not stay plugged in the wall, so i had to hold the plug in the socket, while she did the ironing. Also the hotel restaurant filled up and could not serve us, so we had to drive someplace...which was not to bad, just a litte inconvenient. the building is really old, and it has the old hollywood charm, but there is something to say for modern things. i stayed in an old hotel like this in Sydney Aus, and we had the same problems, when someone flushes the toilet or turns on the water, you can hear it running through the walls. its just something you have to deal with if you stay in an old place. All in all, not a bad place, i just need a bigger room if i go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share you experience with us. Your support and feedback is important. We will use it to improve the experience for future guests. We have a number of different room types and are happy to take time to find a room that meets each guests needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel deLuxe when you next visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.