We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Save Saved
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 132 hotels in Portland
Chesterfield, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had an incredible experience staying at Hotel deluxe for 5 nights. The staff was wonderful - polite, helpful and quick to respond to anything we asked. The room was delightful - well decorated, with all of the modern amenities yet with all of the character of a vintage hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. Close to the MAX light rail (connecting downtown Portland to the airport, east and west counties), and within walking distance to the wonderful attractions of the city of Portland. We highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on future trips to Portland.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views of Portland and lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share you experience at Hotel deLuxe. We are very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your experience. We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests so they leave 100% satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    247
    47
    28
    14
See reviews for
94
562
82
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying for three nights at this great hotel. Immediately upon walking in, you view the "moving screen" with scenes from the great movies of the past. The location is superb. Can walk to all districts within 10 - 15 minutes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was fabulous. We had a corner room on the 4th floor. Upon entering we were stunned by the wrap around windows, warm yellow and green color scheme. The bed was large and very comfy and the pillow selection was great. The bathroom was kind of small and there wasn't a lot of space for toiletries. The bar, while trying to be a walk back in time to the era of the 50's night club, was a bit too dark for our taste. However, the bartender was great, offering many suggestions for places to eat. All in all, we would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on one of the upper floors. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at Hotel deLuxe and enjoyed our centralized location. We are also glad to hear you were pleased with our service. Your positive feedback is most valuable to us. Brunch in Gracie’s is very popular local experience, and I hope you take the chance to try it next time you are here as it has more natural light from the windows than Driftwood with the same level of great service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This short trip to Portland, OR was a "get-away-from-the-ordinary" birthday celebration. We live in Vancouver, WA, just north of the Columbia, but as anyone who is familiar with Portland knows, it is anything but ordinary and a whole planet away from Vancouver. This hotel was the perfect respite for us. Loved the decor and the palm trees near the front entrance. The staff was very pleasant, professional and accommodating. Be prepared to pay extra for most everything "extra"; but I asked for a complimentary room upgrade and complimentary wireless in room and was given both. We had a lovely room on the 7th floor with a nice view to the east and north; the windows open, (just a bit) that was nice; king bed, very comfortable; roomy bathroom with tub and tiled floor. Wished some of the space from the bath could have been in the bedroom since it was very tight between the bed and dresser. But we got along fine, just 2 of us, and had everything we needed. As others have commented, the towels are amazing! The softest most luxurious towels I've ever had in a hotel.
Parking is extra, like most downtown hotels in Portland, but absolutely worth it. It was directly across the street, covered, gated and attended so we felt our car was safe. We self-parked, but valet is just $4 more. On checkout at noon, we were allowed to leave our car in the garage until 5 pm. That was great since we planned to walk downtown that day. We enjoyed the short walk to downtown from the hotel. The Hotel deLuxe, is an historic, iconic, very "Portland" hotel and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. Our staff is always looking to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and accommodate them during their stay anyway they can. It sounds as if we accomplished this for your celebratory weekend. I am so glad that you enjoyed the property as well as the towels! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel deLuxe in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

this place, was not to bad, very pretty to look at. My only issue is the room was really really tiny, and so was the bed. Im a big guy, but my wife is tiny, and we had a rough night sharing the small bed. Also the iron would not stay plugged in the wall, so i had to hold the plug in the socket, while she did the ironing. Also the hotel restaurant filled up and could not serve us, so we had to drive someplace...which was not to bad, just a litte inconvenient. the building is really old, and it has the old hollywood charm, but there is something to say for modern things. i stayed in an old hotel like this in Sydney Aus, and we had the same problems, when someone flushes the toilet or turns on the water, you can hear it running through the walls. its just something you have to deal with if you stay in an old place. All in all, not a bad place, i just need a bigger room if i go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share you experience with us. Your support and feedback is important. We will use it to improve the experience for future guests. We have a number of different room types and are happy to take time to find a room that meets each guests needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel deLuxe when you next visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, excellent service and food. Close to the stadium, a little bit far away from city center, with big mall at 15 minutes walk and river promenade at 20/25 minutes........................................

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay - especially our service and food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel deluxe when you next visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My fiance had stayed at this hotel recently and not enjoyed his stay at all. He'd been given a room that was the size of a matchbox, and even though he'd asked for a quiet room, they'd given him extremely noisy neighbors. Well, the manager gave my fiance a one-night credit so we thought we'd give it another shot. Wow, were we impressed.

Like others have said, the 1930's feel of the hotel is really special. The hotel is set in a very quiet neighborhood, which is nice. It is still walking distance to downtown Portland, and the Alphabet district, so it is the best of both worlds. We did have repeated snafus with one staff member, but as I said, the manager was very responsive and did a really good job in looking after us.

The only meal we ate at the restaurant was brunch and it was amazing. The music is very romantic and makes for a tranquil and pleasant meal. I could have sat there for hours.

One of the great things about the room we had, which was an exterior room - they have rooms that surround the courtyard and those are smaller - was that it was so bright. We really loved the amount of natural light that made it into our room in the day. On that note, the bathtub was excellent too.

I wasn't a big fan of the cocktails in their bar. Their specials were all a bit odd for my taste; I think they've gone a bit overboard with the current trend in bitters.

I would definitely stay again and told my fiance I don't want to stay anywhere else when we visit Portland.

Room Tip: Rooms on the exterior of the building are bigger with more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad to hear you were overall pleased this time and will make the Hotel deLuxe your home away from home when you visit Portland. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the 3rd time my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Deluxe. We enjoy the charm and décor of the hotel. The Happy Hour is also very good. The rooms can be a little small, but not uncomfortable by any means. The towels in the bathroom are the softest I have ever used (at a hotel, or at home). The staff is always ready to help with any request. I would always recommend the Deluxe to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am very glad to know you enjoyed our property as well as the service. We have a terrific staff so you can always find someone to take care of your needs. I am happy to know you enjoyed Happy Hour at the Driftwood Room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the deLuxe next time you are in Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Spa Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.