We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Save Saved
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Room & Free Wifi
Ranked #5 of 132 hotels in Portland
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing stay, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a summer trip to Portland and came unprepared. We stayed here and the rooms were amazing. A little small but very nice. Comfortable beds and a great location. Central and parking right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It sounds as though you truly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very happy to know that. We do agree we have a great location. Equal walking distance to all of the key areas to visit in the central downtown area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
T. Block
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    649
    232
    43
    27
    14
See reviews for
89
538
80
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great, great accommodation in Portland. Central to everything - we walked to dinner each night. The staff were beyond accommodating and helpful with directions and dinner recommendations. We became friends with them by the end of our trip :)

The rooms were clean, and fun with a dominant "film" theme throughout - we had Casablanca.

I would highly recommend.

The only down fall was the high cost of parking (valet - which was merely across the street).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you were able to have an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and are delighted to hear your every need was taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you back to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel deLuxe is located southwest of downtown Portland, near a Tri-Met red line stop. It has a classic Hollywood movie theme, with framed stills of famous scenes and actors adorning the walls throughout the hotel. The building is older, but the rooms have been updated and are very comfortable. All the hotel staff I encountered were very helpful. There are numerous restaurants, bars and coffee houses all within walking distance. The Driftwood Room at the deLuxe has friendly and talented bartenders that are very attentive and a good happy hour from 4 to 6:30, that picks up again at 9:30. The only drawback is that it is really, really dark in there; so dark that patrons and even staff (at times) were tripping over unseen objects in their paths. Overall, a good stay in a convenient location. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at Hotel deLuxe and enjoyed our centralized location.We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our theme. We have over 400 curated photos throughout the public areas and guestrooms. It can be very fasinating those with an interest in classic Hollywood. The Driftwood Room is a classic 1950's bar, restored to its original state. Part of the creating the atmoshere of a classic cocktail bar is the low light. We do have small flashlights available for reading menus, as needed. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife, son (16) and myself were travelling to PDX and had rooms at the deLuxe. I arrived a day early and they had us in a room with one queen bed; not quite what we needed. They did a great job getting us a new suite that allowed us all to sleep comfortably. Generally, the staffing was outstanding - all very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is very cool - strong retro feel with what my wife called Renovation Hardware Plus fixtures. An older hotel, but not at all dated. Love the Aveda bath supplies! Only complaint is that the rooms are noisy. We could hear the dog down the hall; the bathrooms from the people on either side of us and above us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share you experience. We are glad to hear that oveall you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and make every effort to address issues as they arise. Noisy neighbors can be bothersome and we are always happy to move rooms in order to find one our guests are most comfortable in. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Portland. I have made a note of your preference for a quiet room, and will make sure we take care of this during you next visit.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel deLuxe Portland during a business trip. I was thrilled at how modern & comfortable the room felt; it felt like a loft apartment instead of a hotel room. I had a corner unit which was flooded with natural light by banks of HUGE windows. The decor was contemporary; the room was spacious and clean and had a HUGE walk in closet - something you don't typically find in hotel, let alone a classic old building! The view from my room wasn't so great (2nd floor looked onto the roof of a different building) but that was to be expected by the price point I paid (basic room). The window treatments allowed for bright filtered light, so the view was no problem at all. This was by far the nicest "basic room" I've ever stayed in - and I stay in a lot of hotels! The food at the restaurant was very good quality with a diverse menu.

Room Tip: Corner room - spacious & tons of natural light. Higher floors have better views, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandon oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel forever. When it was the Mallory and run the masons it was camp with the twenties furniture and the single beds. The movie theme is great as I am a film buff. Room size varies . Get the bigger rooms Spend the money and live. Rooms are perfectly clean. The driftwood lounge is the place to be after hours. Breakfast is always perfect. I always hate to leave and tell the valet to get my car. Can I stay another night go to powells and have another night cap at the driftwood please?

Room Tip: Get a room on the south east corner for perfect sunrises!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is great. From the moment we checked in Maddie and the girls at reception took care of us. The bartender was cool, gave us great advice on places to go and fixed a mean drink. The location was perfect (right off the red line). I had a corner room and and for a couple of mornings i know i had the best view in the city. Thanks Hotel Deluxe and Portland for an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.