We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We look forward to deLuxe as much as Portland itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel deLuxe to your Saves list
Hotel deLuxe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We look forward to deLuxe as much as Portland itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's a no brainer when we go to Portland, Hotel deLuxe is our only choice. We've stayed there twice and been happy both times. It's a really fun hotel -- the rooms are thematic based on golden era Hollywood, which not only is fun, it's well done, the rooms are lovely and comfortable. Given it's an older building, some of the cheaper rooms are pretty small, but deLuxe is so attentive to detail that it doesn't detract from the experience. The location is great too; not right in the mix, but we walk to Pioneer Square and the Pearl District with no problem, and it's an easy drive anywhere you need to go. Plus there's the lightrail stop a few blocks away that makes life easy too. Finally and our very favorite part, is the Driftwood Bar. It's the best, terrific old fashioned cocktails, awesome happy hour prices and ambiance (again, old school Hollywood), and the food!!! I crave their macaroni and cheese and skillet field mushrooms constantly. We can't wait to go back in February and stay there again. We always consider other spots that would suit us well (the Nines, for example), but always end up back at the deLuxe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    289
    51
    29
    16
See reviews for
115
641
91
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barwon Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a find! This is place is perched on the edge of Downtown and the Pearl District and the North West. From the moment you are greeted by the door staff, you are immaculately looked after. Check-in was pleasant and smooth and friendly. The room was a little small, but was well appointed and clean. My bottle opener broke and it was replaced within three minutes after a quick phone down to reception - the little things like that impressed me a lot. My only gripe was that the walls were too thin. I could a couple talking in the room next to me and they were by no means yelling or being loud, but it was annoying at midnight. Other than that, I canot fault this gem of a place. The Driftwood Bar was great and the bartenders knew their stuff. If I ever come back to Portland, I will stay here again. I just Tripadvisor would allow for half-stars, because I would have rated this four and a half rather than four.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel DeLuxe lives up to its name. The Driftwood bar in the hotel is a scene in and of itself - dark lighting, a few intimate, small tables and a fantastic array of local libations and old school Hollywood cocktails. The theme of the entire hotel is Golden Age Hollywood. The decor is fun and well done, from the lobby to the art to the furniture.

We spent a couple of hours at the bar and loved it. They have incredible deals on local wines and liquor. I got a flight of Oregon bourbon with FOUR shots for $10. It's like a wine flight, only better, because it's BOURBON. Did I mention it was $10?

The bar food menu was delicious. they have several great offerings. We had the Balsamic and black pepper fries and ate every one. They have happy hour during the typical afternoon hours, and again starting at 9:30pm.

The hotel restaurant also has a great menu, and is actually a really good bargain for the quality of food and atmosphere. It was cheaper than the Pearl District restaurants we went to.

The rooms were well appointed, if a little on the small side. The bathroom was nice and spacious and had great era-appropriate fixtures. The bed was great, too. We slept well.

A note on the location - the hotel bills itself partly on location. Depending on the weather, the 10-15 minute walk to the Pearl District can be an enjoyable stroll, or a hike through driving rain or cold wind. The immediate neighborhood around the hotel isn't fantastic. To their credit, Hotel deLuxe keeps a stock of umbrellas it offers for guests to use. It was a very nice touch.

Valet and garage parking are right next door and convenient. The service was great, but it was $28 a night, $24 if you self park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a fantastic hotel, the staff was excellent, the room while antiquated was in great shape and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for single or couple travelers, as the rooms are a bit small. When I travel with my family we like to have bigger spaces.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I just got back from my trip to Portland a few days ago. My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased! We took an early flight over and arrived at the hotel around 9:30am- most hotels NEVER have the room ready and make a stink about how early you are. They definitely didn't. The room was ready, and perfect. We got the King Feature and it was VERY spacious. They give you a map upon check in and let you know what's going on around the area, and give you suggestions to restaurants.

Every person we dealt with was so incredibly friendly. The hotel is very small, but I loved it. The lobby was quaint, and they had Christmas decorations up which was great. I recommend this hotel to everyone, it's in a great location, and you can walk everywhere!

I wish I remembered more names of the employees but Tay and everyone at the bar was awesome, including the ladies at the check in counter! They even kept our bags after check out for hours, so nice!

PS! MOST COMFORTABLE BED EVER. I was shocked, the bed was the best hotel bed I've ever slept in!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor, didn't hear anything really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Here on business trip in December 2012. Staff were highly attentive, friendly, helpful. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. It's not the biggest but the quality of the rooms and the service was incredible and the price, though i wasn't paying, seemed very reasonable at about £100 B&B. It had a lovely American feel which is lost in many of the bigger chains.

And the bed was superb - rarely slept in one so comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel deLuxe twice, and recommended it to friends as well. This hotel has character, and is in a very convenient location for access to downtown shopping while being in a quiet neighborhood. I always stay in the Queen Suite, which is spacious and comfortable. Hotel service is first rate with little touches of elegance like a pillow menu to be sure you have a good sleep. Downstairs is one of Portland's hot gathering spots - the Driftwood Room, serving really great drinks and bar food. The main dining room is Gracie's and it is a lovely room with quality food.

Room Tip: I have always chosen the Queen Suite, since I like being able to have friends up for a glass of wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel deLuxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.