We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #13 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Just returned from a fantastic 3-night stay at the Hotel Vintage Plaza. This hotel has the kind of service I like the best: Attentive
but not intrusive. The lobby is beautiful - a bit like stepping back
in time, which is natural given the age of the structure. However, once you step onto the elevator things get more modern. We stayed in the Starlight Room, which includes a sloped-glass ceiling with "a view to the stars" (if the weather permits), as well as automatic blinds that open and close with the push of a switch. The room was clean and spacious, with the expected quality of bed, linens, and furniture. The location of the hotel is perfect. We did not take advantage of the public transportation, which is nearby, but did much walking around the city. The only negative is a minor one: The hotel is wine-themed, and although the nightly wine bar is a nice touch, the quality of the wines should be improved. But we overlooked
that while being hypnotized by the wonderful piano and violin concert during the 5 o'clock hour! Nearby sights: Pearl District, full of cute store in refurbished warehouses (around 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th st near Burnside); Washington Park (we walked there, but recommend the public transit) - don't miss the Japanese Gardens!
Dinner at Hubers (corner of Stark and 3rd, walking distance from Hotel).

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    174
    61
    34
    8
See reviews for
85
296
52
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

The property: great location downtown, easy access, lots within walking distance. The elevators are quick and the rooms elegantly appointed. The bathroom was big and had lots of fluffy towels, and Aveda bath products were provided. The bed is comfortable and has nice linens and lots of pillows. There was a coffee maker with good coffee, hair dryer, and robes. The alarm clock was broken, I called down and told them, but they didn't replace it the next day. The TV remote didn't work well, but I didn't bother to call about it. The walls are thin; I finally turned off the fan in the room and could hear all the bumps and movement of my fellow guests, so I turned the fan back on.

The people: smiles and help from every member of staff. The valet remembered my name, even when I lost my ticket. The maids were pleasant and did their work with no intrusion. I asked for directions and was given a printout of mapquest directions. Service is attentive but not intrusive, and I was impressed with the professionalism and courtesy of the staff. My husband ordered flowers for me that morning and they were waiting in my room when I arrived in the afternoon; that was a lovely touch and he was impressed staff delivered the flowers right to my room before my arrival.

Special goodies: The Oregonian and New York Times at the door every morning, coffee bar in the am with takeout cups, and wine bar in the evening and you can take your wine to your room. There was a toasty fire to sit by in the lobby.

I didn't use any of the services like spa, business center or exercise room so I can't advise about those.

Avoid: The restaurant in the hotel, Pazzo, had mediocre food and the service was terrible. Avoid it.

Parking is 26 dollars, and the hotel is right on the train line. If you can avoid using a car and can get by on the train you will save yourself money.

I would definitely stay here again. I enjoyed it, felt pampered without indulging in the extra services, and found the staff to be delightful.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

Boyfriend and I spent a lovely long weekend in Portland, and we couldn't have chosen a better home base than the Vintage Plaza. Everyone--from the valet guys to the front desk staff to the bartenders--was friendly, efficient, and helpful. Our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated, with lots of nice touches like animal-print bathrobes and Aveda products in the bath. The only possible weak link was the concierge, who advised us to dress up to go to a restaurant where everyone else was wearing jeans. No biggie, though. Special props to the valet guys. It was bitterly cold outside, yet they always had a smile, offered directions, and made us feel welcome and at home. Would we go back to the Vintage Plaza? In a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Great downtown location
  • Disliked — Not a thing--it was all good
  • Tips/Secrets — Pazzo Restaurant serves dinner in the adjoining bar. Great for sporting events.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We were in town for a fitness convention on Halloween weekend. Portland was fully booked (nicer hotels) and this one popped up so we booked. Hey--it wasn't so bad.

The wine reception was overrun with some real estate folks that took over the place - they were annoying and there was really no place to sit but we were fine. Lots of fun Halloween stuff going on to keep us amused.

The wine was dreadful. They had some halloween stuff from Transylvania....swill at best but kept with the weekend theme.

The concierge, front desk staff, gal who was pouring were all very very nice so no issues there.

The valet guys (ok we were two women)...were extremely nice and professional.

Our room-very cute. Nothing spectacular, a bit overpriced (again everything sold out)...but comfy.

We wanted ice cream when we got back in for the night...they found us what we wanted, some candy we wanted and were just very helpful.

Kudos.

No cont. breakfast inc. but we did use the free coffee downstairs...could've included some kind of pastries considering the room price.

All in all..it was "ok"/fine.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

This is a remodeled hotel in an old hotel building on Broadway in downtown Portland, close to the Hotel Benson. It is a Kimpton hotel, and each of these tries to have a theme. The theme at the Vintage is wine. It is a relatively small hotel with a central atrium and tasteful decor. Our room cost us $169, all taxes included, which I consider a bargain for a luxury hotel in a major city. Valet parking is available but there is a commercial indoor parking structure with security across the street for $17 per 24h. The bell men and door staff are dressed in black, with fedoras, for a 20s gangster look. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and all are a bit different. Some are named after local wineries and all have wines in the honor bar. There are lots of cool little extras, like tiger- and leopard-pattern bathrobes, and little booties to keep your feet warm. We were greeted by a cute stuffed toy dog on the bed (for f$30 you can take him home). Wireless internet is free but the business center charges about $6 per 15 minutes. The gym is located in the basement and has high quality equipment that works. Amenities are Aveda and towels and linens are luxurious. The beds are very comfortable with a profusion of pillows and more in the closetf. An excellent Italian restaurant and bakery are attached to the hotel. We only ate breakfast, which was delicious, and the breads are fantastic. Local paper is delivered to the room and the New York Times, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal are available in the lobby.

Only slight negative is that the windows don't open and we had a bit of trouble getting the heating adjusted right.

Altogether a very enjoyable and luxurious experience.

  • Liked — Thoughtful little amenities and style
  • Disliked — Windows don't open
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the larger rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

The Vintage was a great hotel, they had champaigne chilling for us in the room and rose petals on the bed, a great start to a honeymoon. The service was nice although having them park your car was very spendy. The location was great, walking distance to many different resturants and shopping.

The only downside was the lack of a view in our room, for the $300+ we laid down for the room, I thought we'd see more than the other part of the building.

  • Liked — Very nice, wonderful accomodations. The jaccuzi-bathtub was amazing!
  • Disliked — Price, lack of a view.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you secure a room with a view.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

Although I loved my stay at Kimpton's 5th Avenue suites a couple of months prior I booked a stay at Kimpton's Hotel Vintage Plaza. I booked a king-deluxe room and the room was not ready upon arrival at 3 p.m. For our inconvenience staff quickly gave us drink vouchers at the hotel lounge. Room became ready about 5 p.m and it was not a king deluxe it was a double-queen room. So we called the front desk and they brought us to another wrong room, then finally to a king deluxe but it was on a smoking floor. So after all the room-hopping we returned to the original room which actually was more spacious then the king deluxe. The staff sent up a chilled bottle of champagne for our inconvenience. Once settled in we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vintage and I was impressed how the staff quickly corrected any problems. Alaska Airline miles are also available at this Kimpton Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vintage Plaza was named one of the “World’s Best Hotels” by Travel + Leisure magazine, and Condé Nast Traveler includes the Hotel Vintage Plaza on its prestigious Gold List – the only Portland hotel to make both lists. In 2009, the hotel completed a multi-million dollar makeover. This gracious boutique hotel, adjacent to the convivial Pazzo Ristorante, is located in downtown Portland’s cultural hub, near Pioneer Square and the hip and happening Pearl District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.