We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, wonderful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 25%!
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, wonderful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

In early September I stayed at the Vintage Plaza in Portland, Oregon. I needed a place to stay because an unusually heavy thunderstorm had hit the area, and I couldn't drive to Bend. I am so glad I called the Vintage Plaza. They had a special rate that included parking. When I got there, the parking attendant was great. He literally helped me unload my full trunk, get the items I needed and he reloaded the trunk with the items I did not need. When I checked in Tamra was so kind and went above and beyond to make sure I got a very comfortable room. I was so grateful for her help in making my stay so comfortable and enjoyable. This is a great property, from location to comfort of the rooms and the great staff. I look forward to staying there again, for more than one night!

Green Features: Kimpton is very committed to sustainability and makes it easy to recycle and even offer bikes as a fun alternative to getting around town.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Timothy R - thank you for the 5 STAR review and the pleasure I had reading your review. We hope that you get to travel north from LA again soon and that we are able to serve you and your family! All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    187
    65
    34
    8
See reviews for
97
327
56
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our family of four was more than comfortable in the King Suite. This luxurious room afforded comfort and privacy with a luxurious touch, and was by far the best hotel room our family has ever stayed in. The king-sized bed was on one end of the extra long room, with a full sized bathroom (including a deep and relaxing spa tub and a glass enclosed stand up shower), a lovely "living room" area on the other end (the couch was a pull out for the kids to sleep on), and in the middle was a lovely granite bar with a sink and mini-bar, a dining room sized table, and a desk. Free wi-fi was a plus, as was the free wine hour (they did have a local beer option, as well). The food and drinks at the restaurant/bar on the ground floor were excellent quality, as well. The hotel lobby is tastefully decorated in modern yet inviting decor. Although we saw plenty of dogs in the lobby (it is a pet friendly hotel), we never heard any through the night. While this hotel has been well designed and thought out, it is the staff that makes this a hotel absolutely choosing again without a second thought. Every member was friendly, helpful, informative, and willing to go above and beyond. Great location as well, plenty of shopping, restaurants, and bars within walking distance. There is no pool, however no hotels in the area have a pool, however your own personal spa tub in the King Suite makes up for it. This hotel is a great choice, and one we will make again.

Room Tip: The King Suite was spacious and larger than some apartments.
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms have a waste bin and a recycle bin of the same size, and the shampoo/conditioner bottles are full size (attached to the wall, so the hotel staff can refill them), so cutting down on waste is easy. Of course, they remind you to conserve your towels and offer an incentive if you do so.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Rubi H.
I absolutely loved reading the detail of your experience while here at our hotel. I was thrilled to see that you and your family of four was well cared for, comfortable and treated consistently with excellence by our entire staff. Listing all of the benefits of our property and our Kimpton Standard benefits was above and beyond. It does hlep other travelers. Your comments about our team was what made my night! We truly look forward to having you back and serving you again in the future. I am blessed as our team is helpful, friendly, informative and goes above and beyond. Thank you so much for noticing and letting others know. Hurry back and Happy New Year! Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel was a pure pleasure to experience with my wife and young son. We got to explore all of PDX downtown and when we got back each day we were greeted with a free afternoon wine tasting. Great touch. The rooms at this hotel are large and old school in a good way. Very charming. And great pizza right next door. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Best Location Imaginable! Thank you!!! Loved your entire review and thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel wiht others! I appreciate all the detail that you gave about the hotel and local attractions. We do hope you hurry back and just want you to know we look forward to serving you again! Warmest Regards, Sandy Burkett GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the Vintage Plaza for 5 days over Thanksgiving and genuinely enjoyed the hotel. The location is right downtown and walkable to most attractions. The starlight room I got was very comfortable and spacious. I had 2 walls of glass to look out on downtown Portland. The staff was very friendly, especially the valets for the car. Always prompt and helpful and asked if I needed directions. The onsite parking is expensive but they tell you the rate upfront and let you know there is public parking close by which is cheaper but nowhere near as convenient. Pet friendly hotel but I only observed that in the lobby, no instances of pets running wild in the hallyway or barking in the night. Overall, I have a very pleasant experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Starlight rooms are worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Chinomad60640;
Thank you for your review that spoke of our great location and that you love our starlight rooms. We are grateful what you have shared with future travelers. Our staff is fabulous and your comments made our day. Hurry back to play in Portland. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everything about the Hotel Vintage Plaza is great. Outstanding customer service from all staff. Lovely rooms with incredibly comfortable beds. Great food and beverage - very nice to have the nightly wine reception. And finally, an excellent location. The hotel is a great choice for anyone that wants to experience Portland at it's finest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kamiak;
Reading your review brought a smile to my face and warmed my heart! You hit on everything any guest looks for in a fabulous hotel experience and I am thrilled that you see us as the best choice for experiencing the city of Portland at it's finest. Your many reviews all note fine properties, thank you for including ours in your selection. We look forward to serving you in the future, when you are ready to play in Portland again.
Warmest Regards, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have been to this hotel a few times and I have never had anything but excellent service. Free coffee, wine hour, bike rentals, clean rooms, friendly staff. They even allow friendly dogs. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Heather320 -
You deserve nothing but the best and so happy to read that you feel the same about us! We look forward to having you return soon and we will polish our Public Bikes up for your next Portland adventure. They are complimentary for all of our guests, first come first serve!
Until then let us know when we are on your calendar and thank you!!!!
Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved everything about the Vintage Plaza, the location convenience to public transportation,friendly staff, ambiance, and especially our room.It had atrium-like windows and felt like an artist's studio.Very cool.We will always stay here whenever we are in Portland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageGM, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Cataratas; Thank you for writing an amazing review to other travelers about the benefits of staying here with us at the Vintage Plaza. Location, convenience, our fabulous hotel ambiance and the best part our staff! Having you as a loyal return guest is the icing on the cake! We are thrilled to have earned your trust. Thank you and keep returning - we love to ensure you enjoy your time in Portland! All the best on your journey. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vintage Plaza was named one of the “World’s Best Hotels” by Travel + Leisure magazine, and Condé Nast Traveler includes the Hotel Vintage Plaza on its prestigious Gold List – the only Portland hotel to make both lists. In 2009, the hotel completed a multi-million dollar makeover. This gracious boutique hotel, adjacent to the convivial Pazzo Ristorante, is located in downtown Portland’s cultural hub, near Pioneer Square and the hip and happening Pearl District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.