We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great location, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
colorado
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great location, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I chose this hotel because if its location, right in the heart of Portland. It's an old hotel that has been beautifully renovated. They have free wine in the lobby between 5-6p, and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. They helped us with a hard to get extra night at the Vintage Park in Seattle for the great internet rate we already had. They have underground parking but if you are not planning on using your car they suggested another garage across the street at half the price. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an upper story room in the"14" series. It is a long room where the entrance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear ColoradoVirginia;
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of our fabulous Portland Location.... Lovely Room and the Staff's level of Genuine Care for others to see. We truly appreciate the detail that you shared with future Portland visitors. Please come back soon, thank you too for sharing your review with future friends! Warmest Regards, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    186
    65
    34
    8
See reviews for
97
325
55
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for close to 2 weeks and had a good experience. The hotel was comfortable, albeit a bit old and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had the corner room on the top floor (the Starlight room) and was originally pretty thrilled that there were sloping windows with automatic blinds on them to let the sun in. Unfortunately, the room looked into a bank across the road on one side and another hotel on the other, so I usually kept the blinds down. The lobby was large and spacious with plenty of seating and I think that the hotel offers bicycles for those who would like to ride. The hotel is centrally located, a couple of blocks from Pioneer Square.

Pros: Nice bedding, large space, staff was always very friendly and helpful, always willing to answer my questions and to point me to someone who could help me. I also enjoyed that they had orange infused water in the lobby throughout the day and Starbucks coffee and tea in the mornings, which is great when you're in a rush. They also had wine tasting sessions in the evenings, which I unfortunately did not take advantage of. Wi-Fi was strong and free if you registered with your email. One major plus was that the hotel offered things like hair curling irons, stain removal wipes,TSA compliant bags, free of charge if you asked them for it.

Cons: The room was clean, except for when I unfurled a towel and found a hair in it. This happened twice. One of the lamps could not be switched off and I resorted to pulling the plug on it. The walls were thin (I could hear the woman in the next room on a video call with her young daughter) and there were times I jolted awake from the sound of the door shutting in the next room because it sounded like my own door closing. The air conditioning can be noisy and the elevators were slow and jerky. One disappointment was that there was no water provided in the rooms.

I still enjoyed my stay a lot despite the minor inconveniences. To note, pets are welcome in this hotel, which I liked, although people who are not dog friendly may be taken aback.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear PrisVivienne from Singapore, Singapore!

What a gift to serve a guest for close to 2 weeks. Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel, the exceptional service, as well as our accomodations. I appreciate your acknowledgement and mention of our staff being friendly and helpful, that you had the corner room on the top floor (the Starlight room) and you loved the light and the sloping windows with automatic blinds on them to let the sun in. You had also highlighted that we do offer bicycles for those who would like to ride, complimentary. Again, thank you for noting the elements of your experience in such masterful detail! Two things that jumped out to me "staff was always very friendly and helpful, always willing to answer my questions and to point me to someone who could help me" and our recent investment in our guest connectivity: "Wi-Fi was strong and free if you registered with your email." We appreciate your choice to stay with us, the time it took to share with future travelers your experience and that we have been part of your Portland journey. All the best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From my arrival at the hotel, everything was perfect. I took the train from the airport and had a short walk to the hotel. At the hotel, the doorman smiled and opened every door. The desk clerk welcomed me and gave me a $10 raid-the-minibar coupon and described the nearby lunch options (all with homemade bread...yum). My corner room was clean and inviting with windows on all of the exterior walls. I was on the 5th floor, and I never waited more than 2 minutes for an elevator. The catered food for out meeting was really good and attractively displayed. I would book again in an instant.

Room Tip: Ask what special rooms are available. There are many choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Foodist50 from Atlanta;
Thank you for your start to finish review of your hotel experience here at the Vintage Plaza. I agree with you that Portland has a fabulous transit system, I encourage our travelers to take a plane, then the train from the airport and just a quick jaunt to our hotel. Portland is a fabulous walking city! Our downtown location is close to everything, with so much to do and see! I truly appreciated your description of our arrival to departure service consistency.The best part of your review for me was that you would come back and rebook in an instant. Thanks too for your room tip for future travelers. Warmest Regards, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a dog friendly hotel, this is an excellent place to stay. The hotel vintage plaza goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Portland is also a great place to vacation with dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Eriktesch - I appreciated that you noted our geuine attention to our four legged friends. Portland is a dog friendly city. Just 2.2 miles west of the hotel is Forest Park and the Portland Japanese Gardens. Forest Park is the largest forested urban park in the United States (approx 5,400 acres). Many trails to explore including the 30 mile Wildwood trail, all pet friendly. Walking just east ABOUT 1/2 mile you come to Waterfront Park, which is on the Willamette River. This is also a great walk either with your dog or to explore the city. It is over 30 acres along the river, right in the heart of Portland. Our summer market is there on Saturdays, as well as local festivals and weekend activities. Thank you again for inviting other travelers to enjoy our hospitality and Portland. Your review was much appreciated! Warmest regards, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've always enjoyed stays in Kimpton properties in both Portland and Seattle. Our recent overnight at the Hotel Vintage Plaza was no exception. The doormen, car attendants, front desk staff all extraordinarily welcoming and quick to ask if there's anything additional they can help you with during your stay. Breakfasts were delicious, once more with excellent attention to service. We look forward to our next stay in a Kimpton!

P.S. We particularly enjoy the fact that in these accommodations, because of their older, smaller sites, each room has a decorative personality of its own. Charming!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Dianna from Walla Walla ~ Wonderful neighbors in Washington Wine Country ~ welcome to the other side of the river, the Willamette that is... and the Columbia as well! We focus our wine hour on NW Wines, the incredible Pinot Noir from the Willamette Valley is a wine hour favorite. Having just moved from the Vintage Park in Seattle, I am pleased that we have served you in both locations. Your feedback and praise of the team here from the doormen, car attendants, front desk staff all extraordinarily welcoming and helpful is most appreciated. Thank you for also mentioning that Pazzo is a fabulous way to wake up with delicious breakfast offerrings. Our goal is to always deliver excellent attention to service. We look forward to your next stay in a Kimpton! Best, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for several nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Great location, a few minutes walk to Powell's City of Books (a must-see if you are a fan of bookstores), restaurants, shopping and the city centre. We choose a Starlight room, and loved it. It was roomy, a little bit quirky and had a great view from the expansive windows. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the generous wine tastings held in the lobby each afternoon. The bed was comfy and everything was clean and well presented. This was our first experience of the Kimpton chain, and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Have a little splurge and go for a starlight room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Finkiyaya;
From Melbourne to Portland - I loved reading your review, recommendations and experience of our hotel and Portland. You were with us for several nights and had the opportunity to thoroughly enjoy our hotel, it's great location, I love the quick jaunt to Powell's City of Books, sometimes I take my lunch break there. Thank you for the shout out about our fun Starlight room, I am glad that you loved it, quirkiness & all. I love our staff, they are friendly and helpful. Then topping off your evenings in Portland our generous wine tastings held in the lobby. I am thrilled that this was your first experience of the Kimpton and that you were very happy with your choice. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest Regards, Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vintage Plaza was named one of the “World’s Best Hotels” by Travel + Leisure magazine, and Condé Nast Traveler includes the Hotel Vintage Plaza on its prestigious Gold List – the only Portland hotel to make both lists. In 2009, the hotel completed a multi-million dollar makeover. This gracious boutique hotel, adjacent to the convivial Pazzo Ristorante, is located in downtown Portland’s cultural hub, near Pioneer Square and the hip and happening Pearl District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.