We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #15 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was able to get a good deal on the hotel and ended up with a pretty comfortable room. We stayed in the starlight room; the head board had seen better days and it was pretty dark, but appreciated the quirkiness. Everyone was nice and the wine reception was good. I would have rated a 3.5 but for $100 in downtown Portland it was a real steal so they get a 4.

Room Tip: I would pass on the starlight rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. Our starlight rooms are a one of a kind room on our top floor and we only have nine of them. We have many other room types available at our boutique hotel! We hope you come back to stay with us again and try another room with us.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    176
    62
    34
    8
See reviews for
85
297
54
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Kimpton Grand Hotel in Minneapolis several months ago and loved it. We were going to Portland, so we decided to try the Kimpton in Portland. We loved it. We choose a top floor, corner room because it had HUGE skylight windows on the outside corner walls. This was the coolest hotel room we have ever stayed in.

The staff was awesome, too. Everyone had a smile and a kind word. This great attitude carried over to the restaurant and the cafe.

They are doing something right. I fully believe the framed magazine articles in the elevator showing the Vintage Plaza is the #1 rated hotel to work at in Portland. The staff is happy and therefore the guests are happy.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks and take a top floor "starlight" room. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We love our specialty Starlight rooms! The décor and 45degree solarium windows make them very unique. Thank you for taking the time to tell others.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Got a fantastic rate for a room that could probably be more. Was upgraded at check in to a large room. Very comfortable, plenty of space to spread out.

Worked out in the fitness center, which is small. Not sure a tall person could use the elliptical machine due to the low ceiling height (at least related to the equipment). Plenty of treadmills, though.

The location is outstanding. Quick walk to the Pearl and easy to get all MAX lines and the downtown streetcar from here. This spot is a great home base for anyone traveling to PDX.

Service was great the whole time. All the Kimpton amenities on top of it... great property.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a jacuzzi tub, so that's potentially something to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thanks for your review! We’re really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we create and love that you noticed. We are perfectly located in the heart of downtown Portland and close to the MAX light rail that makes getting around downtown a snap! Our staff is always available and willing to share their favorite spots and places to go. See you again soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Vintage Plaza for two nights over the Thanksgiving weekend. We chose it because we always enjoy a Kimpton Hotel (We're sorry they sold the Palomar in Atlanta!). The VP has a small footprint, but is a lovely property. The atrium gives a wonderful feeling of spaciousness. We received an upgrade to the "starlight" rooms on the top (10th) floor. We would probably take a regular room the next time, since, if you open the blinds, all the folks in the surrounding buildings get to look in on you!! Otherwise the room was very good, even though the bathrooms are not large.

The VP has the amenities that one has come to expect at a Kimpton; a $10 "raid the mini bar" coupon; Starbucks coffee (and Keurig hot chocolate) in the lobby each morning, wine served in the afternoon, a $5 coupon for the restaurant and bakery if you didn't want your room serviced.

The staff were friendly. attentive, helpful (with directions), and efficient. Valet parking makes it convenient to "stow the car" and use public transport. The location is in the heart of downtown and close to restaurants, shopping, and buses and streetcars.

This will definitely be our place to stay when we return to Portland.

Room Tip: The "Starlight" rooms aren't really worth the additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and being a member of our Kimpton InTouch program ( It is free to join) Many of the amenities you mentioned come with being a member! Be sure to check out our other Kimpton Hotels and see what is new!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel IF you are getting one of the upper level rooms or a suite. I've stayed at HVP several times for special occasions, nights out, and love their large suites. We stayed in a standard room on the fourth floor recently and it just wasn't up to par. The decor/wallpaper was very neutral and blah compared to rooms I have stayed in at other Kimptons - for example - sister property Hotel Monaco around the corner has crazy cute duck wallpaper. The bathroom tile grout had little mildew marks -- for me a luxury hotel room bathroom ought to be immaculate. The shower curtain was dirty at the bottom hem and in my opinion, too long a length so it dragged inside the bathtub. These things I would let slide in a 2 or 3 star property but when I think of HVP I think luxury and this room on the 4th floor did not cut it. But as always the staff and service were amazing, and the lobby and public areas and restaurant are lovely and charming. I loved how they had a giftwrapping station in the lobby so when you came in from shopping you could get a hot cocoa from the restaurant and wrap gifts by the fire. I just wish our room followed through on the overall feel instead of being just OK. The beds and linens were excellent and we had fun being goofy in our animal print robes. I am still a Kimptoner for life but hope they fix these little issues. Not everyone has $400 to blow on a suite for date night, but if we spend close to $200 on a standard room the bathroom should be clean.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go for a 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us again. Our goal is to provide the best guest service anywhere in the industry and we are usually obsessed with our rooms being spic and span. Your comment has been shared with our Housekeeping staff so we can improve. I hope you were able to get all you shopping done and were able to enjoy our holiday wrapping station! Nothing like having the presents wrapped before you get home!
Best Wishes,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent a Sunday night at the Hotel Vintage Plaza, downtown Portland OR. The hotel had a wonderful location, close to everything and the staff was extremely helpful, everything from directions to restaurant recommendations was provided to us personally, not just a pamphlet! We stayed in a spa suite, this style had no windows, only skylights which had a cozy feeling and was nicely furnished but for longer than one night I'd want some windows! The hotel has a unique feeling, historical but with alll the modern updates. The staff really made the difference for us.
Overall the stay was wonderful and we look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We’re thrilled you had such a great time at our hotel! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When the property opened under the name Vintage Plaza in '92 (I think), I was living in Portland, had an opportunity to stay here, and brought clients to Pazzo Ristorante as often as possible.

It was a classy place then, and STILL is.

From the doormen, to front desk staff, room attendants, and restaurant/bar staff . . . all genuinely friendly, and professional (without appearing to "try"). Kimpton still keeps the standards high.

Special thanks to Jessica, and Karen, who checked me in, I've THOROUGHLY enjoyed my room the past week; and Will R., the bartender . . . top notch. Enjoyed talking with the manager of Pazzo's one evening, somebody please help him pronounce "Tigard" correctly :) (he's a recent transplant from Colorado, and I didn't have the heart to correct him)

Thanks VP, for a memorable week, I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We’re really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we create and love that you noticed it is still here after 21 years! Thank you for your review and taking the time to mention some of our incredible staff. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Vintage Plaza was named one of the “World’s Best Hotels” by Travel + Leisure magazine, and Condé Nast Traveler includes the Hotel Vintage Plaza on its prestigious Gold List – the only Portland hotel to make both lists. In 2009, the hotel completed a multi-million dollar makeover. This gracious boutique hotel, adjacent to the convivial Pazzo Ristorante, is located in downtown Portland’s cultural hub, near Pioneer Square and the hip and happening Pearl District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vintage Plaza - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.