We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice for and Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: 10% Off!
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice for and Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I have spent a few night at the Hotel Vintage Plaza. Every time there service was excellent. The rooms were perfect and the restaurant Pazzo if a great place to eat. One night we staid in and another night we walked to a place at Portland Center Stage.

Room Tip: Sometime after you book, you may get an email to upgrade to a premium room. When i booked I got a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. Whatever your occasion we are here to help you make it a special one! Happy anniversary again. We hope to have you with us again soon.
Warm regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    199
    66
    34
    8
See reviews for
108
347
58
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good location for a business trip or for fun. Very good staff and rooms. Liked the wine pour every night from 5-6. Can walk to a lot from here. More street noise than I expected but it is on a very busy road(Broadway).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that minimizes street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We feature different wines nightly during our evening wine reception. We also have some great winter specials about to begin!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is bar none the best I have ever stayed at. When you arrive right away they accommodate you with street-side service to quickly get your bags in and advise on parking. Wine is served for no charge in the lobby everyday between 5:00 - 6:00, along with delicious gourmet hors d'ouveres prepared from the chef in the adjacent restaurant. The atmosphere is more like a living room than a hotel. All the staff goes out of their way to please their guests. The guest rooms are more like bedrooms equipped with stuffed animals, and cozy pillows. The coffee served in the morning in the lobby is exquisite catering to all coffee connoisseur. You can bring the mug up to your room and come back for refills. Happy hour at the restaurant next door is fabulous. The chef really goes the extra mile to put together delicious health-conscious dishes that satisfy any palate. I can go on, but I would just say that if you are considering a trip to downtown Portland you must stay at the Hotel Vintage Plaza. I guarantee it is a stay you will remember for years to come. ;-) Michelle.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! Our great restaurant that you mention is Pazzo. Along with the appetizers they bake the bread that is baked fresh every day and they provide our room service. We hope you come back and stay with us again real soon.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

To be fair...I love Kimpton properties! As a member if Kimpton InTouch there are always extra perks like free wifi and raid the minibar coupons. Vintage Plaza has a great location downtown, easy walk to anywhere...shopping, restaurants, Saturday market, movies, waterfront, Powell books, Voodoo Donuts...everywhere! Free coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon with yummy breads from the bakery next door. We ate in the bar and the restaurant... Both were good. slightly noisy air conditioner in our room. But, the most important feature of the hotel is the friendly staff, thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 811... Big roomy comfortable room with a spa tub, no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We like to say we are in the heart of downtown Portland and you just confirmed it! Our Kimpton InTouch program is free to join so I hope others choose to join after reading your review. We look forward to having you with us again real soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my family to Portland for a weekend get away. We had some business up in the area too. What I loved about this property is it is right in the middle of everything. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. When you do venture out of the room the streetcar is a couple blocks to the west and all MAX lines are a couple blocks to the east. Don't want to take mass transit? You can walk to most of the entertainment in the area, or treat yourself and ask the front desk for a town car to take you where you need to go. We had a great time exploring the city from our central location. Every one a the Vintage plaza was friendly, inviting and caring about our every need. The wine hour reception was a great way to meet other travelers from around the world! This is a great location, with great service and rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We could not have said it better! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others here on Trip Advisor.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in Portland four (4) nights during a job-trip. The room was quiet and clean (the batroom was really huge). During my staying everything was perfect! I had breakfast at the "Pazzo" restaurant located at ground floor: I would recommend it. Fresh pastries, fruit and coffee with excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for this review of your stay with us. We hope you stay was a successful business trip! We hope to have you with us again soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This my second stay at a Kimpton hotel (Hotel Monaco in Wash DC was the other location). Enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Vintage Plaza in Portland. Central location. Free Arnold Palmers at 2 pm and wine in the evening. Modern decor and nicely sized rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Valet staffers wear stylish hats.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are just days away from rolling our winter specials! We hope you travels bring you back our way!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening on March 17 as the all new Hotel Vintage Portland. From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over wine-filled mason jars with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the adult game room, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. Make plans to join us at the revitalized Hotel Vintage Portland by booking now - we promise a perfectly Portland experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.