We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2545 NW Westover Road, Portland, OR 97210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 Portland B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A true find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have loved our time in Portland at the Heron Haus. Pam, the owner with her husband, Carl, is a delight and very helpful with directions and assistance. We think the BnB is a gem.

The breakfasts are good, the outside areas with lovely stone walls and plantings, and the inside, all very elegant and tasteful. The Heron Haus is a 1902 mansion on the side of a hill overlooking the city.

It’s very grand and very comfortable, but still has a homey touch. The sitting rooms have collections of board games stacked in book cases, and places to read. A small fridge serves to keep guests' stuff cold. Dormered rooms, parquet floors, interesting owner, a very comfy bed. The gardens are exquisite.

It’s within walking distance of a neighborhood loaded with restaurants, nightlife and interesting little shops. It’s also walking distance to the city street car system. We felt it was a real find.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, which we would recommend--less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Staying here was a wonderful experience! Have to admit, I was apprehensive when approaching the Heron Haus because the streets around it were packed with vehicles and people... BUT there is a private driveway leading up to private parking behind the house. When you arrive, you are in a different world. You cannot see the streets, it is lovely and quiet and the grounds are exquisite! Everything was great, from the spacious rooms to the breakfast to the various public rooms available for guest use. Breakfast was delicious. The host and assistants were really nice. The location was perfect for connecting to anywhere. This is now permanently in my favorites. I will be posting this same review on Bed and Breakfast. com cause they deserve an A+.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Heron Haus was perfect! Great location in the Nob Hill neighborhood. Lots of character and history. Spacious rooms, lots of common area options including a beautiful patio. Friendly & accommodating owners & staff, scrumptious food!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at Heron Haus for 7 nights - longer than most B&B stays perhaps. I visited Portland on a working trip and needed a quiet retreat, Heron Haus delivered. Single business travellers are also rewarded with a lower room rate. The host Pam is very gracious and accommodating. Breakfast always began with lovely fresh fruit and the main course changed daily; goat cheese omelette, sausages, roast vegetables, french toast + more. If you have a bland palette and prefer cereal you may disagree. There's a small fridge on the lower level which you can keep your own supplies in if you'd prefer. My room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had lovely supplies and was cleaned daily. I enjoyed the walk from Heron Haus to the Japanese Gardens and the Alphabet and Pearl districts for good coffee and food. I'm a younger solo traveller and most of the guests were couples in an older age bracket, I still felt welcomed and enjoyed my stay. A thumbs up to Pam and her team.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our second visit to the Heron Haus, was as comfortable and lovely a stay as our first. Our innkeeper, was very available and attentive and produced delicious full breakfasts each day. We stayed in the 3rd floor suite, Manu, and were delighted with the views of the city as well as the ample room to spread out. Being in the Nob Hill area of Portland allowed us ample opportunities to take walks among the other lovely homes perched on the hills. Also, being about 1 mile from the Pearl district with it's shopping and restaurants made us perfectly situated.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms provide wonderful views of the city. Our room, called Manu, had a separate bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Island, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent two nights at the Heron House in January. We travel a lot and have stayed in many B& Bs around the world and in the US. This is the best one we have ever found. The house is huge, the decorating and amenities are beautiful, the beds were comfortable, the room was well appointed with a fireplace, comfortable couches and stocked bookcases. The location is perfect, up on a hill with a view of the City and yet close enough that it was a quick and easy drive to restaurants and downtown, To top it off, the hosts were friendly and gracious, breakfast was delicious, and there were cookies on the table and port wine when we returned in the evening. Coffee and tea were available all the time. We highly recommend the Heron House.

Room Tip: Every room seemed to perfect. We had a suite with two rooms which fit our needs perfectly. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in a very comfortable room. It was very convenient to have a closet and a roomy desk for our laptop, brochures, etc. A bonus to Heron Haus is you may use several rooms downstairs in addition to your sleeping room. Pam is very gracious and knowledgeable about the area from Laundromats, to gardens, to great restaurants! They serve a delicious full breakfast. Washington Park and the Pearl District are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2545 NW Westover Road, Portland, OR 97210
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1904 English Tudor mansion designed by noted Portland architect Joseph Jacobberger. Listed on the National Historic Register. All six guest suites have private baths. We serve a full gourmet breakfast. Off-street parking. High speed wi-fi Internet access. Heron Haus is a few blocks from 23rd and 21st Avenue restaurants (some of the best in Portland) and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heron Haus Hotel Portland
Heron Haus Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron Haus Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.