We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is close to a lot of things to do. The beds were comfy. The staff was friendly. The neighborhood at night was a little sketchy not so much scary as wierd people. We would stay there again though

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Teresa M,
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at Hotel Rose. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds, location, and fantastic hospitality team. I also appreciate you understanding Portland's quirky character. One of our famous slogans is "Keep Portland Weird" and there is no question we live up to that.
Thank you Teresa M. Please come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    45
    13
    12
See reviews for
34
130
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 4th of July. We had a perfect view from the 3rd floor & we could hear the Blues festival too. Free pineapple mini muffins upon check-in were oh …so delish!
It was a little pricey, but worth it. No traffic, no crowds, we just went to sleep. Free Wi-Fi & room service was also nice & convenient.
There are some really nice places to eat within a block or two. The restaurant at the hotel was really good; we had a terrific breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Debbie T,
Thank you for you kind review of our hotel. You are absolutely right, our hotel is "perfect" for the upcoming Blues Festival. We are just a short few blocks from the entertainment venue, plus we have a "perfect" view for watching fireworks on July 4th. We also have Blues entertainment in our restaurant Bottle + Kitchen every night during the festival after things wrap up across the street. It's a good time!!
Thank you again Debbie T. We hope to see you back at this years festivities.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: clean, beautiful room, great views, easy to find, nice parking, great location, nice bar, friendly staff, very eco friendly, windows open in room, nice coffee maker in room.

Cons: My only issue, and it was enough to make me leave after one night, the air conditioning. There is a thermostat in the room but it serves no purpose. The AC is centrally controlled building wide and if they don't want it on then it's not on. It was cool outside but our room was damp and stuffy and needed AC. They offered a fan which they never brought. Could we open the window? Sure. But it's Portland and it was misting, damp and sleeping with the window open facing the highway? Yeah, not a good option. This should be something they mention on the website because it was unpleasant enough for us to leave. Also, they offer hot coffee and cupcakes free in the afternoon. But in the morning they want you to pay for it. Makes no sense.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else that has AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Liz A,
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable guest room, fantastic location, and that you were able to try our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen. I am sorry that you found your room to be warm as we transition through spring. Please know that based on exposure we do have rooms that are cooler or warmer during this time period so we can definitely room you based on temperature preference.
Thank you Liz A.
We hope to see you back at Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel but the first since becoming part of the Pineapple group (first visit in 2011). I am very pleased to say that everything we loved about this hotel has been enhanced upon and it was a great place to stay.
Staff are amazingly pleasant and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, quiet rooms to sleep in, great entertainment selections in room and safe and secure.
The hotel is within a few blocks walk of all desired public transport option to get you across the whole tri-met system so unless driving out to Mount Hood or the waterfall a car is not needed.
Within walking distance of food carts, bars, entertainment, and the brilliant view from the riverfront park is at your doorstep.
The 1 small downfall was I couldn't get the thermostat to work but easily fixed with the opening of the window and feeling the clean Portland air fill the room :)

Room Tip: If you can, get a room SW Natio for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Drewsnaps,
Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased that you were able to find us again. It was good to hear you enjoyed our fantastic hospitality team members, great location, and clean comfortable guest rooms. I hope your travels have you back again very soon.
Thank you Drewsnaps.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked the lobby, restaurant and bar, pretty funky with a lively color scheme. Room decor was college dorm circa 1970. I changed rooms because one of the windows would not lock and there was a walkable ledge, so not secure. Second room had a view of parked cars, not too attractive. I changed rooms again. Third room had a view of the waterfront park, but the windows did not lock, so once again, not secure. At that point, I took the hotel umbrella and used it as a wedge. My statement had a mistake that they immediately corrected when I pointed it out. There was one computer in the lobby with someone camped out on it most of the time. The main entry is also the parking garage entry--not terrific. One of my colleagues could not sleep because of the screech of the train as it turns from the waterfront into downtown. But they do supply the guests with earplugs. (I did not have a problem with noise, but I was on the other side of the hotel.) The hotel has potential, but there are definitely some things that need to be addressed.

Room Tip: Waterfront park side or a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon Janet G,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you like our recently renovated lobby and restaurant. It really did turn out well! Please know that we have some upgrades coming to our guest rooms later this year. Thank you for letting me know about the window locks. I will have our maintenance team follow up to make the necessary repairs.
Thank you Janet G. We hope you return to Portland and Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The parking was $15/day. Close to downtown and the light rail. An older hotel that was renovated. A bit noisy if facing the light rail but hotel supplies foam ear plugs. Mini frig in room. Veru cute and tasty pineapple cupcakes upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from light rAil line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Kimberly S,
Thank you for you nice review. I'm glad you found our location so convenient and took advantage of our inexpensive parking. The cupcakes are the best, right?
I hope you have the opportunity to return soon.
Thank you Kimberly S,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldtown, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a business trip. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There is a court yard in the center of the hotel that is very beautiful and calming. The rooms were modern and clean. Food was average but again, even the wait staff were far above expected. Wifi was the big disappointment. Had to use the computers in the lobby just to check email.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Lori M,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your feedback is very important. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our staff, along with your room and courtyard view. I was pleased that you were able to try our restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen. The team does such a great job there.
Thank you Lori M. Please come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#53 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.