We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown and good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close to downtown and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The parking was $15/day. Close to downtown and the light rail. An older hotel that was renovated. A bit noisy if facing the light rail but hotel supplies foam ear plugs. Mini frig in room. Veru cute and tasty pineapple cupcakes upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from light rAil line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    42
    13
    12
See reviews for
33
127
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldtown, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed on a business trip. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There is a court yard in the center of the hotel that is very beautiful and calming. The rooms were modern and clean. Food was average but again, even the wait staff were far above expected. Wifi was the big disappointment. Had to use the computers in the lobby just to check email.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited Portland with my daughter to look at colleges. Staff were friendly and efficient. The room ovrlooked the river and was well appointed. The hotel serve cupcakes and coffee in the lobby at 2 pm or so. Parking is easy and the location is great to get across the river or anywhere in the city. The hotel is a block from public transit, so you may not need a car.

We walked all over downtown, along the waterfont, shopping at MAcy's, REI, Patagonia, Nordstroms, Target, plus many boutiques and second hand stores. We walked to the Pearl district, Powells (huge) bookstore, and did not use the car except to get to collees.

Food trucks are a ew blocks away, and walking, jogging, or riding the loaner bikes is easy.

THe beds were comfortable and cozy. Internet was free, fast and easy to set up. The room and housekeeping were good too. the Hotel provides comfy robes in the room, coffee maker with tea, bottled water (tap tasted good too), and soap, shampoo and conditoner from dispensers in the bath.

The restaraunt is good for breakfast,lunch and dinner. Omelettes on Sunday kept us full until dinner. Washington oysters, pork tacos, and other food went well with craft beers, wine or drinks made by the excellent (and friendly) bartender. Sunay has an all day happy hour: i may try it next tme.

Other posts have said construction/remodelling was going on. Supposedly, they are painting(finishing up) during our visit. we did not notice. Enjoy your stay. I will go back"

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed 5 nights for a conference at the convention center. On-site parking self or valet. We chose valet. Our car was always available, yet we primarily used the MAX. A 2 min walk and we went almost everywhere.
The hotel entrance is kitschy swank. Coffee and pineapple cupcake greet you. A on-site bar and restaurant is really good. The bartender, John gets high scores for remembering a mixed drink when we returned after 2 nights.
The room was small but efficient. There is a safe, refrigerator, Keurig, 2 daily water bottles, ear plugs for the near by train (did not need), European style feather duvets- one for each side of the King, with no top sheet. I liked it! The bed was very comfortable.
Robes and fresh slippers, pre-filled toiletries on the shower wall, large walk in shower with a half glass wall. No tub, but that was fine. Nice view of the river and green way.
Housekeeping was good. The hotel and room was clean.
This hotel is very close to good restaurants, shopping, yummy food trucks- but you can always get on the MAX and go elsewhere. Very close to the MODA and was able to see a concert while there.
Very efficient, helpful and happy employees!
We will be back!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, yesterday
Good afternoon yakimawinelovers,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It sounds like your stay was perfect. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our recently renovated property, complimentary Pineapple cupcakes, our new "Naked Experience" bedding package, and our bartender John. I will make sure to pass on your comments to him.
Thank you yakimawinelovers. We hope your return very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were great staff, and the restaurant was very good. My major disappointment was not only in very poor wifi throughout the hotel but especially in my room, but in the fact that I emailed the hotel my concerns that the wifi during my stay was very intermittent - often web pages did not load, and Skype/FaceTime was not possible due to constant cuts in connectivity. The email was forwarded to IT but I never heard back, and the wifi did not improve. This is usually a technical issue, but the lack of a response and failure to address the issue was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Richard905905,
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. I apologize that you had issues with the WIFI while you were here, and that your issue was not resolved during your stay. These situations help us grow as a team and we will be looking at our current operating procedures to avoid this from happening again in the future.
Thank you Richard905905. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our 4 night stay. We had a wonderful balcony looking towards the river and you could even see Mt Hood on the clear days. The King sized bed was very comfortable. Room was clean and had everything one could need. There was no bath, just a shower, not a problem but worth a mention. I was a little concerned we might have issues with noise from the busy road, but didn't hear it at all at night. We arrived very late at night and Chystal was fast to get us checked in and settled and direct us to bar round the corner for a beer. Every member of staff we spoke to was helpful and they all gave good activity and dining suggestions. We had a breakfast in the restaurant which was good.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello AmeliaTCanada,
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable balcony guest room, bed, and our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen. We love our newly renovated venue! I'm glad Chrystal got you settled upon arrival and found you a place to get a cold one after you long trip south.
Thank you AmeliaTCanada. Please come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in Portland for a work conference and booked this hotel after looking at the reviews. I was not disappointed--what a great find! I loved that it wasn't huge, it had a nice trendy/modern vibe, friendly staff, and a nice location across from the riverfront park. It was also just a short walk to the light rail stop and easily walkable to everything downtown. The room was spotless, bed was comfy, shower was great, and no problems with the wifi. My only complaint was the duvet--I prefer a separate sheet and comforter--and it got quite hot while in bed. When checking in, I was given a $10 discount to the hotel restaurant/bar - the Bottle + Kitchen - and had a nice dinner during Portland Dining Month. Oh yeah, so what's the best part about the Hotel Rose? The free pineapple cupcakes offered to guests each afternoon. Yum! I loved Portland and this hotel made my trip even better. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: May want a room that faces the parking structure - even though the view isn't as great, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello pobrecito33,
Thank you for your kind review! I'm happy that you found us and that you had such an enjoyable time. We always love to hear the positive comments about our staff so thank you for that. I will be sure to pass along your comments. I was also pleased that our location worked out well for you, and that you found out afternoon coffee and Pineapple cupcakes. You can't eat just one!
Thank you again pobrecito33. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.