We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STAY here - Jasmine M at the Front Desk is amazing !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Naperville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MUST STAY here - Jasmine M at the Front Desk is amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is absolutely incredible! I have stayed at hotels like the Brown Palace in Denver and the Fairmont on Nob Hill in SFO and I am pretty picky about where I stay. The HOTEL ROSE did not disappoint!! The staff was incredibly warm and welcoming upon our arrival-especially Jasmine M. I was pretty stressed out from life when we arrived for our long weekend in Portland and Jasmine M at the front desk was able to upgrade my room to an AMAZING room (505) with an incredible view of the Willamette River. A totally modern and upgraded room with an shower beyond belief - the large wingback chair was great to sit in and take in the sights along the river. The location of the hotel is perfect! You can walk anywhere, rent a bicycle or take advantage of the sophisticated transportation system which is steps away from the hotel. Will definitely return again - although not soon enough for me.

Room Tip: Room 505 - you won't be disappointed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
31
123
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There are fancier hotels, bigger hotels and much more expensive hotels in Portland but Hotel Rose has served us well for a second time. The location is excellent, an easy block to downtown and the tram car right outside the door. For the picky traveler you may not like the proximity of the tram as you hear the bell and rumble pretty frequently. Some rooms would have horrible view of a parking lot / wall and others would look out onto the river. What I like most about Hotel Rose aside from it's convenient location, is the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms combined with the friendliness of the staff. I would recommend the Rose to anyone looking for a hip, clean hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We called the hotel directly while driving down from Seattle. They matched the advertised rate on TripAdvisor and the call took less than 3 min. Great location, good parking options (seemed more reasonable priced than other comparable hotels). Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking river. There is considerable street noise at night. Two double beds was the only option for this family of 4 (I wish they had queens, but could see that wouldn't be feasible with the size of the room). Bathroom was tastefully upgraded with product dispensers by sink/shower. Tommy Bahama? ok. We don't have cable tv at home, so kids always look forward to some Animal Planet when we travel...but alas couldn't find it. Room service is an abbreviated menu from the restaurant. Very good and prompt. Dinner in the restaurant was also nice. Front desk was very helpful with information and advice. Would totally stay here again...though I LOVE trying out new hotels in Portland...so many boutique and unique options, right? Lastly, should have asked for the story behind the hotel name (HOTEL ROSE) and it's attachment to pineapples. They were everywhere!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second trip to Portland and I booked through another site where I didn't know which hotel I was going to get - I was so pleased I got Hotel Rose! Its location is so conveniently close to shopping and with many restaurants within walking distance. It's also extremely close to the train over to Moda Centre, where we were going to watch the Blazers play the Celtics. We took advantage of their free bikes/helmets/locks and biked along the river, across bridges and back - so much fun! It was a great way to see Portland. The bed was really comfortable and the room was funky and well-equipped, even though only had a view of the parking lot. We enjoyed a few meals at the lounge and it was nice that you could take a bottle of wine up to the room. I highly recommend this hotel for solo travellers, couples, and friends. It's a boutique hotel with lots of character.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Kirsten T,
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our great location, our complimentary bike program, and that you were able to try our new restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen. Everyone who tries it loves it!
Thank you Kirsten T,
I hope your travels has you back in town very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is walking distance to everything downtown. It's not smack in the middle but it was fine. We walked everywhere, never took the car out.

The rooms were nice & comfortable.

The staff was nice except the front desk guy embellished to us when he said our room is his favorite. Our room was on the second floor right next to the elevator with a view of the roof. There was foot traffic & vending machine noise late at night and early morning. It really didn't bother us though, it was more annoying he bragged about the room. *Dude, next time don't say anything.

Overall, the hotel was nice. I wouldn't mind staying again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon JenJSF,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your feedback helps us improve for future guests and we appreciate that. We will definitely review your comments with our front desk team. I am pleased that you had a nice time in Portland and that you will stay with us again the next time you come to town.
Thank you JenJSF,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived today on business at this hotel in a prepaid room which had been paid in advance by a major US corporation which has done business with this hotel for years, On arrival the hotel requested a personal credit card from me, which I normally do not give when on business trips. Even though the room was pre-paid the fromt desk clerk and manager refusedcto check us in unless we handed over our credit cards. Having been stung before at other hotels for incorrect charges I do not and am under no obligation to supply my personal card while at work. As a result we where not checked in and made to wait for 30 minutes before our corporation supplied their corporate credit card information. Bear in mind this was a prepaid room and the coporation I work for has purchased 1000s of rooms from this hotel over the last few so to refuse us a room which had been prepaid and to make us wait in my opinion is terrible customer service for an established business customer. So they get 1 star from me for the way this was handled.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you wantvto keep your credit card information private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon Richard M,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. I do apologize that the industry standard of collecting a credit card or method of payment at check in was inconvenient for you. We will discuss this process and see where we can possible streamline this procedure.
Thank you Richard M,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved my room overlooking the river. The room was so nice I wish I had spent more time there. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very friendly. WiFi was fast and free. TV was big and had lots of channels. First rate.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Robert K,
Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our team of hospitality professionals, comfortable bed, and large flat screen HD TV. You will need to get another trip on your calendar so you can come back and enjoy the property more.
Thank you Robert K,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.