We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a good value, but nothing really special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Was a good value, but nothing really special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We won this hotel on priceline and received a good deal. The hotel was under construction during our visit so there wasnt much of a lobby or restaurant to comment on (everything was covered in tarps) The room was clean, but nothing special. The locaiton was decent, some restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We probably would only stay again unless we won another bid. They did have some bikes available which was a nice feature, but we werent able to take advantage of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello luv2travel1980,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I hope that you are able to return to Portland and see our hotel as it has changed dramatically since your visit last April. The lobby and our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen were completed in June last year and we will be finished with the last floor of our corridor remodel next week. The place looks fantastic!!
Thanks luv2travel1980. Please come back and see our cool new look soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
30
120
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

VERY WELCOMING staff! Great service and cute boutique hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

I was a little worried when we first checked in because the first room we received was right off the elevator and the entire floor wreaked of pot. The combo of a noisy room along with that smell, got me worried of what kind of hotel did we book? I went down to the front desk and requested a quiet room on a completely different floor and without any questions, I was given another room. I was ready to explain but appreciated that I didn't have to justify my request, especially as we JUST drove in.

PROS:
1. Friendly and welcoming staff
2. Great location: you can walk or bike anywhere you want
3. Free bikes to ride around town
4. Free water and coffee in-room and the evening pineapple cupcakes with coffee was nice in the lobby too.
5. The hotel bar/restaurant has excellent food and the bartenders know their beers/wines. I was pleased with everything they recommended. Again, the staff was friendly and outgoing. It really added to our experience.

CONS:
1. If you are a light sleeper like me, do not book a room that has a water view = more traffic and boat noise. The Hotel Rose is aware of this and does supply ear plugs which I was so thankful for!
2. The wifi is unsecured so any hacker on the street corner can tap into your electronics so I didn't use their wifi at all.
3. No air conditioning....but don't know if it is really needed as Portland is pretty cold and wet. Maybe if we stayed during the summer I would have a different opinion....?

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Valerie B,
Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you had a nice time and will stay with us the next time you return to Portland. Please know that our hotel is completely non smoking and we do confront violators when we suspect this policy is not being adhered to. Please also know that our hotel does have air conditioning, but we do not activate it during the winter months.
Thank you again Valerie B. I hope we see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mere blocks from a food cart pod, Nordstrom's Rack, and Macy's, not to mention many excellent restaurants. Staff (front desk, valet parking, restaurant) could not be more helpful. The excellent location does come with a drawback - noise from traffic - but the hotel will provide earplugs if you need them.
Room was a good size, with a coffee maker and free bottles of water, as well as a mini fridge. There's even a courtesy umbrella in the room. Those are the kinds of bonus items that really add to the feeling of being looked after.
I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good morning ctee,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel Rose. It sounds like you had a great time! I'm happy that you enjoyed our team of hospitality experts and that our amenities made you feel well looked after. That's our goal!
Thank you ctee. We hope your travels bring you back to Portland and Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our visit to Portland. The best thing about this hotel is the location - it's right in downtown, but it's nice because it's off in a quieter bit. Nordstrom rack is half a block away, and you can walk over to several sites like Chinatown and Powell's books. It's close to the bridge so you can take a nice walk across it to the other side, too. We walked to OMSI from the hotel.

They rent bikes for free, which is a great perk. They are cruiser bikes, so while they are very comfy, they are heavy and slow. We biked to Forest Park on these and I got tired toward the end going uphill on that heavy bike. However, when we biked to the Southeast area on these, they did the trick. Still a little cumbersome but FREE!

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated--it's rare to see a building that is so unabashedly colourful! The decoration/design is really inspired and lovely!

Our room was very clean, with a nice view. The bed was HUGE and the bathroom was really nice--nice clean shower and a well lit, big mirror.

The only thing I did not like about the hotel was the restaurant--the service was great, but the food was very expensive and mediocre.

I would definitely go back, but just not eat at the restaurant. Just looking at the basics, it's great because of the location, friendly service, and cleanliness, but it offers a lot of other perks, like free bikes, free wifi, great decor, and free delicious cupcakes, that take it up a few notches.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good morning VinnyFredo,
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. I'm pleased that you had a fun time in Portland and that you found our location so desirable. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary bikes, afternoon cupcakes, comfortable beds, and our newly renovated main floor and corridors. We are very pleased with our new look!
Thank you VinnyFredo. Please come back and visit us soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ended up with a room with two queen beds for a long weekend away as a couple, but I guess that's what happens when you book through Hotwire to get a good deal. Having said that, the room had a great view of the river, the staff members were very helpful and friendly, and the location was very convenient both for walking/bike riding around downtown and for easy access to highways. Noise really wasn't an issue, but we found complimentary earplugs in our room just in case. The only issue we had was that there wasn't a fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good evening Holli F,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your comfortable quiet room, great view of the water front, our fantasticlocation, and our team of hospitality professionals. I do want to let you know that we do have exhaust fans in all of our bathrooms, but they are centrally controlled and on 24 hours a day.
Thank you again Holli F. Please come back and see us very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pineapple hotels yay! Hard to argue with pineapple cupcake and coffee afternoon snack and free bike rentals. Rooms are lovely, and we were upgraded to a River view with balcony, even though we booked through Hotwire. Staff were pleasant and helpful, if a bit overworked. Yes, it's a re-done 60s era motel, but newly reno'd and boutiquey cool. Fun with teens. Easy walking and transit access. True that trains are at the door and you will hear them. (If you're not a city person then don't stay downtown!! This is a city, not the countryside. Why complain? Just ease your pain at Nordstrom Rack across the street then hit the pub for a yummy microbrew or local spirit, they're everywhere!) Lots to like here, especially the hipster cool vibe that is what Portland is really all about. Would recommend and plan to stay again!

Room Tip: It's a relatively busy corner but the river views are calming. Ask for a balcony room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good evening KaWaMiDa,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit in Portland and your stay at Hotel Rose. Its appears you truly embraced the city and our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our staff, complimentary bike program, and pineapple cupcakes and coffee every afternoon in the lobby. The balcony or waterfront rooms are truly a great way to enhance your experience so I thank you for your comment.
Thank you KaWaMiDa. Please come back and see us very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went down with friends to Portland for 2 nights over the New Year and stayed at Hotel Rose. The lobby, restaurant and bar are nicely decorated and welcoming. The staff manning the check in were friendly and checked us in and out quickly.

There are nice unique touches - cupcakes in the lobby, umbrellas to use in every room, bikes you can take out for a spin and comfy robes in the closets.

The location has advantages and disadvantages. It's close to the river walk which is nice and it's easy to drive back on to the highway. But you do have to walk a few blocks to get into the thick of it in downtown Portland. Not a problem for us because we like to walk. But some people - especially with mobility issues - might prefer to be closer to the downtown core.

The location also has some minor sound issues - on one side is a very busy road (the river side). The back of the hotel is quieter but lighter sleepers will still hear the occasional sounds of far off trains and closeby tram bells going until late in the night and starting early in the morning. I used the supplied disposable earplugs on my second night and had a better sleep.

The rooms are small but clean and the beds are gloriously comfortable. Watch the pocket doors that function as both the closet door and the bathroom door. If one person is looking in the closet and the other opens the bathroom door suddenly, you could slam into someone! For some reason, the heat in the room would crank up in the middle of the night and we'd wake up boiling and have to open the window. We couldn't figure out how to turn the heat down!

The drinks/food in the bar restaurant were good and the servers were great and friendly (except for the guy who seated us one evening who treated us like we were an inconvenience).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It's perfectly pleasant but it wasn't cheap - so I had high expectations.

Room Tip: Personally, I'd give up the pretty view of the river for a room in the back where it's quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Catharine P,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, our recently renovated lobby and restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen, along with our complimentary bikes, pineapple cupcakes, and location. I'm sorry that the water front room was not as quiet as you desired. We are fortunate to have the interior rooms that may be more comfortable for you on your next visit.
Thank you again Catharine P. We hope to see you back in Portland and at Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#46 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.