We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but with issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“good but with issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good location, nice decor, comfy sheets, cool bathroom, but noisy from trains, room was quite small and biggest concern - can't really control the temp in your room - so frustrating and uncomfortable. Windows open to help but then the noise!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
115
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We got a great deal on Travel Zoo that included parking, and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are very comfortable, and the restaurant is beautiful. We had great food and drinks there twice. Free use of bright yellow umbrellas and bicycles is a nice bonus, as are the pineapple cupcakes and coffee every afternoon for happy hour.
Location for downtown access is good. We walked a lot. Only downside is the traffic noise in rooms right next to the freeway offramp. There's a reason free earplugs are provided on the nightstand.

Parking spaces in the garage are very tight. Don't plan on parking a large car there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time at this hotel and would say it's the last. Staff are friendly, great location, easy to walk and get around but the noise from the street, freeway and trains kept us awake most of the night, plus the dogs in the rooms is not very good for a person with allergies. Found dog hairs around and wasn't aware that this is a dog hotel. We were on the river side, if you stay on the other side maybe the noise is not so bad. The traffic noise was a real turn off for us.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep stay on the side without water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From what I understand this has been under different ownership, but we stayed under the Pineapple Hospitality flag. It is SOOO easy to get around Portland from this location. You are on the riverfront, and within walking distance of so much of downtown. Easy access to public transportation, which was quite reliable and felt safe in terms of people. Wonderful staff with great recommendations. The parking was a little confusing, but I think that's mostly because the valet was helping someone else, and we couldn't see the self-parking signs (which are around in back of the hotel.) It was raining, what can I say? Eventually we figured it out.

We also like boutique style hotels, so this was right up our alley. We did not get a chance to try their restaurant as it was hosting a private function when we were there on one night, and we were out on the town the rest of the stay. So, no comments there, but I hear that it is lovely with a good wine line.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a river view or a balcony. The balconies were sizable and gave a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to this hotel was in 1989 or so; it was then called the Riverside Inn and was one of the less-expensive places downtown. We were given a particular room that we loved; and through all the changes in name and ownership this place has been through we still like this place. Very convenient to public transportation; easily within walking distance of most places downtown, rooms are refurbished and feature very nice beds and linens, big flat screen TV's and nice robes. Very friendly staff, too, and lovely folks working in the restaurant where we had a very good breakfast one morning. The rooms near the TriMet tracks are admittedly noisy, something we've gotten used to over the years. We've always brought earplugs and now the hotel even provides them, a nice touch. I have only a couple of quibbles: first, the room was too warm for comfortable sleep, perhaps because we were having a sort of monsoon (in December!) and the outside temp was quite warm. Second, I know everyone loves these new Keurig machines but I would rather brew a pot of coffee all at once...don't care for this one-cup-at-a-time business and there's no way to re-heat the single cup once it cools.

But would I stay here again? Of course. Love it.

Room Tip: We have a favorite room but we're keeping it a secret!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...OK, so I'm kidding, just a bit. The fact that there are even two bathrobes (both Medium in size) is a marvel to me (not to mention the in-room umbrella) because none of the other places I've stayed in PDX had either; the concurrent fact that I don't fit into those Medium-sized bathrobes at all is probably more my problem. The location is excellent: easy to get to off of I-5; close to all of the downtown area; an excellent restaurant, but also within comfortable walking distance of a remarkable array of dining choices; MAX light rail access between a 2-minute and 5-minute walk away, depending on which of the 4 light rail lines you want to ride (ironically, the two-minute-walk-away Blue and Red Line Max lines pass directly next to the hotel without stopping, but - seriously - Portland downtown blocks are really small and the stop is just around the corner).
There is both valet parking and non-valet parking on site with elevator access to all floors from the lower non-valet level. I will say that there isn't much of a view from some of the rooms (I'm writing this from my room and looking out at a narrow view of the valet parking area). On the other hand, the noise concerns that apparently result in a small container on the nightstand that holds a pair of earplugs don't seem to be a problem....I haven't noticed it in the three nights I've spent here. The bed is really comfortable, with way more pillows than any one or two people would ever hope to need. WiFi access (which matters to me for business travel like I'm on now) is good and free, the bathroom has a kind of weirdly trendy open shower with push-button soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers mounted on the wall (ditto for bathroom sink soap/lotion dispensers) that I actually like. If I were going to complain about anything, I would wonder why the room has a refrigerator but not a microwave, but that is a somewhat minor concern. All in all, this is an excellent choice for a place to stay in downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Willamette River side probably have a better view that some of the interior south and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel. The location is just perfect. The Max station is nearby, its just across from the waterfront and it has a great restaurant inside. We needed to stay overnight for early morning Dr appointments. It was very easy to get back and forth to this hotel. The location makes it a very nice place to stay to explore and play. Lots of places to shop and eat. And if you choose not to go too far, the hotel's restaurant called Bottle and Kitchen makes it easy. They have a great happy hour, good food and nice seating. The staff is very helpful and friendly. During our stay it was raining but we would like to stay here again and spend some time walking down along the river and visiting Saturday Market. We totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Kathy M,
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our staff, location, and restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen. Our team will be pleased that you had such a nice stay with us.
Thank you Kathy M. Come and see us again soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#46 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.