We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice staff but noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 Off per Night!
Ranked #56 of 133 hotels in Portland
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice staff but noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff are helpful and friendly, location is right downtown and close to many public transport options.

Hotel had put earplugs in our room...probably due to the noise from trains crossing the river. Would stay here again but will try to seek out a quieter room next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
26
85
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband & I had a great stay for anniversary in August. It was our first time in Portland and we are glad we chose Hotel Rose for our stay! Our king sized bed was quite comfortable, room was new & clean with efficient a/c(very important during menopause)and we loved being across the street from the waterfront park. There was a musicfest going on while we were there, but our room was on the back and with windows closed we barely heard the music. We parked our car in lot and other than our drive up the Columbia River Gorge we walked wherever we wanted to go. We only used the bikes one time & enjoyed ourselves.
It was a nice perk to have a good restaurant -The Bottle + Kitchen right at hotel. We had dinner here were very pleased- the diver scallops and steak were both great. Highly recommend Hotel Rose! : )

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent three nights in Portland, staying at the Hotel Rose. The location couldn't have been better for us -- right across the street from the riverfront park and multi-use path and a block away from a light rail stop, which made the trip from the airport a breeze. The rooms are nicely appointed and display the hotel's commitment to being green. There was a slight noise problem, but not one that kept us awake at all, though some might be bothered. Make sure you try the pineapple mini-cupcakes in the lobby each afternoon, and check early in the day for the availability of their free bicycles.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room that's not near the elevators. Also, you'll probably h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great time. Room was clean, bedding was nice. Mattress firm. Just how I like it. Very close to the food cart area, or one of the many areas of Portland. Yum! The only issue was our a/c was dripping from a clogged filter or something and we didn't notice until later when we were going to sleep and the drip kept us up for a good portion of the night. Management was very receptive but it couldn't be fixed until the next day. They handled it very well. So, be sure there are no issues with the room when you check in because maintenance goes home at 5 I think. Oh, and the restaurant was very awesome. The chef has real talent that rivals any top NYC restaurant. We usually dont go to hotel restaurants but someone said locals go there too so we thought to give it a try. Finally, ask for room on quiet side-waterfront-since one or two sides face the train.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good afternoon elissa s,
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. You're feedback is very important to us.
It was nice to see that you had such a great time in Portland and was happy to see that you tried our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen. Our chef really is very talented! We think we have one of the most comfortable beds in our industry and it sounds like you may agree!! I do apologize for the drip from your air conditioning unit and hope that it didn't detract from your stay with us.
Thank you again elissa s. Come back and see us very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed five days at Hotel Rose, using it as a home base to visit family and explore the coast. I was a little hesitant when booking since there were some comments about construction and I the price was lower than some of the other area hotels. I can't say enough about this hotel, the staff and accommodation: it was one of the best hotel stays we've had. The rooms are nicely designed, clean and contemporary. The whole hotel has been renovated from top to bottom, and everything was just nicely done. We had a balcony room on the second floor and it was adjacent to the vending machine (noisy) and elevator which, along with the street view / river front, made us concerned we would hear a lot of noise. We were completely wrong. The room was incredibly quiet, with no noise from hallway or outside. The mattress was so perfect that my husband asked front desk what brand/style siince we're soon to buy a new one for home. The hotel is very clean, with great linens and bedding / pillows. The shower was well designed with a small opening to insert your hand and turn on faucet so you don't get scalded or frozen as water temp adjusts. Rooms have recycle bins and instead of the annoying and wasteful travel bottles of shampoo, soap, etc... the bathroom is equipped with wall dispensers for these toiletries, so no need to pack any of it (nice brand, Tommy Bahama). Each day we were stocked with bottled water (something I always appreciate after a long day) and staff was quick to provide extra hangers, wash cloths, when requested. There's also excellent coffee / coffee maker. There's also a mini fridge in the room and extra charging outlets for electronic devices. WiFi is free with access that's easy and fast. The new restaurant / bar, Bottle + Kitchen, is a beautiful little spot just off lobby of hotel and we had a great breakfast and some nightcaps. The breakfast is not included in the hotel cost, but there are numerous options on the breakfast menu at B+K, including a'la cart items for a few dollars each. Since we had a rental car we were concerned about parking options but that was easy as well. Daily, self- parking is $15, with unlimited in and out access and the garage seems safe and secure, with elevator directly to all hotel floors. If this lot is full, guests may park in valet area at no extra cost (valet price is $20 / day). All staff were super helpful and friendly and location was perfect for walking the city, jogging along the river or catching the Max (a couple blocks away). The hotel is non-smoking, but it there were some cigarette butts on the overhang of balcony, which looked as though guests may have smoked on balcony and tossed, but we didn't smell any smoke during out stay. I also think the comforter on the bed is unnecessary... though it looks good, it's quite heavy and silky fabric means it kept sliding off the bed during the night. A down comforter with washable duvet cover might be better option.
This hotel was a great find and I wish all of my hotel experiences could be so perfect. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are slightly larger than those on other side of hotel and we definitely enjoyed ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Good morning Stratch,
Thank you for one of the most thorough reviews I have ever read! I think you covered almost every aspect of a hotel stay. I am so pleased that you had such an nice time and that you enjoyed our recent main floor remodel, comfortable balcony guest room, and our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen. We are very pleased with our new look.
Thank you again Stratch. I hope your travels have you back in Portland and staying with us again very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I arrived yesterday for a three nights stay for our one year anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised when we learned that we had been upgraded to a suite! So far our stay has been wonderful! We have enjoyed some cocktails in the restaurant and explored the city. Great hotel location. Waking up from a comfortable nights sleep and looking forward to borrowing bikes and a day of exploration! Cheers!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon trice054,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our hotel to celebrate your anniversary. Congratulations!! I'm happy that you were able to try our new restaurant and bar, Bottle+Kitchen and that our location worked out so well for you. Maybe Hotel Rose should be your anniversary hotel so you come back every year!!
Thank you trice054,
We hope to see you back soon.
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerhaven, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

booked as mystery hotel and for portland prices, this was a bargain. We were satisfied with the hotel. Room was a bit small and slightly outdated, but still good condition and perfect for a city trip. Free coffee, water and afternoon snack were great. Location is spectacular for exploring downtown Portland. Would stay here again. Only downfall was they forgot to clean our room somehow!!!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon ashbanana,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our fantastic location along with our afternoon coffee and pineapple cupcakes. I hope you had more than 1 as they are delicious!! I do apologize that we missed making up your room and will discuss with our housekeeping team.
Thank you ashbanana. Come back soon!
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Address: 50 SW Morrison Street, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 133 hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is “Keep Portland Weird.” And right in the heart of it all you’ll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and “oh-so-Portland” boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there’s no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Welcome to Hotel Rose Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.