We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Shop Tax Free
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
San Ramon, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This is an excellent hotel for a family trip to Portland. The location is great, the staff is excellent and the rooms are superb. Our family of 4 (two teens) stayed for 3 nights in July 2007. We had a king in the bedroom and queen pullout sleeper sofa. The bedding was comfortable (i prefer a smaller pillow and like the way i think it's the marriott or westin chain that puts a variety of pillow sizes on the bed). the manager's reception (happy hour) was very nice, the free breakfasts were first rate with made to order omelettes and everything else in the buffet line. There were a lot of kids in the hotel, but it wasn't noisy. My kids used the pool, spa, exercise room, while i got to enjoy the laundry room! We had friends from Portland stop by to visit and we "entertained" in the lobby, where there were plenty of comfortable chairs and couches and usually someone playing the grand piano. My husband went to a convention each day at the Oregon Convention center and walked 2 short blocks to the free train. We roamed downtown Portland - everything was easy walking distance, including some fabulous restaurants recommended by our funny and accommodating concierge, Brenda. The front desk staff was very helpful and even sent up a set of silverware for us to eat our leftovers. The room had a coffeemaker, hair dryer, microwave and mini-fridge along with 2 TVs and 2 or 3 phones. All in all, this is a great hotel for the price and location!

  • Liked — location and grand "old hotel" feel in a historic building
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    378
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
350
288
58
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My family of four stayed at this Embassy Suites in downtown Portland the first weekend in June 2007 for the Rose Festival. We have stayed there every year for the past 5 years. This year, we were somewhat disappointed.
Our rate was $229/night including valet parking. The valet service was quick and reliable. The guys were friendly too.
The location of the hotel is ideal. Front desk area clean and welcoming.
Maintenance and housekeeping presented unwelcome issues though. Namely: our tub was dirty upon arrival. Not just the rogue hair, but it was covered in a wet black substance with bits of clear jelled substance and just plain gross. That was promptly taken care of by a manager but did cause some disruption as it required 1 maintenance person and 2 maids who were covering their faces as the chemical to clean was a bit offensive (I must mention there are no fans in bathrooms.) The shower to the pool (where guests must shower BEFORE entering the pool) was not working properly either. Just sending a small stream of water out at a 90 degree angle. Didn't stop the guests from using the pool, though I thought this was a bit icky. The hot tub was not working either during our stay. The jets were fine, it was not a systems problem, but a chemical management problem - the staff was not able to balance the chemicals and an "engineer" would have to be called in. The hot tub was not opened during our stay.
Breakfasts here are great. Manager's reception is fine. Our last night there, the manager's reception ran out of food after the 1 hour mark and there was only one bartender on duty despite a large influx of guests for a convention. Poor planning on their part, I guess. Room Service was prompt when we ordered.
However, I do want to state, that all the staff we met was helpful, friendly and neat. Access to the hotel was easy.
Will we stay there next year? We will definitely shop around first, did not think service/amenities condition were in line with star rating/cost.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2007. The suite was very spacious and clean. The kids enjoyed the hotel and liked the pool. The breakfast buffet was very generous and the food was fresh and good. They will make omelets or eggs to order. In the evenings they have a manager's reception from 5:30-7:30 that includes light appetizers and beer and wine and soft drinks. We ordered room service two times and the food arrived quickly and was hot and very tasty. I liked the location of this property-it was very easy to walk around downtown and to catch MAX-the light rail system which is clean and very easy to use. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff leaves a checklist for you to indicate what time is convenient for you to have the room serviced. It is a beautiful old style hotel and the lobby is striking. We will definitely go back to this hotel again. The kids are already asking when!

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — view was of other hotel rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Stayed here for one night over Memorial Day weekend en route to Oregon wine country. The building is quite impressive and Hilton/Embassy did a nice job retaining the "old hotel" feel while combining modern amenities. The front desk staff was excellent, however I wish I could say the same thing for the concierge. Every time we attempted to approach her, she was on the phone and made no effort to acknowledge our presence. The self-park is in a garage across the street from the hotel and payment is with the garage directly. However, we noticed that self-parking seemed to be much more efficient than valet.

The happy hour and breakfast were held in a room two flights down from street level, however the room was massive and did not feel like a basement. The food and drink was good for a "freebie".

Overall, would definitely stay here again if I needed accommodations in downtown Portland.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in an Executive Suite, room 403. The room was wonderful -- very spacious and spotlessly clean with an extremely comfortable King bed. It was a quiet corner room with lots of windows overlooking the city and included a large conference style table that would seat 8. This wouldn't have been my first choice for a room, but it came in handy when my husband had to do some work and it was all that was available on that particular weekend.

We tried the free buffet breakfast one day and it was surprisingly good. The maid service was great, and they allow you to choose the time you'd like to have your room cleaned. We ordered room service one evening and the food arrived 15 minutes later, piping hot. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful.

My one very minor complaint: The windows don't open and are all completely sealed with big sheets of plexiglas. I love fresh air and would like to have one or two that opened, even a crack.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Building better than staff. This hotel is extremely quiet for being downtown. A great full service breakfast free with the room, which is beautifully designed and very roomy. Nice desk area lots of electrical outlets no complaints. Desk staff seemed to need a little work in their hospitality skills, not very knowledgeable. Catering staff needs lots of assistance in learning their area, did not return calls properly or communicate to banquet staff properly .

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Just wanted to re-iterate all the other great reviews - stayed at this hotel in April with my husband, girlfriend and 7 month old. We had a two bedroom/two bathroom suite, which was wonderfully comfortable.

The doormen were amazing. We came from Vancouver, BC, and got stuck in the Everett/Seattle/Tacoma rush hour traffic on a Fri, so it took us over 8 hours to get to Portland with our baby crying most of the time. When we arrived, the doormen asked if we wanted valet or self-park and I wearily asked how much each was. The doormen could see how exhausted we were and immediately said he would give us valet for free for the three nights we were staying there. Then he made sure we checked in quickly, took us to our rooms, got us ice and asked us many times if we had any questions or if there was anything else he could do for us. Thus, our first impression of the hotel was wonderful.

The breakfast had great tasting food that was always replenished and plentiful. We never made it to a manager's reception, but I have no doubt that would be great as well.

In terms of noise, we live in downtown Vancouver, so in comparison, downtown Portland is really really quiet. So we didn't think there were any noise problems. Never heard any other guests either.

Being a former hostel/backpacker, I still think spending ~$75-100/night/person is ridiculous, but in my older age and with a baby now, comfort often outweighs cheap costs. So if you're looking for a convenient downtown location, and all the extras that come with staying at a nice hotel, this place is definitely worth the extra dollars.

  • Liked — Location, great staff, breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.