We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Shop Tax Free
Ranked #13 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The lobby is stunning in this converted century old building. Right around the corner from the famous Voodoo donuts! Staff is ultra friendly and the rooms are great. This place is very clean and the breakfast they serve downstairs is great too. Right downtown close to everything. When I go back to Portland I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so pleased our staff was “ultra friendly” to you, Ian, and I will make sure they know! We have a lot of history and reputation to live up to from within the walls of the Multnomah Hotel which opened in 1912. It’s always great to hear we are doing a good job. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    410
    91
    35
    17
See reviews for
397
316
64
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d alene, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Old and dated hotel. Rooms comfortable, but again needs updating. Charged $10 for internet and $27 per night for parking. Price was high for what you received. Breakfast was good, but tough to catch an elevator to basement where it is located. Not in the best section of town, but very close to Voodoo donuts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the insight about your stay with us, John K. We recently redecorated all the suites and are going to start working on updating the lobby soon. I hope you will be able to come back again so we can WOW you with our new digs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everything about this hotel was first rate. From the time we checked until our departure the staff was very polite and helpful. They had very god recommendations for places to see and eat, as well as being helpful about how to get around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
BruceM, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am happy you had a good experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. We went to a show at Keller Auditorium and were able to walk. Saturday market is also only a few blocks. This hotel is in a great location. Great staff. Nice size rooms. Clean. Will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Happy anniversary, Gary, and I am so glad you were able to spend your special time with us. Thank you for the review and we’ll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights recently on a quilting tour. Lovely big room with every mod con,and a very comfy bed with beautifully ironed sheets. Found the front door staff very helpful with directions and marking landmarks on the map for us,as the hotel is well placed for shops and restuarants. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The managers reception from 5.30 til 7.30pm with drinks and nibbles was a great idea
enabeling us to get together in small groups after a day out (there were 2 coach loads of us!)
Found the hotel bar a little disconcerting, if I ordered a glass of white wine I never knew which kind or price the barman would be giving me. There didnt seem to be a standard measure or price.
Wi Fi was ONLY in the lobby unless you pay $9.95 a day!!!!! I have found that most other hotels
provide free wi fi these days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Wendy, we always love when your group comes to stay with us and this year was no different! It was a pleasure to see everyone again and so nice to hear your visit and the tours were fun. I will pass on your lovely comments and we will see you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my first time to Portland and I was here on business. I decided to use the Embassy because of the usual Embassy Perks. The front desk staff seemed pleasant, but when it was asked about restaurants around the area, they just gave us the map, offered no personal suggestions. Usually at hotels this nice they give some type of personal tidbits to go with the sheet but that we didn't mind. The breakfast and manger's reception was excellent. The ladies that cooked the omelettes and made the drinks were cool under all the people that were waiting. Also for business travelers, we sometimes just want to come to the room and relax, and I felt that with all the money we are paying, we can at least get some cable channels on the television that were not scrambled. The hotel overall was clean and all the staff including the housekeepers were very friendly. What was not so nice about the area was the countless homeless people that were around the hotel. I was in a group and we didn't feel comfortable walking around at night in that neighborhood. It is not to say anything bad about the area or the people, it is just not what we wanted to do as women. We were approached by someone as we walked into the hotel the first night, the next time we just drove everywhere we wanted to go.
Parking is very very high, we ended up parking our car in offsite facilities that was way cheaper than the hotel.

Overall good experience, but I think next time I will stay outside the city center or over in the Pearl District.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Tee, thank you for your feedback about your stay and I will speak to each department about your concerns. Were you able to speak with our Concierge while you were here? She offers some great ideas about places to go and where to eat. Hopefully you will be back soon so we can WOW you. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lounge area. This historic hotel is well appointed & good walking distance to everything. My only beef was that you have to pay $9.99 per day for Internet access (via phone too) unless you go down to the lobby or have AT&T or Hilton hotel membership. Given this is not a cheap hotel and much lower priced hotels have FREE access, this just seemed cheesy. Breakfast was great and happy hour good but I would be willing to go for one glass of free wine and have free Internet access in my room! Parking is high but so glad to have valet given my husband has a disability.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Barb, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.