We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Shop Tax Free
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Would like to extend a sincere "thank you!" to Josiah McNamara and the rest of the staff at the downtown Portland Embassy Suites. From check-in to check-out, service was nothing short of exceptional, especially during a BUSY holiday weekend. Rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. Hotel was very central to a lot of attractions and conveniences and extremely close to public transportation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review, Tyme512!

Josiah will be very happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    380
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
350
288
59
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great time and enjoyed our stay. Swimming pool was closed due a leak and repair. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The rooms were cleaned and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was awesome, specially the hotel concierge lady (Zenah!). She tried her best to make our stay and tour around the city easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We LOVE Zannah, and are so happy to hear you appreciated her too. :)

Thank you for staying with us, Arto B. We hope to see you back in Portland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love the beauty and grace of this old hotel, as well as the professionalism of the staff! The rate was a bit high, but since we booked late and got one of the few remaining rooms it was not totally unexpected. Would liked to have seen a few hot items at the manager's reception, but as it is complimentary again not unexpected. Would stay here again if in Portland!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review, DawnyMT!

We appreciate any and all comments about our complimentary amenities, and hot items for our Evening Reception would be a great addition!

Thank you again. Hope to see you back in Portland soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Embassy Suites in Downtown Portland and really loved how comfortable the hotel is as well as how close it is to so many great places. We were able to walk just about every place we wanted to go and get to the Tri Met to take the light rail outside of downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel beds were very comfortable.

We were glad that we were a short distance from the Oregon Beer Fest that was happening over the weekend. Also, Stumptown coffee across the street is a great place for morning coffee. Voodoo Doughnuts is just a block away. In addition, I loved the proximity to the Waterfront so that I could go running in the mornings. If you're a runner, you don't want to miss a nice run along the Willamette River in Portland. It's great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We're so glad you took advantage of everything within walking distance to our front doors!

We hope you had a lovely time at Oregon's Beer Fest, and come back next year for round 2. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived thinking we were going to be spending four nights, we departed after two. First of all, the pool was closed (with no previous disclosure), so be sure and ask if the pool is yet open. For a summer of above average temperatures, this could be a deal breaker for you (especially if you are a family with children). The double bedroom accommodation with living room in the center is very adequate, especially for families. What is not acceptable is the fact that right across the street from the hotel, the city has allowed an extensive homeless population to create a 'tent city' (search youtube for videos). We were informed by hotel staff that the reason has to do with a dispute with the land owner and the city, over property development rights. There were unflattering 'words' from these 'residents' while we were coming back to the hotel one afternoon. We mentioned the incident to hotel staff, and were told 'they are really harmless.' This is just not an adequate response. Otherwise, it's a nice looking hotel, with all the adequate services, and the staff overall is accommodating. As mentioned, we were to have stayed longer, but cut our stay in half for obvious reasons, and we will not be visiting again until these major issues are resolved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I am SO sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect, bjaa!

We should have taken much better care of your family when our pool was unexpectedly closed.

The City of Portland is working on resolving many issues regarding the downtown homeless population. Fingers crossed that they reach a resolution soon!

Thank you again for your honest comments. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest's experience, and reviews like this are very helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just completed our 1 week stay at this Embassy Suites. Overall our stay was great. Our suite was very roomy with a completely separate bedroom that connected to our living room area. This was so nice as our kids were able to fall asleep soundly on the pullout couch (which was surprisingly comfortable) and my husband and I were able to stay up and have our privacy.
The lobby was quite large and grand in decoration, the indoor pool was like a roman bath and temperature kept a comfortable level.
The breakfast was steady, the usuals every morning, (bacon, eggs, omelets etc..) the fruit was actually fresh and tasty. The managers reception had a great selection of wines, daily mixed drink and 3 beers. They did have an amazing sangria that I enjoyed daily. The snack spread varied sometimes it was really good with veggies, hummus and guacamole and other days just chips and salsa.

My only complaint was the staff, especially the valet staff. We had an incident with one of valet people who was very rude. We used the self parking across the street in a very old and narrow parking structure that is difficult to navigate thru and the valet person almost crashed into us and then proceded to scream at my husband . The hotel staff was just really indifferent and not very friendly. Only housekeeping was friendly. Everyone else was kind of bleh.. Its just not the kind of customer service we are used to.

Overall, the location is great because its across the street from Voodoo Doughnuts, Stumptown Coffee and other restaurants that are walking distance and close to the river front. But unfortunately there are a ton of homeless youths and the area is kind of dirty and run down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, MilkyMilk2013, and for making out hotel your home for an entire week!

I passed your notes along to Ace Valet. I am SO sorry that your family was treated that way in our garage, and that you didn't feel our customer service shined like it should.

We hope you choose Embassy again, if you find yourself in Portland. Please contact me, and I'll personally make sure your stay is fantastical! Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are huge and the comp. breakfast and evening reception were great! The only downfall was the restaurant "Prime" in the hotel was out of 3 different types of wine that was on their menu for 3 days straight. When asked why they just didn't go to a store and buy them to keep the guest happy, they were not too happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the notes on Portland Prime. I'll send this note along to their General Manager so they know!

Next time you're in town, contact Jessica.Sheeran@Hilton.com and she'll send up a nice Oregon Wine to test out. :)

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.