We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites - Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Self Parking Package
Ranked #9 of 132 hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
portland, United States
1 review
“Embassy Suites - Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice hotel, downtown Portland off the edge of the Pearl District. Nice location to restaurants and shops, and the max line rail system. Hotel appears to be older renovated with modern amenities. Hotel was clean, service was excellent. Included with stay was breakfast in the morning and an evening reception for a drink and snack - nice touch. Like a lot of hotels in Portland in the summer - it books up fast so plan if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, Michael S!

We appreciate your review, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    316
    63
    23
    15
See reviews for
300
245
49
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location which is walking distance to the food carts and has a central location. Valet people were very nice and told me where to park to avoid paying the atrocious valet parking costs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, ADG1234, and for the review! We're so glad you had a wonderful time in Portland and hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A bit dated and the soundproofing in my room wasn't perfect, but my corner suite was huge, the complementary breakfast was a nice touch, and the indoor pool and fitness center were fine. The service overall seemed quite good. The location near the light rail was also a bonus, and both downtown and the water front were within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review, Andrew W!

We're very excited to start renovating our rooms in November! We hope you'll be able to stop in and take a peak at our updates when we're done. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is great for families with small children traveling to Portland. It's in a convenient location - walking distance to the river, downtown shopping, and great restaurants. The two-room suite was perfect, and the morning breakfast was great. The indoor pool was a bit chilly, but our girls still loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, LDSChicago!

I'll have my engineer take a peak at the temperature controls on our pool ASAP. Thank you for letting us know!

We hope to see you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful historic building but in an area of town that is clearly dominated by some serious issues with homelessness. As elsewhere, Embassy Suites provides rooms that are wonderfully large for extended families; however, here -- perhaps elsewhere -- the rooms are also priced accordingly: couples are paying a premium for family-sized rooms, unless you want the size. The hotel also caters to families in every other respect, too: the pool is essentially dominated by kids, the breakfast area by families. (The breakfast is, however, excellent -- just not worth the high price one would be paying for it. The fitness room is a bit of a joke.) We enjoyed our stay but did not feel at all that the price was worth it. Additionally, to add insult to injury, one has to pay for both wifi and parking. Ouch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the review, odot!

We do certainly have a family boom during the summers. We notice a considerable change in guests when school's back in session.

We love any and all comments on improvements that could be made. What was your biggest issue with our fitness center?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton WV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel 3 years ago, and was taken a bit aback by the price these days (a negotiated rate of $169). The location is still great (walk to Saturday Market, Voodoo Donut, all sorts of cool downtown places). The lobby is still fabulous, although the lobby furniture is starting to show its age. I had issues with housekeeping-I had to call at 10pm Friday to get my room serviced. Breakfast was great, although with the hotel being full it was a bit chaotic.

Room Tip: Being there on the 4th of July, if you were on higher floors you could see the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the review, Lspdoll!

We start renovating all of our guest rooms in November, so hopefully you'll be back in another 3 years to enjoy our updates!

Glad you got to take in Portland's 4th of July fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hilton/Embassy Suites has done a great job keeping a dated & probably historic building up to modern standards. Prime location downtown if you're looking to checkout the local food & beer scene, which means Voodoo Donuts, a lot of notable Food Stands/Pods/Trucks nearby, brunch spots, as well as the brewery, bar & lounge scene a bit to the west. Stayed here for 3 nights over July 4th Weekend.

Close to the waterfront, everything is very walkable to all the main attractions a foodie or family may want to find downtown.

An extra nod to the very friendly and sincere hotel staff that always made me feel welcomed. This ranges from the helpful lobby staff during check in, accommodating bell hops, hospitality crew, and the manager's happy hour bar staff.

Expect the usual Embassy Hotel chain accommodations, which means free happy hour each evening and a cooked to order breakfast. The type of beer on tap was far better then previous Embassy's I've been to, then again this is probably Portland's vibrant craft brewery scene at work.

Only complaints I would have is that the standard 2 room suites I'm used to expecting at Embassy hotels wasn't as big as usual but this is due to the building being historically old, which also leads to the walls not being as sound proof as desired, especially if you're in a room near the elevator.

Recommended hotel & location if you're checking out downtown PDX whether for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the elevator due to older, less soundproof rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Historic Property is right, supaLink! Once the Multnomah Hotel, we just hit our 100th Birthday this year, and hope to make it another 100!

Thank you for the wonderful review, and for choosing Portland's 4th of July fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.