We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
VooDoo Doughnuts
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The historic beauty of this hotel was warm and welcoming. The lobby is a beautiful cornerstone to the building. Staff was attentive and quickly responsive to any needs. The food was excellent for breakfast and lunch. The hotel rooms were spacious. Was here for a conference and the conference room was elegant and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants and near the river. Certainly worth considering for future business.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review, bluejean62!

Hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    372
    80
    33
    17
See reviews for
344
284
58
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family just stayed at the Embassy Suites in downtown Portland. It wasn't bad it was just very average. The staff was very nice and everyone was friendly but the hotel needs some updating. The lobby is beautiful. The bathrooms in the rooms are updated but the carpeting, window treatments etc are old and dingy. And whatever you do, DO NOT ask for a roll away bed! The first one they brought up had a nasty brown spot on it and we sent it back. The second two had springs pressing through the mattress. We finally just took two extra blankets and put them under the sheet to pad the mattress. Shouldn't have to do that. We stayed in the executive suite which is nice and big but the air conditioning blew so strongly right on out heads that we had to suffer in the heat. Overall I give it a C. I think Embassy Suites could do much better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, family k! And thank you for your review.

You'll be happy to know that we are updating our rooms starting November 2013. (We're all very excited!) You'll have to come take a peak after we're done and let us know your honest opinion.

I'm glad you brought the condition of our roll-away beds to my attention. No one should resort to sleeping on a pile of blankets at our hotel! I'm very sorry that was the case for your stay.

Do you remember what room number you were in? I'd like to send my Engineering up to tweak the Air Conditioning asap.

Thanks again for your helpful comments, family k!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. The lobby reflects years gone by, with marble columns and floors. The hotel was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the suite was very spacious. This hotel may have been built in the last century but it has all the up to date electronics. The hotel is located in downtown Portland yet the room was very quiet. The indoor pool was very nice and quite big, it also had two spas. The manager reception in the evening was held in a large area. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was offered free by the hotel with an excellent assortment of items, including made to order omelets. I have already recommended this hotel to some friends. I plan on staying here again next year on my annual visit to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Cherie F!

We love to hear that our guests are happy and want to return. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Embassy Suites has large rooms and a great place to staying in downtown. Just finished my two day stay in Portland and had no complaints. Since I was here last they remodeled the common areas, but the rooms are still the same. The rooms are large and have great views of the area. The restaurant in the hotel is a good close place get lunch or dinner and better than most restaurants at other Embassy Suites. The hotel is right across the street from Stumptown Coffee. Parking is expensive because there is limited parking in downtown, but the valet was quick and competent.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in one of the three towers, these rooms are larger and have more windows. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, Joshua K!

We're very excitedly awaiting the renovation of our rooms starting November 2013! You'll have to let us know what you think when they're all shiny and new. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was very nice and in a good location, but was advertised by my conference as having all suites for our room block. I was originally booked in a king studio despite reserving a room early. After several calls I was able to secure a king suite to suite my needs of sleeping 2 people, but feel that the hotel was trying to put us in lesser rooms at our rate. VooDoo Doughnuts was across the street which was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Huge, comfortable rooms...amazing free breakfast with many choices...good location...beautiful hotel...in-room movies...very friendly and helpful employees...yummy and reasonably priced restaurant...paper thin walls room to room...very little hallway noise, but from our room you could hear entire conversations of the people in the next room...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Christina H!

I hope you didn't suffer too much from the conversations next door. :( Next time you run into this, let our front desk know. We can move you asap to a room with less noisy neighbors!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The smiling doormen open the door to the elegance of the early 20th century and we were sincerely welcomed by the charming and beautiful Zannah, the best hotel hostess ever, who my eight year old daughter immediately decided was her friend. The restored brilliance of the hotel makes you think Gatsby may come waltzing out of the elevator with the Romanian princess who once resided here. The attractive Bosnian girls at the front desk give an Eastern European air to a very easy and welcoming check-in service. Zannah gave us some of the hotel history and the story of the pilot that once flew off the roof of the hotel. A model of his airplane is in the lobby. We were able to check in early and our room was great with two queen beds and a very nice living room. We didn't have much of a view but we weren't there to sit and look out window. The location is great for access to river walk, Powell's bookstore, a Starbucks, Max transit, and central downtown. Free breakfast is quite good and the old fountain in breakfast area puts a smile on a little girl's face. There is a game room down there with a cool old pinball machine that we played. Nice pool, hot tub, and workout room. This was a Daddy/Daughter Rose Festival weekend and Zannah and staff helped make it a memory of a lifetime. Looking forward to bringing girlfriend here!

Room Tip: As expected, you will pay more for view but our room was very quiet and richly appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We're so glad you had such a wonderful time in Portland, Maxtrap!

This review was forwarded on to Zannah and our Front Desk gals, and it certainly make their day!

Hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#15 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.