We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Shop Tax Free
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Shelton, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for a getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

In what was once the Multanomah Hotel, the classic building is a bit of a step back in design but current in everything else. It's only a block from Chinatown and the incredible city block Chinese Lan Su Gardens. Voodoo doughnuts is close and you can't miss it for the lines waiting to get in for the bacon maple bars! The staff was friendly and the rooms are large and well appointed. A stay includes a free breakfast and a great managers wine welcome. In reality it's the drink of your choice and although it's a large room the bartender was warm and welcoming. Powell's bookstore is a short walk up Burnside street, and the river but a short two blocks East. Parking is all around and I'm not sure what you consider reasonable but for about eighteen dollars it was good for twenty four hours. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    380
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
350
288
59
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Intro: Embassy Suites Portland- Downtown is a comfortable, clean place that always puts me in a good mood, just knowing we're going to Portland makes me excited because I know I'm staying here. I stay here every time I go to Portland and I've always had an amazing experience during my stay. Rooms: Very spacious and comfy, with two separate beds. Everything is clean, nice, in good shape as usual. Pool: On the upside of pools, not too deep (children like me, the "Kritic" sometimes need it that way) fun to swim in, and great for me to practice in. Lobby: Very nice, always gives me a good feeling like I mentioned above, also with a nice little gift shop. Breakfast & Reception: I wouldn't have either if them any other way! I can't even say anything about them! They're both outstanding! Location: Very nice location in downtown Portland, easy access to OMSI and other Restaurants and other attractions. Overall: I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Portland.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. The location was great as it is close to downtown shopping, Chinatown and the Pearl District. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub on Saturday night, but on Sunday morning the hot tub and pool were very crowded. The manager's reception was nice, but crowded and difficult to find a table. The breakfast had a better variety of food, even included an omelet station, but the quality of food was average. We had a nice dinner at Portland Prime which was connected to the hotel and enjoyed listening to a jazz trio. The extra cost for Wi-FI ($10 a night) and parking ($30 a night) were aggravating. Better to park across the street as mentioned in previous reviews. Overall we had a good visit and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was located in the perfect place in downtown Portland to allow guests to walk to any area of interest. The staff was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The exterior of the hotel has wonderful character and that same character and beauty can be found in the spacious lobby. Our room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Six of us girls stayed here for one night. The room was big and very cozy. We loved that Voo Doo donuts was right across the street, we could actually see the long go from long to really long from our window in our suite. The managers reception was fantastic and the morning breakfast was awesome. We parked across the street for $18.(recommended by the very nice valet man) Not too bad for downtown Portland. This hotel is walking distance from Hubers (where you should try the famous spanish coffee), Darcell's and of course Voo Doo donuts. Great place for the $$$. Definately will visit again=)

Room Tip: Self park for $18
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our family visited this wonderful hotel in mid January for one night. The room was simple, but perfectly appointed with a separate bedroom and living room. Location is great within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, and food carts, plus voodoo donuts is right across the street!

The best part of our stay was the a.m.a.z.i.n.g breakfast buffet! It's included in your stay and really cannot be matched. It was the perfect addition to a nice night's sleep.

We will surely be visiting this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Centrally located, managers reception & full breakfast make this an easy choice. Hotel is starting to show a bit of wear, but nothing to really complain about. I also think that the manager's reception has slipped a little bit from previous years and the reception/breakfast room is starting to look a bit tired. Nice place though, and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.