We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Embassy Suites...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Downtown Parking
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top Notch Embassy Suites...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not your normal run of the mill Embassy Suites. Portland's Multnomah Hotel built in 1912 has been completely renovated by Hilton for the best of what is loved about Embassy Suites - Big Rooms/Suites/Free Breakfast/Drinks and overall good value for the money. Will be my first choice of places to stay in Portland in the future...

Tips: There is a Hertz right across the street if you want to rent a car for the day to visit Oregon's wine country and on Saturday don't miss the Saturday Market!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we had some LOUD neighbors. I realize that the hotel cannot fix this problem however the walls did seem awfully thin. We could even hear our neighbor peeing and the phone ringing at 230am (probably hotel staff telling them to quiet down). We stayed in room 433 and the room on the end was the loud one.
The hotel is beautiful. Our check in was excellent. The two gentlemen on staff greeted us warmly and the one with Spokane written on his tag even checked to see if our room was ready at 1pm instead of the 3pm check in time. They gave us a map of the downtown area and seemed very sincere in wanting us to ask them for help if we needed it. The room itself was very clean and the layout is great.
We ordered room service twice and both times the food arrived very quickly, they had all of our order and did not forget anything. They were kind, quick, and efficient. The price was average for hotel food but the quality was good.
Parking was interesting and a bit on the spendy side.
There was no complimentary wi-fi which was very inconvenient. We opted not to purchase it due to comments from previous posts.
The location is great. Right in the middle of everything. It was a quick walk to the different bakeries and chocolate shops. Voodoo Donuts is just next door. Pioneer square is a few blocks over. There are plenty of food trucks in a couple different locations. Powells was down a few blocks as well.
The only other downside was the girl at the front desk this morning. She did not seem to care about us and seemed bothered when we tried to ask a question. We asked about parking validation and she had no idea what we were talking about.
If there was a way to make the walls thicker and have a nicer person at the front desk in the morning, this would have been an amazing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had our annual business planning here this year. Hilton did a great job on this old hotel, more character than the typical Embassey Suites. Good size rooms and I love having the seperate bedroom since I get up much earlier than my wife. Cooked to order omlets for breakfast and the same basement room hosts the Manager's Reception, not as cosy as many of these hotels. Close to the river and plenty of downtown shopping. For some it is important to be so close to Voodoo Donuts. Decent gym, good pool and spa. Suggest you ask for an inside room, no view but quieter than street side rooms. Valet parking is expensive but self parking is a bit dicey, very tight

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbqmaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this property! From check in to check out I was beyond pleased. We arrived early and the young man checking us in got us into a room a little bit early which was very nice. The room was amazingly comfortable and quiet which surprised me as we were on a corner room on a busy downtown street. The bed was heavenly. The property has a gym and a beautiful indoor heated pool which I used, in the basement. The breakfast was cooked to order with an omelette station. The staff was friendly and helpful and I have to say I would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it to my friends. Kudos to management!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

These are nice rooms.
The price may seem high but could be worth it if you take advantage of the evening reception with drinks and light snacks and the complimentary breakfast which can fill you up. Saved me over $50 per day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfromtacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We all know Embassy Suites and despite the value for dollar, they suffer from a sense that they are generic and boring. Not boutique! There are many lovely boutique hotels in Portland. But they are mostly twice as $ as Embassy Suites or more. This hotel at Pine and 4th is at the heart of fascinating, foodie, walker-friendly, weekend market Portland. The cooked breakfast is excellent. Endless coffee shops and cafes, oyster bars, pubs, the famous Powell's bookstore, the river, are all walkable and the city's fantastic transport loop makes everything accessible. The hotel upgraded our room to a true suite which was great for the grandkids to run about. Self-parking around the corner is reasonable for the Pacific NW. Daytime parking is easy. I liked this place! ok fitness centre but nice indoor pool for kids.

Room Tip: Go high for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strider462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are great. We went as a family and got the 2 room suite and it was very convenient. The breakfast buffet was large..but not many vegetarian options... The hotel lobby is majestic. The rooms are very clean. The staff is great. The location is walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing