We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Self Parking Package
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stay over in Portland a few times a year and our first choice is always this hotel. The rooms are exceptionally spacious, the evening manager's reception is a favorite of my husband's, and we both look forward to the huge complimentary breakfast. This is a great location. VooDoo Donuts is just around the corner. You will definitely feel spoiled if you stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for being such loyal guests. We truly value our guests and love to hear when we have become our guests hotel of choice when visiting the Portland area! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    357
    73
    30
    17
See reviews for
334
269
54
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have stayed at many Embassy Suites Hotels for business. This was a lovely remodeled/clean/spacious hotel with ample free breakfast & good location.

My main complaint: I called the front desk to report a loud party next door to my room. The front desk staff didn't seem too concerned. Security was sent & after knocking several times on the "party" door, they asked the occupants to tone it down a bit (the volume was only lowered a fraction) as the lady in the next room (me) had complained. I feel this was a breach of my personal security. When a fight broke out in the hallway (by my door) a few minutes later, I again called the front desk. This time no one picked up. Probably saw the room # that was originating the call & decided that I was a cranky woman. Keep in mind it was now 12midnight. I needed to be up at 3am for an early morning flight home. Realizing that I wasn't going to get much rest, I moved the king size heavy comforter & pillows to the living area stiff/uncomfortable couch. As the noise continued (TV & radio), I finally drifted off to about 45 minutes sleep. Definitely not a good ending.......Uncaring front desk personnel & security who risked my safety.

Room Tip: The Room 303 TV & radio are right next to the wall. You can hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I would first like to apologize about the experience you had during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that we take noise issues seriously and do the best that we can to control the situation, including eviction of the distruptive guests if necessary.

I don't want you to feel like our staff would purposely avoid your calls, it is most likely that she was away from the desk at the moment and didn't get to the phone in time. Regardless, I am sorry that it left you feeling like you weren't being taken care of, so please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel and let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Grand Lady as they like to call turned 100 last week and I was lucky enough to be there for the celebration. They have done a great job staying with its history but adding enough modern comforts for a great combination.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the Mezzanine rooms as the space, view and proximity to all of the hotel servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria bc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great stay here over the weekend. The room was very spacious and as I am in the military a great discount. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic with a multitude of choices. This certainly saved us around $50 a day. The Coctail hour was fun as well with free flowing Wine Beer and a signiture coctail. If you want something different to dring they sell other drinks at very low prices. The hotel is downtown and a quick walk to the Markets and shops. Voodoo Doghnuts is on the opposite corner so I was dispatched at 0600 on the Sunday Morning to buy some (there was still a queue!). The parking was over the road and a fair price for the city. I would have no hesitation at staying again.

Room Tip: The Higher floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at the Embassy Suites Portland Downtown. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and were able to take advantage of our fantastic downtown location. Sounds like you had a great time and hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Conveniently located within walking distance from the riverfront and many restaurants and bars this beautifully renovated historical hotel was a nice surprise! The hotel itself has a lot of style and warmth, along with an indoor pool and jacuzzis. Rooms are clean and spacious. The service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and made a big effort to make sure we enjoyed our stay. If you visit in the summer you are right near the big farmers market/fair on the water front, which is home to many vendors selling food, plants, jewelry and so much more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. But even more moved by the fact that our hotel staff played such a prominent role it making that happen. We truly care that our guests are well taken care of and I'm glad you experienced that first hand. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we left the taxi with multiple bags, nothing was too much trouble for the valets. As we were much too early for check-in, our bags were stored and reception staff assisted with directions around Portland. Reception called us later to advise our suite was available. The suite was great for 3 adults, two bedrooms (1 king), 2 bathrooms and comfortable sitting room. The bed was heavenly! Complimentary breakfast had quite a good range to choose from (including made to order omelets) and once again service in breakfast room was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you kindly for writing such a nice review of your stay with us. It seems as if our staff made you feel welcome and well taken care of from the moment you arrived to the very moment you left. For that I am thrilled. We hope you will make the journey back to the states soon and again get the pleasure of providing you a comfortable place to stay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife & I stayed there for 2 nights last week. When we first pulled up in front of the hotel, the valet asked us if we were valet or self parking our car. We asked what the difference was and were told "it's $30 to valet, $20 to self park". I asked where the self parking lot was, the valet pointed across the street and we decided that we would self park. While checking in at the front desk, we were asked again about self/valet parking and this time were told that it costs $20 each time you enter the self parking lot! We then decided to valet the car as we were planning to use the car a few times a day. When I went back to the valet and told him we would be valet parking the car, I started to get, and continued to get, an attitude from the valets despite tipping them each time. The second day of our stay we pulled up to the hotel at around 4pm, I handed my keys to the valet and he asked if we would "need the car again today"? I could tell he was disappointed when I told him I wasn't sure. Imagine having to decide vacation plans around a valet's approval of your plans! When my wife and I checked out the next day after a 2 night stay. The valet pulled our car up for us and didn't even offer to help with our bags, even after I tipped him for pulling the car up!
The room was huge and a very nice breakfast was served. Room service was great too.
Would not stay there again because of the valets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am terribly sorry and saddened to hear of your experience with our front door staff during your time with us. This is definitely not the level of service we strive to provide our guests and so I am sorry that it is the level in which you received. I understand that you don't feel like you'd want to stay with us again, but I would love the opportunity to make it up to you and have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.