We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 54th Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Shop Tax Free
Ranked #14 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best 54th Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is top notch from the wonderful people at the front desk, guys parking cars outside, to the entertainment from the Omelet guy, who was a hoot.
They are about the most helpful, friendly people we have stayed with.
Congratulations to the Management team who hired them.
Again thanks for making our Anniversary one we will not soon forget.
Don and Marge R

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion and that our hotel played a role in creating those wonderful and lasting memories.

The next time you’re in Portland I would like to extend my services to you so I can help ensure that your next stay is as memorable as the last.

Leesa McCall
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    380
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
350
288
59
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just adding to all the other recent reviews of this hotel---it's a real gem. It's located right in downtown about three blocks from the waterfront. The location is by no means in the ritziest section of downtown, but it's fine and within easy walking distance to the Pearl District, Pioneer Square shopping, Chinatown, etc. You will see lots of homeless people, but downtown Portland has homeless people everywhere.

We stayed here for two weekend nights. The hotel is in a historic building (not your typical ES) and has a huge, extravagant lobby. Our suite was comparable to what you would get in some of the most luxurious hotels, with two TV's. very comfortable bed, etc. For the price, it seemed to be a real bargain compared to some of the other downtown Portland places (especially with the free breakfast).

Service during our entire stay was EXCELLENT. For example, Anna at the front desk was able to get us a last minute Saturday night reservation at Andina in the Pearl District, the city's top rated restaurant. At the end of our excellent meal, we were surprised to receive dessert wine and sweets which had been ordered for us compliments of Anna at the hotel----WOW! All of the other staff that we encountered were friendly also, and such a great service attitude is so important to having a pleasant stay at any hotel.

The hotel has a nice indoor pool area with a good pool and two hot tubs, and the adjacent fitness room was above average. Breakfast is served in a large room on a basement level. The breakfast was good---generally in line with what you get at other Embassy Suites. Parking is either valet or in a deck directly across the street. The parking deck cost is only $18 a day, less than what other downtown hotels seem to charge. The parking deck is a bit cramped, but has 8-9 stories, so there's always enough parking.

Connected to the hotel is an upscale steak house, Portland Prime, which is highly rated. It's not owned by the hotel. We ate there one night (did not have steak) and found it to be in the same mode and no better or worse than the typical upscale chain steakhouse. But overall this restaurant was fine.

Room Tip: Because of the configuration of the hotel, not many of the rooms have a good view, and most seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
The fact that you took the time to write such a well thought out response means a lot to us here at the Embassy Suites Portland Downtown, so thank you! We pride ourselves on our service, and by reading your review it solidifies that we are on the right track to delivering our goal of always providing the highest level of service possible for our guests.

I truly hope that you will again choose to stay with us the next time you get the opportunity to travel to Portland. And please contact the hotel directly if there is ever anything we can do to ensure your next stay is even better than your last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room was large, well furnished, and comfortable well situated in the city. Complimentary breakfast was better unusually good and cocktail in after noon was unexpected and appreciated. Price was a bargain for this quality. It was near boo doo donuts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was an excellent choice for our first trip to Portland. My husband appriciated that they still have smoking rooms with terrific venting. Fantastic location for shopping and the Saturday Market was the real shopping highlight only 2 blocks away!. It is a great benefit that you fill out a card to schedule a time for your room to be made up so we always had a nice fresh room when we returned from our morning excurison. A quick walk to Dan and Louis Oyster Bar and Voodoo Donuts. This hotel served a great breakfast and a low key happy hour in a nice clean dining area with courteous staff. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Portland is not one of my favorite cities BUT it is a necessary business and social destination for anyone in the Northwest. This downtown hotel is truly an oasis of gracious comfort, with a very fine staff, lovely suites of rooms, immaculate accommodations and on the premises one of the best restaurants in town, "Portland Prime". It, along with all Embassy Suites hotels offers a very nice reception for guests every night with cocktails and snacks, and an excellent excellent cooked to order and buffet breakfast, both included in the room rate.
While Portland is more reminiscent of a giant sized Greenwich Village than anything else it does have a very fine Art Museum, good music and in easy reach, some beautiful county, waterfalls, a lovely river, and it is a pleasant drive to a lovely coast. See Cannon Beach!

Room Tip: All seem very fine. I prefer the higher floors as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful spacious hotel with an awesome large suite,friendly staff,great location and a fabulous hot breakfast buffet with made to order omlets as well as a cocktail hour with appetizers.All complimentary. This was our first stay at Embassy suites and we will definitely search for Embassy Suites in our future travel..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I'm so happy to hear that your first stay with an Embassy Suites left a lasting and positive impression, one that has you wanting to return to one during future travels. Thank you so much for choosing us and I hope that you continue to have amazing experiences when staying at Embassy Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel turned out to be, most likely, the best hotel stay I have ever had. I am not one for detail... but, we had a fantastic stay and the amenities (except, come on people... give them free wifi... its 2012) were amazing, and the people are exceptionally friendly.

The ONLY tick is the wifi. Really. Come on. Seriously, guys? Motel 8s give free Wifi.

Room Tip: Get a King Suite. Its not that much more and a much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.