We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cool organic local brewery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopworks Urban Brewery

Hopworks Urban Brewery
2944 SE Powell Blvd, Portland, OR 97202-2054
503-232-4677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“very cool organic local brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good work Christian! This place opened up near me a few years ago, and has been bustling ever since. Perfect combination of FABULOUS beer, very cool decor (PDX bike themed), TVs for sports, happy bartenders that know a lot about beer. I am obsessed with the IPA, and there are always interesting brews and seasonals on tap and nitro. My only complaint ... the food has always been just okay. I want to like it more ... and since I lived only a few blocks away I went a lot and have tried a lot of things ... but nothing has really stuck out as being awesome. I would recommend the pizzas, and for apps, I did really like the pretzels. But go for the beer! And sit outside in the summer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is hands down the best brew pub in Portland. I eat here frequently and have had a wide variety of both their happy hour and regular menu items. All have always been very good. Current favorite is the minestrone soup and side salad. It cannot be beat for the price.
The wait staff are great as well. Heather and Lilly are THE BEST!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Beers, Grumpy Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stopped in here on a recent trip to Portland, we were in town for the Holiday Ale Festival that was downtown; We like to visit breweries and brew pubs and sample all the beer we can. We sat at the bar and I asked the bartender if they offered smaller "taster" size glasses of their beer he said yes and I asked for a few and from here on out the service was horribly slow and the personality of the bartender was non-existent; it seemed like he did not want us there. After a few more tasters and much time wasted we left. If we return we'll try the service from a waitress at a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Portland Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten at Hopworks several times and have thoroughly enjoyed every meal. It's a lively, but family-friendly place with a creative menu, great service, and great tasting food. Whenever we're in Portland, Hopworks seems to top our list of favorite destinations.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“As brewery and restaurant goes, it is one of the best around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time visiting this restaurant/brewery and we still like the atmosphere as well as the food. I'm not a drinker but my son in law and my husband do enjoy their IPA beers

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopworks Urban Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Hopworks Urban Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopworks Urban Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.