We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleased, and looking forward to eating my way through the menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca

A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca
7742 SE 13th Avenue, Portland, OR 97202 (Sellwood - Moreland Improvement League)
+1 503-206-3291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 3,583 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Sellwood - Moreland Improvement League
Cross street: SE Lambert St.
Transit: Several on 13th Street
Description: At a Cena--Italian for 'come to supper', we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. We value fresh ingredients, local Portland area farmers, hand made pastas and cured meats, daily prepared breads, consistency, a well-matched wine list, and a seasoned and personable staff. With these elements, we strive to offer our guests a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen. Salute!
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Extremely pleased, and looking forward to eating my way through the menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This restaurant had been off my radar, although my wife and I used to eat at the place that was previously in this spot. I regret this - we have missed years of excellent dining! Luckily, we finally wised up, and tried A Cena last week. I'm happy to report it was fantastic, start to finish.

We got a friendly welcome when we walked in the door, and were immediately taken to our table (yes, Virginia - reservations are a good idea). Decor is cozy, tables are a little small & close together, but we're not unused to that. Service was attentive without being cloying, and waiter was very knowledgeable about the food; for wine questions, he went and asked the bar, which is good - he wasn't too proud to admit he didn't have all the answers, AND the advice we got was spot on.

Food was delicious - started with the baked Scamorza cheese, shared between two people. A gooey cheesefest! Smokey flavor of the melted cheese combined with crispy toasted ciabatta was a delight. Entrées were Pappardelle with duck confit and Tagliatelli with wild boar bolognaise -- impossible to say which was better. One note - as mentioned by other reviewers, portions are large - we could have easily shared one of these plates. Pasta dishes are offered in half sizes, which you might consider if you want to have dessert; we didn't, and we couldn't!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A Great Italian Restaurant in SE Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went to this restaurant for an early Friday evening dinner and it is a good thing because the place filled up fast. Much has been said about this restaurant in previous reviews and I have to agree, this is one of the premier Italian restaurants in Portland, OR. There are numerous Italian restaurant in Portland that try real hard but don't quite measure up. A Cena exceeds both in atmosphere, quality and service. If you are looking for a “true” Italian dinner place, you won't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Italian and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was a great dining experience. Service outstanding! The food was also very good. My only disappointment was in the portion sizes. We shared a salad and app then each ordered our own dinner portion of pasta. Each plate could have easily feed 2 or 3- very large and rich. I wish the server would have told us this and we would have been happy with the smaller size. The pastas come in 2 sizes. Anyway, that is something we will keep in mind when we go back. We will be back for sure! Some of the best service in Portland and excellent Italian food. Not a place to bring small children by the way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best meal I had all year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The atmosphere was wonderful. The owner/host and his wife are friendly and welcoming. The chef is amazing. The food was all expertly matched with the wine. The sweet corn ravioli was my favorite dish. The service was outstanding. What more can I say, this place is fantastico!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Whole Package for Dinner Out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to a busy place on a Saturday night but got in in no time. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly and intuitive. Bringing courses promptly and keeping wine and beverages filled. I had the lobster pasta dish they are noted for and it WAS more than notable. Extraordinary actually. Pastas are freshly made in house and the whole evening for two was under $100 tip and all. My husband had the wild boar tagliatelle, which was also amazing. Had to mark down one star for food ONLY because the calamari was a but salty. Otherwise, it was perfection. This is a Portland gem nestled nicely in Sellwood.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.