We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner Venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Restaurant

Lincoln Restaurant
3808 NE Williams Street, Portland, OR 97227
503-288-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lincoln Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE Failing St.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Visited with the Chef/Owner of this restaurant while working the demo stage at Feast Portland and joined some colleagues for dinner in the evening. Great menu with some interesting choices. Chose most of the appetizers and three great entrees. Also got some great desserts.

They are doing some great things here and if you have the opportunity to visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a Follower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After reading all the other reviews I felt a little tempted to "groupthink" and improve my review, but here's the real scoop from my perspective. Yes, the food is interesting and very good. However, it's the end of summer and if a place prides itself on fresh and local, where were the summer veggies? Why did 2 of the 4 entrees served at our table come with kale? And yet another salad with bleu cheese as the forward flavor? For the price and considering the hype, I need more originality. The ambience and wait staff were excellent, though, and maybe it was just a slightly off night for the food. Finally, we are not in New York or Paris: an $11 dessert of one broiled peach, 1/2 of a plum, and about 4 oz. of creme fraiche? Really.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love Lincoln!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been to Lincoln before & noticed that it's always a hot spot! This time, we were cautious and made reservations. There were 3 in our party. We had delicious cocktails that were made to order. Gorgeous, golden Monte Carlos which we first experienced on a previous Lincoln visit.
We each ordered different summery salads. One was a simple summery watermelon concoction of sweet & savory, the other was roasted peaches & "toybox" tomatoes with basil, blue cheese and almonds (YUM!) and the 3rd was Mizuna with beets, green beans, pine nuts and preserved lemon. Seasonal & Sensational!
Our server, Gabriel, was newish but very professional, accommodating, and attentive. We received a complementary thyme flatbread with burrata, plum and ginger conserva and balsamic vinegar from the chef and were thrilled with the fresh, fabulous flavors!
We brought our own bottle of vino to enjoy with our entrees (for a nominal corking fee). One of us enjoyed the gnocchi (velvety & delicious), another had the half chicken, and the last man standing had the rabbit. Every bite, every bit, was absolutely fantastic!
The vibe at Lincoln is hip, but not hipster, cool but not crazy, laid back but not boring. Great for any occasion, any group size. While there was a child or two, it's not really a kiddy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lincoln has become an overnight hit because of their original menu and fine service. Prices are moderate for quality. In the summer they roll up the doors so you're sitting inside, but it feels like outside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Too contrived”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My sister in law and i ate at Lincoln, opted to sit at the bar. The service wasn't great which was interesting as we were the only 2 at the bar.
The menu is contrived in our opinion. The menu lists every single ingredient in each dish, taking care to use lots of terms that the majority of people won't know. We both eat out a lot at fine restaurants. This one just seemed to be trying too hard.
We had the farotto and the lentil puree among other things. Both were average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.