We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse

Firehouse
711 NE Dekum, Portland, OR 97211
(503) 954-1702
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #224 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE Durham
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great food - mainly out of the oven, nice atmosphere in old fire station within an interesting neighborhood and excellent service

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Try and make a reservation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My daughter wanted to eat here because an episode of Portlandia was filmed here. We waited for an hour because we didn't make a reservation. The staff was very friendly and the manager gave us 2 free appetizers for our patience. I enjoyed my pizza but my wife thought her spaghetti dish and dessert was so-so. Much praise for the service and friendliness.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was ready for the quaint setting of the firehouse nestled in the neighborhood, but not the ambience that hits you with the roasting chickens and brick pizza oven. We got there and took advantage of several happy hour specials so we could try several things, including wine specials. My friend thoroughly enjoyed the roasted chicken and I went for the pasta with pork ragu. Service was pretty good and this place rates high on value and comfort. I really like a place with a limited menu and everything they do, they do well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a romantic, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was excited to check this place out when I heard it was in an old firehouse. I had the mushroom pizza, and it was a perfect portion and delicious. The pot de creme dessert with hazelnuts and salted caramel was absolutely delicious. Sit outside - the porch is cozy and beautiful with nice greenery around and festive lights. Great service, wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Firehouse houses wood fired grill deliciousness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Be sure to make a reservation, as this place gets crowded and deservedly so. You can smell the smoke aroma outside before you enter the restored firehouse and its cozy atmosphere. The menu features an array of small plates, pizzas, and spit roasted meats. There is also a happy hour menu with really good pricing. I especially enjoyed the fresh vegetable small plates such as the wood oven roasted acorn squash with saba and pumpkin seeds and the fried cauliflower with lemon creme fraiche (which was more a crispy sautee than deep fried with breading). I was a wee bit disappointed with the pizza as the middle was on the soggy side, perhaps the crust there was too thin as the outer edges were well cooked with that special taste from the wood fired oven; nevertheless, it had good flavor with its sauce, fresh mozarella, and spicy salami. Portions are generous, so left-overs abounded from all in our party.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.