We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire House Restaurant Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse

Firehouse
711 NE Dekum, Portland, OR 97211
(503) 954-1702
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #253 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE Durham
usa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fire House Restaurant Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were recommended to this Restaurant from a hotel staff member,It is a neat little place in outskirts of Portland,its an Old firehouse made into a restaurant featuring a wood fired oven for pizza's .We had a Bianca pizza with Mushrooms it was very good ,also the wood fired Mussels were great ,its a little smokey inside from oven and the wait was about 25 minutes with a reservation.other than that its a good place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gem in NE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here a few times over the years and I really can say it seems to get better each time. Last night we met some friends so we were able to order more dishes to share and try things we had never ordered. The pizza is wood fired and very good. Not the best in town but better than most pizza in Portland. The beets, Cesar salad, fried cauliflower, brussel sprouts, meatballs and two desserts that we tried were excellent. Service is consistently good. Happy hour is from 5-6pm and the menu is a good one - good selection of food and a $3.5 pint of IPA as well as a house wine. The other good thing is that you can reserve your table on OpenTable or by calling them directly. They also take walk-ins but it does get busy on weekend nights. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We saw that Firehouse was one of the top rated restaurants on Trip Advisor, so we thought we'd give it a try. We made reservations as we heard it fills up and is pretty small. The place was pretty busy and we were seated right away. Our server took a bit to get us, but did a great job after that. The wines by the glass were pretty sparse, but we made a couple of good Italian choices. We ordered a Cesar salad, the meatball dish and a pizza with sausage. The food came pretty quickly and was delicious. I highly recommend this place try. The restaurant is in the middle of a neighborhood in the middle of some renewal. The area looked a little dicey as we drove to it, but it gets nicer as you get closer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todos santos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“recommended by friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

visiting from Mexico, we stayed in downtown Portland, but took a cab which was worthwhile doing. When entering the restaurant, we immediately felt "at home". A typical neighborhood restaurant, cheerful guests and a welcoming mood. The menu was well diversified and everybody found something they liked. The food was very well prepared and nicely presented, my vegetarian wife enjoyed her plate as I did my fish which was just delicious, not overcooked or overspiced - just perfectly done. The chef/owner and his crew were great hosts. Great wine selection at reasonable prices. Will return when close to Portland.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a warm ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We couldn't get a table inside on a Sunday night, which turned out fine -- we ate outside on the quiet and pleasant back patio, with a simple string of lights overhead and a bit of Italianate landscaping around us. Friendly, helpful, relaxed service and every course was delicious. We chose an assortment of Italian-inspired appetizers; four different main courses, all great (pizza, gnocchi, meatballs, and steak); and shared three perfect desserts (almond cake, chocolate cake, and a fruit dessert.) Highly recommend. The combination of warm welcome, attractive setting, and tasty food made this our favorite meal in a week of great eating in Portland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.